We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Secret Pizza

Secret Pizza
Ranked #6 of 241 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$10
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: This place, this wood stove was born 8 years ago in the backyard, initially with friends who decided to give it the name Secret Pizza and then with the word of mouth the first customers began to arrive, creating a real business. Secret Pizza is a place suitable for everyone, the pizzas are baked every 2 minutes, from 6pm to 9.30pm for 2 days a week Tuesday and Friday, sometimes it can happen to run out of pizzas or other fresh products prepared on the same day booking is recommended. The service is not to be compared to a restaurant with table service, we help each other like being between friends or family, 50% self service! In Secret Pizza there are counters where you can buy smoothies or juices and organic products depending on the season. I hope to have you among my customers, good evening!
Restaurant details
Description: This place, this wood stove was born 8 years ago in the backyard, initially with friends who decided to give it the name Secret Pizza and then with the word of mouth the first customers began to arrive, creating a real business. Secret Pizza is a place suitable for everyone, the pizzas are baked every 2 minutes, from 6pm to 9.30pm for 2 days a week Tuesday and Friday, sometimes it can happen to run out of pizzas or other fresh products prepared on the same day booking is recommended. The service is not to be compared to a restaurant with table service, we help each other like being between friends or family, 50% self service! In Secret Pizza there are counters where you can buy smoothies or juices and organic products depending on the season. I hope to have you among my customers, good evening!
Reviewed June 26, 2018

secret pizza is located in a residential area of Luang Prabang (we heard that the owner lives there!) and it was great to get to walk through a part of town we wouldn't have otherwise. the restaurant itself is very casual, chill atmosphere. my family and I are vegetarians, so we got most of the vegetarian pizzas, the lasagne and the profiteroles. The wood-fired pizzas were the highlight. They're pretty good, and I think you'd be hard pressed to find anything else like them in Luang Prabang. The other food tasted like they were mass produced and microwaved. They were still pretty good, but nothing I couldn't get out of a box. I'd still order them anyway. The service is minimal- you fill up your order on paper slips and pass it to the cashier. The cashier even forgot one of our orders and I had to remind them 15 minutes later. The main selling point of secret pizza really is the 'secret' of the location and the good 'pizza'!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Service
Thank Alysha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Simply the thinnest pizza ever. And it's good. And a bit pricy. Nothing to complain about. Need 10 more characters :/

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank VincentLaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Owner at Secret Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Very kind of your part. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

In this hidden place I've found one of the best pizza I've ever tryed. It's open only 2 days per week , Tuesday and Friday, and this make me an owner's fun
The price pee pizza is 8 euros, a bit expensive, but absolutely worth it! i'm looking forward to go back.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Owner at Secret Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

A few important things to know about Secret Pizza: 1) it's only open on Tuesday and Friday nights (you're out of luck other days!); 2) it's located at the end of a muddy, rough road about 3 or 4 kilometers from the center of the city and is very difficult to find if you don't know exactly where it is; 3) because of location and difficulty to reach, you are well advised to line up return transportation back into the city; and 4) because it's VERY popular, you are advised to call ahead and make reservations.

This is very much a family operation, with Andrea doing the pizza baking in a wood-fired oven. The pizzas are thin-crust Italian style, and very tasty. You can order from a variety of options, with pizzas made from local ingredients costing 60,000 kip and those made from imported Italian ingredients costing 80,000 kip. Beers and wine are also very reasonable. They also offer fruit smoothies, organic salads and desserts.

Part of the fun of the place is the out-of-the-way ("secret") location and the simple ambiance. Seating is mostly outdoors, but also some seats under roof in case of rain.
Also, wonderful to see the clock-work coordination of the well-trained staff who clearly seem to enjoy their work. Despite the rush and crush of a packed dining crowd, they maintain their pleasant than charming attitude in serving customers.

I would rate the pizza a solid "4," with the mystic of the location and wonderful attitude of the staff pushing the overall rating to an exceptional "5".

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Owner at Secret Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Good sound for my ear, thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

The pizzeria offered very authentic italian style thin base pizza. It is only open 2 nights per week though. the designer pizzas are more pricey but worth the cost

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank karderb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Owner at Secret Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secret Pizza also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Secret Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing