We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had confusion with our booking”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Julia Dumna Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Had confusion with our booking”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When we arrived, there was a confusion with how many room did we booked. It took additional half an hour for the hotel stuff to prepare us an additional room, regardless the fact that confirmed the reservation prior to our arrival. Location is convenient, but stuff was not so helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

w arrived late at night but most things were good.the rooms and the bathrooms were really clean,but unfortunately there was no room service and we were really hungry and the fug outside made us reluctant to dine out .staff were friendly and helpful.and the hotel location was very good.bath room equipment was good and really clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj_jeiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

For a four-star hotel perhaps aimed more at businessmen than tourists, rooms and lobby are decorated with an Arabian flourish that's just about on the right side of pastiche. Rooms are comfortably appointed and the free wifi generally worked well. Excellent bathroom with large shower, although on one evening there was no hot water - apparently this is not unusual in Syria, even in good hotels.

Location is excellent, only a few minutes' walk away from the souk and approximately ten minutes' walk from the citadel entrance.

Any qualms? Well, breakfast was disappointing. It's hard to pinpoint why - there was quite a spread, but none of it really lifted the spirits (although the rooftop view of central Aleppo and the citadel certainly helped). Surprisingly, the only coffee available was in the form of sachets of instant, which is something I've never encountered before in a four-star hotel.

And the lobby seemed to be in a permanent state of semi-darkness, with only a fraction of the available downlighters switched on (or working). Perhaps this is a reflection of an apparently very low occupancy rate while we were there, presumably due to current events in Syria (which, it must be said, have largely passed the wonderful city of Aleppo by).

This may not be the most inspiring choice in Aleppo, but it's safe, clean, well appointed, comfortable and more than adequate in most ways.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Hotel is in a great spot, walking distance to bazaar and citadel and in the other direction great places to eat and wander in small lanes looking at shops.
Hotel has a roof top restaurant only open for breakfast or large groups for dinner (buses), wasted as the views are awesome from up there.
Breakfast was good and inlcuded in our room rate, rooms clean and comfortable. One of the very few places with free wifi and internet use.
No bar, no alcohol served in this hotel. Staff were very helpful and easy to deal with.
Traffic chaotic and slow in and around hotel.
Try the lemon and mint drink at one of the restaurants in front of the Citadel and watch the world go by while you sip it, even nicer late afternoon when the sun is setting.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourseasons63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

nice rooms, very close to citadel and other touristic highlights of Aleppo.
The staff was generally not really engaged, especially at breakfast: At some days when the hotel was not full, they did not offer a breakfast buffet but serve an oriental breakfast:
One teabag per person, no croissants or similar, no fruits
For some days, when a tourist group from Italy stays at the hotel, a buffet was offered, but after 8:30 a.m. you would not get any orange juice and only odds and ends of the predecessors can be found at the buffet.

Rooms very spacious and with elegant interiour, but bed-linen had some blurs.

Exception: Staff at the ground floor was very friendly and gave us good advices for our trips.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Other than the super expensive Sheraton, the Coral Julia Dumna is your best choice in Aleppo for a true "hotel" experience. There are some lovely boutique/speciality lodgings in Aleppo that also looked wonderful, but I wanted a standard hotel experience for my older parents who were travelling with us.

Everything about the Coral Julia Dumna was wonderful. Being very close to the souq, the Ammawi mosque and the Aleppo Castle, the location is very busy with limited parking in front of the hotel. The hotel doesn't have much of an external entrance, but once you are inside eveything is lovely.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krafih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Reception is on the first floor of this great hotel ideally situated for the souks, mosque and citadel. The room itself had a huge bed, flat screen tv, a bathroom with a jacuzzi, and a second toilet. The hotel was quiet, the staff very helpful, and the breakfast was a feast. Nice touches include both soft and hard pillows, coffee/tea making facilities,a peaceful nights sleep, and a decent driver to take you to St Simeon etc. Maybe we were very lucky but for less than £60 a night, we had a result.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coral Julia Dumna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Julia Dumna Hotel

Property: Coral Julia Dumna Hotel
Address: AL Sabee Bahrat | Beside Omayad Mosqe, Aleppo, Syria
Region: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Julia Dumna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing