We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cosy central hotel”
Review of Ramsis Hotel

Ramsis Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ramsis Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Reviewed 20 September 2011

In the heart of Baron Street, opposite to the well-know Baron Hotel, Ramsis Hotel offers excellent service. Rooms are large enough with nice view, and the breakfast is fine. It gets a little noisy during the day. For returning guests, the attention is doubled. The rates are a bit high, but the outcome is worth them.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geto_dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2010

Perfect .1st class quality sevice and rooms.Good hospitality.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
Thank Onurozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This is the hotel where me and my family stayed at. I really enjoyed it. First of all the hotel was located in the very center, so we could easily access the old souks or the central shops... What i also liked was that they offered FREE wifi! You will have to pay attention to the period of day of which you use t wifi. In the early morning, well not so early, like at ten, the internet is faster than you could imagine in such country! But it slows down in the afternoon. Our price for the stay: 100 dollars, very reasonable for what we got, two rooms. The room also included two tv's that where quite big and thing, that went up to 1080i! (slightly better then HD ready). One TV for each room. There was a big bed, two small ones (they brought a portable one and they created the couch into a bed). The TV however was great! they did offer CNN, wich was a quite good thing... I guess.... I liked this two. The suite came with a computer! We could connect to the internet with it, and it is fairly simple to use. It is connected to one of the tv's and has a wireless keyboard that comes with it. Super nice. The rooms are covered with paintings, (at least one per plane wall) and the whole thing looks pretty clean and cozy. Overall a nice place to stay when you come to this city, Overall the BEST to my opinion. There is also a roof top cafe and there is also FREE BREAKFAST! That was ok...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaReDCINEMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Central hotel but disinterested staff, especially in restaurant and at reception, where i had major probelm as they would not accept my Visa card, obliging me to seek financial aid from my customer. Socalled suite I was given was small , dark with old fashioned. decor.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank MAIDENHEADUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsisManager, Manager at Ramsis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2010

Our dearest guest has every right to be upset, the connection with the credit cards bank was down for more than 24 hours ( it was a general problem in Aleppo city that day ), but all other things were not quite accurate, the suite he stayed in ( as all of our suites ) was recently renewed ( the pictures in our web site show the same suite he stayed in ) and it have two big LCDs, computer, private satellite receiver, Playstastion, coffee maker and free wireless internet!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2008

We stayed there one night in April and found the hotel to be just fine. Our room had recently been refurbished, and everything about it was comfortable. It is in a good, maybe not great, location but you can definitely walk to the sights and to the Christian Quarter where many nice restaurants are found. The price we paid ($111 USD) did not seem cheap but, considering the nice breakfast, was not extravagant either. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My partner and I went to Syria in April 2007. Ramsis was easily the best hotel we stayed in throughout the whole trip. The service was amazing, the staff spoke perfect english and were always very helpful. We originally planned to stay in Aleppo for 2 nights but had to extend our stay for an extra night at the last minute - we encountered no problems at all, the staff were more than happy to move us to a new room for the extra night.

Room size was adequate, probably not as large as some of the 5 star places in Aleppo but for the amount you pay it is definitely worth it. Very clean, fresh and modern.

The restaurant offers a range of foods, the portions are huge at good value (which is typical of most Syrian restaurants). There is also an internet cafe to use.

With the exceptional service this place has, it deserves to be a 5 star hotel. If you are planning on travelling to Aleppo, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thegelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

The Ramsis is not atmospheric. It is in the modern city, in a fairly chaotic area. But it provides clean accomodation and good service at a reasonable price.

We negotiated a price on the spot, not having prebooked. I don't recommend this outside the low tourist season. It was US$100 including taxes and a cold buffet breakfast.

We needed street parking and this was provided with a concierge to provide security. We used taxis to get to the souk and booked a hotel car and driver to take us to St Simeon one day.

We walked to the old Jdeida district for dinner most nights. As we negotiated the road works in the little lanes we thanked our lucky stars we didn't prebook accomodation in one of those lovely beit hotels; parking would have been a nightmare.

The restaurant in the hotel was fine for breakfast but by afternoon the fug from cigarette smoke was overwhelming and my husband would not even consider eating there at night.

They have internet access for which they charge a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank YoungatheartKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ramsis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsis Hotel

Address: Baron Street, Aleppo 5097, Syria
Region: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Price Range: $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramsis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsis is a three-star, deluxe hotel offering very comfortable and well-furnished 28 rooms and 8 suites, a street side cafeteria (Down Town Cafe), an open terrace restaurant(The Green Roof), an international gift shop, a news-stand and internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramsis Hotel Aleppo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing