We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectural and interior design treasure - lovely retreat”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Satri House is one of the loveliest hotel properties I've had the pleasure of staying at. The hotel is "off the beaten path", just outside town and is absolutely exquisite. The rooms are divine as is the rest of the hotel... this hotel should seriously be featured in Elle Decoration and other high-end design magazines. The staff is eager to please but service is not yet as seamless as you would expect from a Relais and Chateaux hotel. The management knows this and is working on it. Service in the restaurant (gorgeous setting) was a little slow, but the food was beautifully and lovingly prepared. I had the potato soup (the best I've ever had) 3 days in a row! Every morning we hopped on the hotel bikes and explored beautiful Luang Prabang. This was a fabulous retreat and such a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onekama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

It is nigh impossible to identify one missing detail in Satri house’s generous array of hospitality. Structure-wise, it is perfect. Model rooms with a classy décor, extreme comfort, and an air of warmth and welcome (Satri house’s furnishings are noteworthy).
Its location is also incredibly convenient, an easy walking distance to the main road.
There is room for improvement, but small. The service was indeed a bit slow even if staff were ready to indulge guests in any way. Their eagerness to please was also revealed at breakfast, where they delivered us exquisite table servings. Even if, in my opinion, a buffet breakfast instead of the current a la carte breakfast (with a wider choice and quantity of fruits, yogurth ,cereal and fruit juices ) would prove a much better option. With this and a more organized English speaking staff, Satri House experience would be perfect.
I will never forget my stay in Luang Prabang, its mysteries and beauties enriched by this very hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have been to Satri House twice and during this second trip I have seen a lot of improvement. Now the hotel is fully operational which was not the case a year ago. Yes, it's true all staffs dont speak english, it'sa bit slow.... but well I am on vacation, so I am not in hurry. It's good to take time, and I prefer have someone who smiles even if the english is basic, that the contrary as most of the time in bit cities like Singapore, London, Paris.... It is not in the very hear of the tourist center.... well, it's a mere 15mn walk... it's worth if you want to sleep quiet and not to be woken up in the morning by motorbikes... kile in the center.
In conclusion, congratulations to the team, and service is a matter of training, so keep training the staff.... it's quite new for Laos and it's courageous to have built such a nice hotel, completely independant!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asiadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Having just returned from several days in the remote villages of Northern Laos, far away from modern civilisation and convenience where neither electricity, hot water nor heat was available, our sojourn at the Satri House was such a delight.

The Thai Manager, Mr. Guy, was extremely accommodating and assured us that we have been treated well by the Lao staff who were very nice, but lacked English communication skills.

The junior suite we stayed was an absolute delight. This corner room had an abundance of light and was decorated with such exquisite taste which the Lao French proprietor is responsible for.

Food at the restaurant, overseen by the culinary staff at L'Elephant, the highly acclaimed French and Lao restaurant in the city, was succulent. At breakfast, we had the rare opportunity of having good European quality croissants, viennoiserie, baguette and toasts. The home made tomato, pineapple and tamarind preserves were delicious as well. Poached eggs were done right, but the pancakes were too floury.

Last but not least, the ambiance was so relaxing and peaceful. We spent one entire day on the resort, receiving a traditional Lao massage, spending hours in the hammam and
soaking our bodies in the jacuzzi.

The architecture is French colonial with a mix of Lao and Thai antiques and a touch of North African/Middle Eastern elements in the interior.

If you are looking for the top notch flawless first world quick service, this may not be the place for you. If you can appreciate the humble and relaxed attitude of the staff where nothing is rushed and prefer to stay out of the hustle and bustle and in a tranquil setting, this is the place for you. When our tuk tuk arrived, the staff were waiting patiently outside our door to fetch our luggages until we show up. This is the kind of service I appreciate rather than having to be rushed or reminded by the front desk.

We certainly look forward to our next stay with them.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponderingfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We expected more from a Relais & Chateaux establishment. The setting, the decor, the rooms were beautiful. The staff, however, were disappointly inept with the exception of the man who appeared to run the restaurant and sometimes the bar. The staff generally do not speak english. I really don't like being told by hotel managers that my requests are not in line with hotel policy. There are better ways to say "No". Mosquitoes were in abundance and repellent was on request, not good for an area that has malaria. The restaurant menu was too long and had no simple kids options. The spa was average at best.

The hotel feels out of place in Luang Prabang and they have failed to provide staff that meet the high standards of Relais & Chateaux affiliate hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thesilverspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Stayed at Satri House for 4 days and loved it: it's situated in a residential and very pretty area on the outskirt of Luang Prabang, only 5 mins bicycle ride to the centre and it's set in its own, large, luscious tropical gardens.
The Hotel was open 8 years ago within a gorgeous heritage building, but last year the hotel has been greatly expanded and now comprises 27 rooms, 2 pools, a huge water feature with Koi Carpe, a SPA etc. The new building actually looks like an original heritage house, it's very grand, beautifully furnished and comfortable, with incredible attention to details, art, antique Buddhas and beautiful furniture.
The bedrooms are all mod cons and have balconies or terraces.
It was just a joy to stay there and the staff were very sweet.
The only thing that could be improved on is having an English speaking manager on site (we never met them), as the staff are not very knowledgeable and do not speak much English. It would make one feel more welcome and make the place look more professional.
More info about local tours and attractions would have been welcome.
We had a fab stay and would highly recommend it. Take one of the complementary bicycles to go to town, it's easy and a fab ride.
Wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusiraK, Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2010

As the management team of Satri House. I would like to thank you for choosing your stay with us. It's very much appreciated from your comment. We will improve it and make your next stay much more memorable.
We look forward to having your stay again next time you visit Luang Prabang.
Kindest regards,
Susira Keesai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Our 5 nights at the Satri House was the accommodation highlight of a 3 week trip through Cambodia and Laos.

A blend of restoration and sympathetic new construction, Satri House is an absolute delight. The hotel is filled with art and antiques and the rooms and suites are well thought out, spacious and very comfortable. Lovely grounds and 2 swimming pools complete the setting.

The management and staff are brilliant - nothing was too much trouble and all services were delivered with enthusiasm and warm smiles.

Luang Prabang is well worth a visit and Satri House is an outstanding small hotel - if you get the chance, go!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbwill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.1 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
858 reviews
0.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
615 reviews
0.5 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
746 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
826 reviews
0.3 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $182 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing