We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & classy guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 66 Dubai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2010

This guest house is away from
the hustle & bustle of main tourist area. We thought this was a good thing, but if you want to be near the beach admist other tourists then this is not for you. Paul was a gracious hospitable host with great service & food. Free wi fi was a bonus. Only downside was taxi drivers had trouble locating it but using the mobile provided we got by.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyqAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2010

A small English-ran guesthouse - but best described as a boutique hotel. With 10 rooms, it offered some respite from the traditional large-roomed hotels and people everywhere. As it was in a residential area, cab drivers always had a problem getting there. However, the owners provide a mobile phone in each room with stored numbers to help get you home - what a great idea! Despite being out of the tourist area, cabs are so cheap it doesn't matter. The pool and garden are perfect for a few hours break from malls and souks.
We would be very happy to revisit and would recommend it to anyone.
Thanks to Jo, Paul and Andy - although Andy openly admits he is a Spurs supporter!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cranners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Voted Best boutique experience – Timeout Magazine Dubai.

Jumeirah Garden Guest House: This little gem proves that the best things come in small packages. The guest house is run by a long-time hotelier from London and offers an alternative to the city’s many mammoth hotels – it welcomes people to come down and have lunch or dinner cooked by celeb chef Andy Campbell, then use the facilities for the day, which include a decent-sized pool as well as a lovely garden with a croquet area. Ideal if you have friends visiting from abroad!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardcoreTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I would like to thank Paul, Andy and the team at the Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse for helping to make our stay in Dubai one which we will remember for a long time. The value for money which this superb guesthouse offers made this an affordable visit, and probably a slightly longer one than we may have otherwise have had.

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the feeling that we were part of the family for our 5 day stay - and as for the food... superb! Paul's eggs would give even Andys' a run for their money! Although we had no reason to ask for anything in particular, we had the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble for the team. This was demonstrated when we arrived early in the morning, having not known until the last minute whether we were going to actually get our flight following the volcanic ash incident. Even though Paul didn't know whether we would make it or not, he greeted us as friends and quickly made a room available for us, which was such a welcome gesture!

Thanks again everyone, and we hope to see you again, bringing friends with us next time!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed in this guesthouse end of march 2010. It is a very nice house in a quite area. Easy to find because Paul send me a map with the location by email, so although we arrived in the middle of the night we had no problems finding the place.
Rooms are big and very clean, the beds are really comfortable and the place is very quite.
Providing all guests with a cellphone is a great service. Swimming pool and the garden are great.
So these are all the pluspoints, but also we have some comment.
The breakfast in morning time is very simple, just 2 slice of white toast with 2 eggs and a tomato, 1 cup of tea and 1 glass of juice, that's it...No brown bread, only eggs.
A breadbasket with diffrent kinds of brown and white bread and choices of eggs, cheese, jam , fresh fruits, curd would be our wish for a good start of the day.
Also the location is quite far from restaurants, the Creek etc.., you have to take a taxi all the time, its not on walking distance from places of interests.
But overall as written before its a very nice and clean place.

Paula & Hermien form the Netherlands

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleida13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Have just returned from a fantastic trip to Dubai and having relied so heavily on the reviews on Trip Advisor, I wanted to add one myself!
Having searched endlessly for days for somewhere with a good location that was nice but not too expensive to stay, my Mum found the Jumeriah Gardens guesthouse.

Having flown overnight I can't tell you the relief we felt when we arrived at the Jumeriah Garden at 9am and the Manager Paul said that our room was ready so we could have a nap laying flat rather than bunched up like we had been on the aeroplane! Had we been staying in a hotel I'm sure we would have had to have waited until at least 2pm.

We had a lovely stay, the breakfasts were great every day and set you up for the busy days sightseeing and the meal we had cooked by Andy on our last night was fantastic! As said in previous reviews, there's a huge selection of dvd's to borrow which we thought was a really nice touch.

We only had one problem with a taxi driver who couldn't find the place but we found that it helps to check that they speak English before you get in the car (some apparently don't speak English or Arabic so the road signs and maps are useless!) and also that once you have got your own bearings you can direct the taxis quite easily. You are also given a mobile phone with pre-programmed numbers for Paul and Mr Ace in case you need directions. This phone is also set up to an automated service to order taxis to pick you up from the guesthouse - great idea.

On our last day our flight wasn't until 1am and Paul let us have the room right up until we left for the airport which we were very grateful for because it meant we could really make the most of our last day and evening, again not something you would get at a hotel, not without paying anyway!

On a more general note I would highly recommend the Desert Safari trips (we used Planet who were superb) and a visit to the Madinat which we fell in love with!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

It seems that the big issue with this place is not the location or facilities, but the management and their apparent lack of concern and consideration for their guests. For the second consecutive time after accepting our reservations, the managment have cancelled the booking at the last minute due to 'double booking'. Once is annoying, but understandable, twice is just down right fishy and unacceptable.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jumeirahguesthouse, Owner at The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Having read the above review with interest and concern, I find it unusually necessary to make comment. Firstly I believe I am aware of the booking in question and no Male was a part of said booking? Secondly, the SECOND booking was indeed a problem but, an immediate discussion was had with the client and, a solution was found. This was fully explained. All businesses have problems, good ones find solutions, we did and, it (as would have been seen) was one that bettered the original plan by far. Thirdly, We did not cancel. The customer did although we had offered to provide what was required. I might point out the second booking was made because the party had such a good time the first time they visited – make your own conclusion?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.8 km away
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai
3.6 km away
Grandeur Hotel
Grandeur Hotel
#242 of 556 in Dubai
363 reviews
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai - Safa Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Villa Rotana - Dubai
Villa Rotana - Dubai
#77 of 556 in Dubai
978 reviews
8.0 km away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 556 in Dubai
1,596 reviews
1.9 km away
4 Palms Dubai
4 Palms Dubai
#57 of 304 in Dubai
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse

Address: Al Sayora St | Sheikh Zayed exit 41 Al Thanya St, Dubai DXB, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "The Best Boutique experience" TimeOut Magazine. "Dubai's biggest secret of all, a hotel so exclusive that it has just 10 rooms and is so high-end that a celebrity chef cooks for a handpicked few every night" GRAZIA Magazine. "A class apart" - Gulf News Dubai. "The most exclusive Restaurant in Dubai" TimeOut Magazine. We are a boutique B&B Guesthouse run by Hotelier Paul Anthony and Celebrity Chef Andy Campbell. 10 elegant rooms, wifi throughout, pool, garden and restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing