We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$82
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$185
US$133
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah Emirates Towers(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$200
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Hyatt Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,471
US$1,103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19,637)
Filter reviews
19,637 results
Traveller rating
12,807
3,879
1,625
681
645
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,807
3,879
1,625
681
645
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkimperial clublost chambersdolphin bayroyal pooleast towernasimi beachhalf boarddolphin experienceronda locatellileap of faithsaffron restaurantzero entryaqua ventureaquaventure parkchocolate fountainfree entry
Filter
Updating list...
15,151 - 15,156 of 19,637 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Family hotel ? I think not, very expensive. Staff are poor and have difficulty understanding basic requirements and get it wrong. Upon check in watcht out for the 7000 Dirhams (£1100) taken off your credit cardI.Inclusive meals are addded to your bill, its upto you to try and get your money back.

# Free WiiF in the rooms, read the small print, I had to point this out to the manager, still cost.
#Menus for kids are limited and expensive, Oh and you do not get what you order.
#Breakfast - go early to avoid the 30 mins wait for a table
# Avoid room service !! we checked out at 05:30, the restaurant opens at 06:00 your allowed to order upto 140 dirhams per person off the room service menu, once you order you cannot get much as the kids are only allowed 70 dirhams (which is a bowl of conflakes and a glass of juice) but the kids get charge the same rate for bed & breakfast !! they then call you back at 23:00 to tell you that you have blown your budget. They do not get it that if your breakfast is to be delivered at 05:00 that you might just be asleep at 23:00.
# The housekeeping start cleaning rooms about 07:30 and disregard the do not disturb signs, they just create loads of noise to way you up.
# When you complain, the maangers seem to think your an idiot and do not understand what your problem is.
# The hotel gets packed during the day and evening with sightseers, its a nightmare and you cannot move, Fridays !! Avoid, the roads outside are jam packed with thousands of people taking photos etc.

Never again, 5 star in name only, you can get better for less in Dubai

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Fennah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2009

In summary, this hotel is an absolute delight, it has a lovely buzz of activity, service is awesome, the aquarium is stunning, the waterpark is full of fun things to do, the views are amazing and the food...its worth paying for !

My partner and I stayed at the Atlantis for 4 nights and I have to say it was awesome. We arrived at 1am and check-in was swift and simple.

We stayed in a terrace suite that I have to say was absolutely stunning (highly recommend to honeymooning couples) on entering there was a very spacious lounge area, huge plasma screen, seperate wc (ideal if you have guests and dont wont them walking through the bedroom area into the main bathroom) and a dining area. The bedroom was very spacious, huge super kingsize bed and then sliding double doors, led into a stunning bathroom with a huge central bath that easily fitted two people. In additon to this was another wc room and shower and also a walk in dressing area. The room was complete with sun loungers and table chairs on a huge balcony. The room had a minibar and there was tea, coffee and kettle in the cabinet. Water bottles were supplied free of charge and the fruit bowl was ideal if one had an attack of the nibbles. I easily logged onto the free wireless which is available in the hotel and rooms, this was simple to do and only took a few minutes. One can upgrade to broadband wireless for a small charge but we never had to do this as the free one was perfect for our needs.

For goodies, there was an abundance of nice smellies, hairdryer was very good, free slippers and a robe (which you could opt to buy) flip flops for around the pool in large and medium size, dental things like toothbrushes, shaving kit, bath salts, sewing kit and so on......

As for the rest of the hotel the aquarium is a sight to behold, apparently there are approx 65,000 fish (including whale shark) and I can honestly admit to standing for a minimum of 30 mins a day watching the curious activities of the stunning sting rays, sharks and tropical fish as we passed too and from breakfast

We used the gym every day and there was a good supply of machines (indeed we spotted a professional footballer going through an impressive exercise routine) there is free water, juices, fruit and sweat towels are supplied.

Swimming pools are sizeable and chilled, with lots of shallow places to sit or lay enjoying both the sun and coolness of the water. Additionally, the pool attendants operated a rota of removing any towels that had been left to reserve sunbeds (those with no personal items), this was great in ensuring that at any time of the day, there were always some available. The pool attendants often handing out free ice sorbets during the hotest parts of the day ....or alternatively you could order something from the bar...service was always swift and smooth.

The aquapark was brilliant, the lazy river and its mixture of rapids, torrents and other things were brilliant, what was impressive was that the water was never really more than waist deep..which made it ideal fun for both children and adults alike.

Happy hours at some of the bars meant some drinks in the hotel were 2 for 1... this lasted for about an hour or two each evening. Live music was also available at one of the pool bars... indeed its worth noting that our room overlooked one of these.... and the music was not at all disturbing and finished at a good hour as well.

Overall a great hotel, for families & couples... perfect for a relaxing and fun break..... with a touch of luxury.

Oh its worth noting that there is a "big red bus" company operating in dubai which has stops at a lot of the hotels including the atlantis. However, unlike in London were this is a great place to jump on and jump off this type of transport, Dubai is much bigger and there is a lot of time travelling between stops on the routes it uses. For example, we jumped on (10.30am) and booked two tickets (£80) but then found that from our stop we would need to stay on the bus for most of the day if we were to reach the dhow cruise down the dubai creek for 15.30 0r 18.30....... in the end we hired a taxi and it cost no more that £10's and for the rest of the holiday we simply used taxis, always good, clean and value for money.

And finally a thank you to the lady concierge at the Atlantis who was always helpful and booked the most wonderful restaurant elsewherein dubai for our last evening and the rest of the staff at Atlantis for making our holiday just perfect x

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tinxxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The stay in Atlantis was with a special summer offer (its hot in Dubai this time of year) 800 Dhs plus 20% tax for one night, free entrance to Aquaventure, Lost chambers, Kids club (didnt go there) Buy one get one free on massages(didnt do that either)

Arriving at Atlantis at about 3:30pm to find the room that we were allocated was not ready, somewhat irritating given that check in is 2pm. discovering later that the reason for this was likely to be due to the knock on effect of if your room is not ready they give a late check out..... but they were incredibly disorganised and appeared to allocate rooms as and when people turned up not as per they booked. It appeared that they had a screen for finding potential rooms and then another one for determining whether the room was ready or not. We were keen to have one that was ready as we really didnt want to be in a state of limbo for the rest of the afternoon although apparently there is a guest hospitality room with tv, magazines and showers.

After finally booking in, this process took about 30 mins, not too good with 2 kids keen to get up and out into the pool. Our room was very nice, 2 queen beds, Very comfy, a huge number of pillows very soft pillows! A bizzare (but fun if your there in a couple) bathroom with opening doors so that you can have a bath and still be part of the goings on in the room. The downside to this is that the door wasnt very sound proof so everything that went on in the bathroom could be heard in the bedroom.........

If you have children you need to keep them away from the mini bar as it is one of those where if you remove something it automatically charges it to your room even if you dont drink it ! Could be expensive if they decide to remove everything from the frigde. There was a second smaller section where you could put your own drinks and the bottle of water (that was free and was replenished the second morning)

The beds were turned down at night and a bowl of fruit was left in the room.

After unpacking we hit the pool, very nice pool, interesting note that after about 4pm the pool is shadowed by the hotel and so is out of the sun, at least most of it is, This is ok at this time of year but may get chilly in the cooler months. The pool did get very busy later on on Friday afternoon. I think it shut at 7:30. The sun loungers were great though, no worry of the unmbrella being in right place, each lounger had its own hood so you could choose how much or how little of your body was in the sun.

What was disapointing by the pool was the waiter service, this was incredibly slow. Almost worth buying 2 drinks at a time it was that slow. Although you may want to remember when by the pool that you are in a 5 star resort and as a result you will pay resort prices for drinks and food, if your not happy to do that then your best not going. Rough cost of drinks were, Corona 40 dhs, Breezer 42dhs Sprite 17dhs, ice lollies 15dhs. Part of the reason for this is because in Dubai you pay 20% for hotel taxes rather than 16% that you do in Abu Dhabi, But it was very slow, and they were a bit forgetfull, we had one round of drinks and then asked for another drink for me, and it never seemed to arrive, if i was very keen i would have gone up to the bar myself to get it but by then we decided that we were ready to go back to the room.

The first evening we ate at the pool bar, a mexican, the kids had nuggets and chips. The service here was very slow too, i think had i not gone to find some menus myself i would still be waiting now for them. And the concept of having the drinks before the meal was lost on them. It was nice though and there was a band playing, they played quite late and you could here them in the room even though the window was shut. Worth thinking about if your a light sleeper (may be worth getting a room facing the ocean) Interesting point re the ocean, on the front of the hotel (entrance side) its worth taking 5 mins to look out at the sea as its one of the few places on this coast that you can look out into the ocean and not see cranes and construction.

Day two started at the breakfast buffet, if your the type to eat a lot for breakfast then this is the place for you,, they have cereals, crepes, waffles, traditional breakfast menu items and in addtion some not so traditional breakfast items such as roast duck with pancakes. Children are half price, breakfasts are 175 Dhs. We went down at about 9 each day but from about 9:30 the queue for breakfast is really quite long, they appease those that are waiting by offering strawberries or plums whilst you wait.

After breakfast we went to Aquaventure. If you are a hotel guest then the towels are free although you have to pay 35dhs for a locker. For none hotel guests then the lockers are 35 dhs and the towels 25 dhs if you want a locker and a towel then its 50 Dhs. We didnt have a locker so i dont know what sort of size there were.

The drinks etc in the water park were cheaper than at the hotel. Most people wanted to sit on deckchairs as soon as you went into the park, consequently the areas around the two beach type areas were very busy but once out and about on the rides i realised that there was loads of places to sit and they were totally empty, so well worth walking to the right when entering the park and finding some seats over that way, especially if you are a large group that wants to sit together. I think we got to park at about 11:00 but it never really got very busy all day. the longest queue we were in was for the shark attack where you float on your ring through a tunnel that goes through a shark tank.

There are 4 types of ride at the park, a long wave rider, which is like a river that suffers from a dam bust every 15 secs, so big waves flow around the river this is fun and good to get into the swing of things with. Then there are the rapids which you went up on a conveyor belt and then worked your way back down to the base river via a selection of fun fast runs. Then there is the rides that start with the letter Z (cant rememeber what they are called) they are in the pyramid and you go up a big conveyor on your ring and then go left or right and then down a tube, this is fast and fun and i think you can only do single tubes on these rides. If you dont want to go up the conveyor belt to the ride you can also go up the stairs.

The Shark attack ride is nice as although it has a long dark tunnel which can be a bit scary if your not expecting it,the end riding through the shark tank is an interesting experience.

After the day at aquaventure we went to the lost chambers, this is also free if you are staying at the hotel. It was great in there, although it would be useful if it had information indicating what each of the different displays was. there was a distinct lack of information regarding this. THere was however a helpful man on the touch the sea urchins area.

Summary
Would i go again
To the hotel- maybe maybe not
Aquaventure- Definitely
Lost chambers- with visitors yes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fruitbat1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I stayed in the hotel about 10 days and i can say it was not what I expected. The location, view, Aquaventure, aquarium and food were good, but on the other hand there were many difficulties and mismanagements in the hotel:
First, the hotel charges you for almost everything for example the parking facility is only available through valet and the hotel charge you 50 Dhs for a parking pass and every time you give your car to a valet or ask them to bring your car they ask you whether you have paid the 50 Dhs for the parking pass or not and that is annoying, they couls only ask for the pass not whether you have paid for it or not (They also charge you 150 Dhs for valet if you were not a guest and i guess that was the reason they ask for your parking pass alot). Also when it is a crowded it almost takes 10 minutes to get to a valet or for them to bring your car.
Second, the mini bar is electronic and if you even take one thing just to look at it they charge it to your bill and imagine being in a hotel with a 2.5 year old kid who goes and plays with the fridge once in a while and I had to call the room service and explain to them about the whole incident ant telling them to either empty the mini bar or lock it and after asking for 2 or 3 times they finally agreed to lock it.
Third, the bathroom does not have a place for hanging wet clothes and you would see people hanging their wet swim wear and clothing from the balcony fence and for a luxury hotel that is not a pretty sight.
Forth the television channels were very limited and mostly were free channels and very few entertainment channels, but the hotel has a pay per view channel instead.
Fifth, one other thing in the charging everything to your bill part was the internet, in most hotels I have been to before using wireless and business center internet were free for the guests and only high-speed wired internet in the room had a charge here you had to pay 30 Dhs for 1 hour or 70 Dhs for a day or 300 Dhs for your whole stay for wireless internet and 15 Dhs for 15 minutes use of internet in the business center and 40 Dhs for an A4 print. (FYI 1US$=3.65DHS)
Sixth, the room service was not very good took em 2 days to refill the hand washing liquid and only 3 times they replaced a sanitary bag in the toilet.
For conclusion i recommend this hotel only if you want to use the Aquaveture every day since it is free for hotel guests and it makes the hotel costs reasonable, otherwise i recommend other hotels like for example Royal Meridien.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bahamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Only stayed one night but the hotel, food, water park and fish tank were amazing...! Would defintiely go again...!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollypockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews