We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
44
45
20
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
45
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong river great location night market mount phousi welcome drink rooms are small couple of nights tuk tuk stay there again pleasant stay per night double room main street stayed here for nights in town enjoyed our stay balcony
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 117 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2017

I stayed at another Luang Prabang hotel which was slightly less expensive,but I thought the small difference in price was worth staying at Lan Kham. My room had a balcony overlooking the Mekong which is great. It is only about 5 minutes to Mount Phousi,the Royal Palace, all the tour offices, and the night market so the location is excellent. It is not that large and has a family feel. The room would be a little small for two, but the wooden floors are very nice as is the nice wood staircase and furniture. Wifi,TV, and shower were fine. There is coffee or tea available upstairs, which is particularly useful if you are leaving before breakfast. I can't comment on the provided breakfast. Cost was about $60 US per night in the high season, which is about expected for this type of hotel in this location. The staff were very friendly and helpful in making sure I was up and a tuk tuk ready to take me to the airport for an early flight. There are dozens of riverfront restaurants to choose from across the street if you don't feel like walking 5 minutes to the main street.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabachoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2017

The guesthouse offers rather small rooms but they are spotless clean. The atmosphere is really welcoming and friendly. The drinking water bottles are supply daily. On afternoons guest are served fruity refreshing drinks. Coffee and tea are available all day long. Simply breakfast is served at the garden across the street at the place overlooking the Mekong river.
Due to the close proximity to the street and restaurants on the Mekong river bank the rooms could be noisy, so light sleepers may be disturbed. The rooms on the first level offer more privacy - there is a balcony not a direct access from the street.
The staff is friendly, helpful and informative.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor offer more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Artur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Had booked a river view room but ended up at the back of the hotel with no view. We were given a refund and our washing free. We were also moved to the front of the hotel on the first floor after a couple of nights, with a river view. The staff were really helpful at all times and were very apologetic. The back room was quieter because of the road noise but this ceases to be too much of a problem from around 11pm. If you want a lay in, don't book this hotel. We found that from about 5am each morning we would be woken by people getting up to watch the monks receive their alms or checking out etc. The breakfast was not bad, especially the banana pancakes but as it is outside on the terrace, across the road, if it's raining it isn't too great. The view from the terrace at breakfast is however really nice.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

This is more of a guest house than a hotel. We reserved the family room thinking it will be more specious. It was in the first floor with no balacony, large with 2 double beds which crammed the room and blocked one window completely. The room is dark as one window can't be opened and the second one over look the street with large wall that cover the view and has no net curtain for privacy which would have  provided the room with some air. I felt claustrophoic.
The manager offered to waive the prepayment fees if we want to cancel, but we had only 2 days to see the city and didn't want to waste it looking for another hotel. The bathroom smell and the towel hunger kept falling down.no slipper for bathroom. Free tea and coffee is offered in the second floor which is an inconvenience. Shoes have to be taken off at the enterance door. A la carte breakfast is offered for free in the hotel restuarant across the road whic overlook the Meckong river which was the only nice thing about this place. Internet is strong and stuff are nice despite their limited English.
This place is realy overrated with 8.9 in booking.com which was the reason we booked it.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

I rather liked this place, the rooms are a little small but the staff are great and it is a lovely outlook onto the river. There are modern hotels in town but this one is traditional and very nice, many thanks ladies.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews