We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
504
130
28
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
130
28
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel royal residence night market junior suite tuk tuk poolside bar separate toilet old colonial homemade jams in town lao dishes lush gardens boutique hotel an oasis four poster bed general manager pool side
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 687 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in satri house for 8 nights end of feb 2012. The hotel and grounds are absolutely immaculate and our room which was a junior suite was huge with a seperate toilet and bathroom and huge shower down 3 other steps that was almost another room. We had a twin room as requested and the twin beds do not have mosquito nets so I voiced my concerns to manager and he immediately offered to upgrade us to the satri house suite when it became available the next day. He said that he would make the housekeeping staff aware that they needed to spray our room thoroughly on the first night so that we didnt get bitten and sure enough there was not a single mosquito still alive when we went to bed. We liked our room so much that we stayed in that one rather than move and the room was sprayed every night so in the whole holiday I didnt get a single bite.
The pool areas and gardens were beautiful and were swept and cleaned several times a day. The restaurant was lovely and we had huge fresh breakfasts every morning.
Our room was made impecibly every day and fresh water bottles and sweet treats were placed beside our bed every night. The staff were hard working and very polite and gracious. They went out of their way to be helpful and their english language was very good. One of the managers, 'Keo', really spent a lot of time making sure that our holiday was care free and he really deserves a special mention for being a truely wonderful person and a great asset to Relais chateaux. The location was excellent, just a 10 minute walk to centre of town or 2000 kip (about £1.50) tuc tuc ride if it had to go the long way round as centre pedestranised at night for market. We always felt completely safe walking back to the hotel at night, even though we were 2 females together, and there was without fail always a staff member waiting at the gate. Air conditioning in room was excellent. Hotel provides complementary bikes with their own locks if you fancied a trip to town or the nearby phousey market and we used them regularly. The restaurant supervisor even got up at 4am in the morning on our day of departure to kiss us goodby and give us a packed breakfast. All in all I would definately recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2012

On the edge of Luang Prabang - a 15 minute walk from the "centre".. In a quiet street in lovely gardens with plants; terraces and swimming pools. Hotel comprises a number of (french style?) colonial buildings. Rooms comfortable; lovely beds, noisy air conditioners and not very functional "wet room" type bathrooms which flood when used. Rooms have a slightly musty odor to them.
Good restaurant - Lao food is suitably altered for western hotel type taste. Reasonable breakfast. Staff are very nice nd helpful but there is a language barrier )and perhaps a cultural one too) which means that things do take time/don't happen as they should. Pleased with the choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our recent stay at Satri House was extremely enjoyable - it is more like staying at a friend's house than staying in an hotel. Checkin in the sitting room was a very pleasant experience and I love the wood fire in the evenings! The attention to detail and the decoration were fantastic. The hotel is located a little out of the Old Town but it is easily walkable. The advantage of this is that it boasts 2 swimming pools, which are not allowed in the Old Town. The gardens are beautiful with lots of interesting nooks and crannies. Our room was great, apart from the mosquitoes which were ever present - thank goodness for the mosquito nets at night! It would also be very handy if there was a small mirror in the toilet! I think that the bed was like sleeping on a cloud - beautiful!
Breakfast was great but the coffee was very ordinary - any chance of improving on that? Now I am being picky, but I also think fabric napkins would be an improvement instead of paper(yuk!) ones for breakfast.
I just loved this hotel and would certainly return when next in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Satri House is a real jewel of a hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang. A wonderful place for regeneration. Friendly, attentive (but never pushy) and well educated staff. Great choice of delicious meals (western and laos cuisine), affectionately prepared and presented. Our room was very clean and furnished in a stylish and elegant manner. We are sure to come back to this lovely hotel and will recommend it to everybody who is looking for quality and outstanding places.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. Beautifully and thoughtfully decorated in a quiet street in the heart of Luang Prabang. It really did tick every box from the ease of check in on arrival , the excellent friendly efficient service led by a charming manager. Wonderful rooms of exquisite comfort, equally wonderful bathrooms, most comfortable bed we had on our whole stay. Delicious breakfast in lovely setting. 2 beautiful pools surrounded by sun beds with fluffy towels and sun hats. Charming rooms and sitting areas to relax in. Bikes always available to make a sortie into the shops and temples. Attention ato detail of the highest standard. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Of the rooms we saw they were all equally charming but all individual.....
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews