We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai
Ranked #302 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai with our twins in March 2010. The location is perfect. Within 5 minutes you are at the Al Rigga Metro station with connections to the various sites across town.
on a positive side we would like to highlight:
- the very friendly and helpfull staff
- rooms are clean and tidy
- good food selection (both breakfast and dinner!)

on a not so great side:

- make sure you get a room on a higher level as the noise from the club downstairs makes sleeping almost impossible until 2 or 3 am
- the rooms are very small but nice and clean

If you're after a reasonably priced hotel in a good location go for the Holiday Inn downtown. But do be aware of not so great aspects

Room Tip: higher rooms have less noise from the club downstairs if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sludge_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
sludge_74,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    111
    107
    60
    55
See reviews for
70
81
60
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

- No free Internet access, every day around 30$

- Night club noise in 2nd floor, makes sleeping uncomfortable

- Less value than you pay for meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on top of night clubs are not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hossein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Located in the centre of Dubai with excellent eating options around this is a nice hotel with very nice staff right from the doorman to the check-in-staff and the housekeeping staff .Food is very nice even though many eating options abound around this hotel and with Metro connectivity within 5 mts walk it makes a convenient place to stay in .Rooms are clean and corridors are well kept too .Breakfast isn't cheap and though is well spread but always missing from the egg station is their chef and has to be called in to make eggs to order ...and this makes it for first timers unaware of his presence or even of the egg station along with French Toasts which are prepared to order ..The biggest downsize is the very very high internet wifi rates US$ 25.00 per night !! This is a loot and slur on this otherwise very nice hotel and the management needs to look into it and stop this loot specially with cheaper hotels around offering free wifi for the residents .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visited Dubai on the first weekend of Feb-2011. It is a time when Dubai and the Middle East has good weather and as a result Dubai was extremely busy. We selected from an array of hotels Holiday Inn based on my previous good experience with Holiday Inn. But I must say this one lacked in the kind of service we expected. Murphy's law took complete control.

We had specifically requested for a king sized bed and all I get is 2 separate single beds. Also, there were no other rooms free with a double bed. All we had to make do was with a makeshift double bed.
The hotel "restaurant" on the top floor was mediocre in terms of ambiance. The breakfast was average.

Overall, I would say that it was just not value for money. I could have rather stayed at a simple B&B hotel instead.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

holiday inn downtown dubai seems like an old hotel with no major renovation done for quite some time. i was upgraded to an executive room, though, with gave me internet access. it is also near to the al rigga train station, another plus factor. breakfast was so-so.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FMD88528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here on our way back from Australia, the hotel is looking a bit tired and dated, especially the roof top pool area, it is not dirty or anything just a bit dated.
However, the staff really made up for this they were friendly, helpfull and pleasant throughout the stay.
Value for money is second to none, the food was nice, hot and tasty with a buffet option available evening meal for 65 d's (around £8) for as much as you could eat.
Breakfast was plentyfull and hot, individual eggs cooked however you wanted them.

Make sure you only use registered taxi's at the airport, we got into a car, on arrival at the hotel, the driver asked for 120d's for the trip and would I pay him in the car so no one could see, it took around 15 mins and should of cost less than 35d's (we didn't pay !!!!).
The registered taxi's all have coloured roofs, they are not plain coloured cars .....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I moved to this hotel from the Holiday Inn Express Jumeriah Beach, and don't feel I make a good move in terms of both quality and value for money. This hotel needs an makeover in the communal areas. The bar, the reception and the resteraunts are all very old and shabby. My bedroom was very good, but they may have been because it was on the exective floor. The swimming pool on the roof is tiny, and in need of some care; it's not a place to hangout.

My opinion of this hotel was set from the off by the reception, the man checking me in had to refer every single simple question - "is there broadband" (no) ? "is breakfast included" (no) ? to the manager stood next to him, even though the manager was doing nothing he continued to ignore his floundering colleague and carried on playing on his computer. If I was more sure of the cultural rules I'd have probably have lost my temper with their behaviour, as it was a bit my lip and suffered in silence. Of the six of seven members of reception I dealt with over the two days, I would say only two of them know their jobs well enough.

Best thing about this hotel is the night club on the first, not advertised at the front desk - I only found it by accident. It's hosted by a great phillipino band and dance troupe who put on a great event until 3am; playing a whole spectrum of western tunes. Don't know where they got the energy from. There is also an Indian dance club and a Lebanese (?) club on the same floor.

Room Tip: Higher floor should avoid nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDTManagement, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Downtown on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and we are constantly working to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for your positive comment about our Executive room and let me mention that internet is complimentary for all Executive room guests.

We hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District
0.2 km away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#404 of 546 in Dubai
115 reviews
0.2 km away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#263 of 546 in Dubai
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#122 of 546 in Dubai
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai
Address: Al Rigga Al Rigga Rd | Haleefat Area , hamad Bin Abdulla Road West, Dubai 9100, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#235 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai has an excellent location only 10 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road. Also, it is within close proximity from the Dubai Creek , Dubai Museum, the famed Gold & Spice Souks as well as the modern shopping mall, City Centre. The four star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 139 newly renovated rooms equipped with high-speed internet access and 32 LCD TV. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The Bistro restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including themed nights and the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 80 people. Executive room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Dubai include the Burj Al Arab, Mall of the Emirates, Ski Dubai, and Wild Wadi which are all within a 30 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai Hotel Dubai
Holiday Inn Dubai
Dubai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing