We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and fine service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is filled with good people, great service, and lovely surroundings. Serge Ditesheim, the manager, will do anything he an to make your stay a delight. All staff go out of their way to make you feel special and cared for.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Found this hotel a reasonable price and good location so we decided to stay here. Obviously, the rooms weren’t huge but they have everything you could need. It was contemporary, well equipped and smart designed within a good size.
The most comfortable bed I have stayed on out of any hotel I've stayed. I can't fault this hotel at all. However, the stand-out feature for the hotel is the customer service - outstanding staff welcome us with a smile and always available to help us everything we could need.
They provide a level of service that you do not often find.
The breakfast were great with a wide range of choice, and we can't speak highly enough of the kitchen staff, so attentive. And the location to restaurant, shopping centre is spot on. Absolutely deserves the top hotel in Laos. Overall we'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharifah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have selected Maison Souvannaphoum as my preferred Hotel for my Honeymoon in Luang Prabang. An enjoyable and professional place, headed for experienced and kindly people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

When you are greeted, upon arrival, not just with a cold drink and cold towel but also by the general manager of the hotel you know that you have arrived at a special place. We were not disappointed. Serge Ditesheim and his staff were very attentive, friendly and professional. They were always keen to know how our day had been.
The Maison Souvannaphoum is well located as it is just a short walk from the centre of the lovely old town of Luang Prabang. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and a good sized balcony overlooking the garden. A lovely smell of Incense was burning as we entered the room.
After either a day-long trip or a walk around the town the swimming pool is a welcome refreshing way to cool off and to relax.
We did not find another restaurant that looked as good as the hotel's so we had dinner there each evening. We found the food extremely tasty and very reasonably priced.. The Prince's Banquet is especially worth a try as it serves a taster of 8 to 10 Loatian dishes.
This was the first hotel that we stayed in on our recent trip to Indochina and what a fantastic way to start, what turned out to be, a memorable holiday. Thank you Serge and all of your team.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our vacation in Laos. After Vang Vieng this was a lovely retreat. Very comfortable and quiet hotel with a wonderful colonial atmosphere. Service was wonderful and the poolarea is beautiful too. Breakfast is abundant and is served on the wooden veranda in the main house. The is a spa in the garden where you can get a massage or beautytreatment. When you walk out of the hotel and take a right, you walk straight into the main street of Luang Prabang. In the evening the nightmarket is there which is also a wonderful sight. Also close to the hotel (in the same street) there is a lovely cafe where you can get wraps and sandwiches, smoothies and good coffee.
Very early in the morning (around 5, daybreak) the monks from the many temples come to the streets to receive alms from the people. This is an experience to wake up early for; one really has to see this, you shouldn't miss this.
Luang Prabang is an oasis of peace and you should take at least 4 to 5 days to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

May 16, 2012

What a great find! As we were checking in the hotel manager came and introduced himself and welcomed us. Through out our 3 day stay he made himself visible and available to all guests. And at check out, the front desk call him and alerted him to our departure. He came out and stayed with us until our cab pulled away. We have traveled to over 70 countries and we have never had a manager so available and accessible. We were celebrating our anniversary and were surprised when we entered our room, bathrobes were laid out on the bed along with flowers and Happy Anniversary written out with palm leaves. They also provided us with a complimentary bottle of red wine. The room was well appointed and the WIFI free even though it was a little slow. That is a Laotian issue not the hotels. All the staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast offered a good selection. Lunch menu was not extensive but adequate and the food delicious. We never had dinner there since we were always out. The spa was excellent and relaxing. Again with very attentive staff. The location is great. Easy walk to everything going on in town. Pool area is lovely. It was very relaxing to sit on our porch and we had a nice view of the distant mountains and pool. We highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the main building but we did have a nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment you step inside this luxurious hotel you feel & are treated like royalty.Our room certainly had the WOW factor. Incense smell wafted throughout the room when we entered. The breakfast was good - not a lot of variety but still satisfying.The hotel is situated in the centre of town within walking distance of the river- markets- temples- museum & many restaurants. Relax & enjoy the Angsana Spa try the 90 min. tender feet treatment- you'll be in 7th heaven. Sit beside the pool & enjoy a Juice or Lao Beer. Dining at night - not a vast array to choose from but what we had was filling - tasty- presentation was excellent along with the most obliging service.Visit the gift shop for a post card or gift- lots to choose from. Over all our stay was a Memorable Occassion - Management & staff were professional in their given areas.Would defintely recommend this hotel to any visitor to the Magical Town..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyoldies50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.8 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
843 reviews
1.1 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
601 reviews
1.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
0.3 km away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
1.6 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $237 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing