We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Jumeirah Emirates Towers(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$296
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The H Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,457
US$1,225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,729)
Filter reviews
6,729 results
Traveller rating
5,384
925
274
84
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,384
925
274
84
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower roomclub toweral khaimagary rhodesclub roompenguin clubmain buildingpiano barsea viewhalf boardcold towelsafternoon teabuilding workgrosvenor housesister hotelbottle of champagnepre dinner drinks
Filter
Updating list...
4,046 - 4,051 of 6,729 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in August 2011 for leisure purposes. The highlight of this hotel is its beach location and easy walking access to the JBR area and Marina.

The hotel itself isn't particularly special- it's a rather large touristy hotel which is very dated. This being said, we were very comfortable in our room on the 'Club Level' with no complaints about the room itself, besides the dated decor. What stands out are the swimming pools, grounds and beach, all of which makes this hotel an coveted location for a beach holiday.

The restaurants in this hotel are a real assortment-- we fell in love with Rhodes Twenty 10 and had a fabulous dinner here-- a huge surprise to find a restaurant of this caliber inside of this hotel. We also enjoyed a meal at Maya on another trip to Dubai. The other restaurants we dined in are just average.

We did enjoy some spa treatments and the fitness facilitiies which are spacious, modern and well maintained-- a proper gym with classes and tennis courts.

All in all if you want a great beach location and a family environment in Dubai, this hotel is ideal provided you aren't looking for swanky hotel surroundings.

Room Tip: Pay for club level to enjoy the free breakfasts and happy hours every evening.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EbbieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that whilst you find parts of the hotel to be a little dated that you were very comfortable and found the resort an ideal location for a beach holiday.  Please be assured that we continually review and enhance our facilities and are in the planning of a full refurbishment of the Club building next year followed by a number of strategic plans over the next few years.

We were also happy to hear that you really enjoyed our steakhouse Rhodes Twenty10 by Gary Rhodes as well as Maya by Richard Sandoval and positively rated our spa and gym facilities.

Kind regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Its all very shiny and expensive looking but we waited almost an hour to check in when we arrived at 2p.m which was check in time, as did our friends and we regularly saw annoyed looking people waiting in reception. Don't arrive early you will not get in, you can use facilities and wait with a buzzer but not a great start.

It had a good location with a short stroll to the Marina which really is excellent and better place to eat in my opinion. Taxis on standby and nothing too far away as opposed to staying on the Palm.

The breakfast in the brasserie was hectic, queing to get in for 5 mins and queing to get eggs ( I gave up on those) and no choice of table. LUCKILY we were upgraded to the Tower and so could have breakfast in a different place and that was more like 5* service and quality with champas and smiles! If you can its worth an upgrade to avoid getting annoyed before you start the day!

The pool area was clean and I enjoyed the smoothies, cold towels and facial spritzes on offer. The doughnut trip around the Marina was good value and fun, I got to go in the boat and take pictures for free. Club sandwich was around £18 poolside, £18 for a hubbly pipe etc. But thats not unreasonable for a place like that. There were rabbbits and turkey like birds around the grounds and plenty of activities going on and stunning looking bars etc. The nightclub was quiet so couldn't really dance but happy hour made it affordable and we got a rose when leaving.

The bedsheets were AMAZING and my techy husband enjoyed the star trek like controls in the room. Chocolates on the pillows and ice buckets were a nice 5* touch. And after an email to say it was my 30th we got free cake and champas which again was a lovely extra.

The balcony overlooked a building site with generators running 24hrs a day. If the patio doors were shut it was not a problem, shame it wasn't a beautiful view but didn't loose any sleep over it.

Overall I don't think I could recommend this hotel, our friends who have been to Dubai before didn't enjoy it as much as the Atlantis either. For the money we paid on the room and then whilst in the hotel I would have wanted quadruple the service from the reception staff and the standard breakfast which was more like a 3*.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank slimmorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

We were sorry to hear that your initial arrival experience was not as seamless as it could have been and that there was a delay in getting into your room.  Please be assured that you feedback is taken very seriously to ensure that a similar situation does not reoccur and having reviewed other feedback I am sure that you will agree that this is not reflective of our usual service and standards at the hotel.

On a positive note we were happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the bed sheets and that whilst your initial experience was not so positive that our team were able to upgrade you as a gesture of goodwill allowing you to have breakfast in Fusion dedicated for Tower guests.

Kind regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Myself and my fiancee decided we needed a spring break in the sun. She had always wanted to go to Dubai and I guess it was one of those places that I was just inquisitive about. So we did our research (mainly here) and compared the costs. For us on paper this hotel looked the best option and so we booked up 10 days.

I could tell you lots and lots about this place, but I will just give you the headlines. Check in is not until 1pm. We turned up at 9am (due to flight times). We expected to drop the luggage and go explore for a few hours. But no. They gave us drinks, danish pastries and asked us to wait for 40 minutes whilst they got the room ready. An hour and a half later, a very appologetic member of reception told us that he was so embarrassed about the delay that they had upgraded our room! This is still 1.5 hours before we were meant to be checking in anyway!!!

This sets the tone for the kind of service you can expect. Genuine nice people. They appreciate the tips, yet never expect or hint in any way for them. They do what ever they can to help. English is widely spoken, but of course to varying levels. I was amazed watching the conciege speak Russian, then Arabic on the phone, then English to me and I believe Japanese (could have been Chinese for all I know) to the next guest as I left the desk. Just AMAZING!

Pools are nice. The infinity pool for you perfectionists, is not an infinity pool, just a pool where water runs over the edge, but none the less they are all very well maintained (there are two others) and have excellent life guards on duty at all times. There was an elderly gentlemen who I found out had limited movement and had lost a leg to diabetis. The lifeguards literally spent hours with him each day helping him into the pool, ensuring that bouyancy aids were in place and giving him intense one on one assitance in an incredibly respectful way. The care given by these strangers to a guest was of such a level that I can feel emotion just thinking about it whilst typing this!

Rooms, nice, clean, comfortable, functional, air con a little irratic but nothing terrible. Guest services helpful but there was a varying level of knowledge depending on who you spoke with. Tip, if you dont get the info you want from one of them, go back a little later and try again. Please dont think that this was bad service, I simply got the impression that some of guest services were local / lived in Dubai, whilst others for all intents and purposes lived in the hotel and only knew about the rest of the city because of what they read in the leaflets.

Resturants. Maya (Mexican), the staff are just simply the best resturant staff ever! The food is interesting and full of flavour, probably not always what Brits would know to be Mex from our chain restaurants but I would say it was a lot better tasting!! Live band every night and they are good! Fusion, great tasting asian food, Rhodes 20/10 OMG you want steak? You got to go here, it is a great looking venue with fantastic food. Brasserie, this is your bulk standard buffett but the selection is wide and varied accomodating all folk including veggies, Muslims, sushi lovers, Europeans and good old fashioned British food as well. Any Americans reading this - sorry there was no burgers! lol For a Burger try the sports bar which shows Footie, Rugby, F1, UFC. Food here not so great compared to the others, kind of basic burger and chips but a very,very relaxed environment. There was one restaurant that we hated, so much cant even remember the name of it. Probably purely because it was not our style. It was fish based, you had to go to a counter like at Tesco's, choose the fish you wanted or the live fish in the tanks behind, then this would be weighed, you then have to work out how and with what ingredients you want it to be cooked in, how it should be cooked, what should accompany it and then you get your price. It just felt like a major ball ache, the food was ony ok and the service levels where no where near as good as at ANY of the others (including buffett) although I guess we may have just been spoilt!

You could spend your whole stay in the hotel compound if you wanted. There is everything you need there. The beach is fantastic! There are bars subtly located all around the grounds, you will never have an excuse to be thirsty other than due to the prices! Basic rule of thumb, you want a basic alcholic drink, its going to cost you around £10, you want a soft drink its around £5.

There are also some sporting events and you have the likes of Trevor Sinclair and Carlton Palmer doing football coaching there one afternoon a week.

This is somewhere were the celebs go although there were no paparatzi that we noticed. The 10 days we were there ended with the Dubai world cup. Our last night saw a big function hosted by Peter Andre (private unfortunatly lol) and my fiancee became all star struck and had to have a picture taken with Amy Childs when she suddenly realised she was sun bathing practically next to her.

The inhouse night club (bar below) is really only what you could refer to as a two floor lounge bar. You want wild, you go to Club XL in the next door hotel, you want busy go to Club 44 at this hotels sister the Grosvenor, you want to have fun in a small group, Bar Below is the place. Incredible staff who will dance and be playful with you and a very entertaining DJ who is just good fun!

MAKE SURE YOU USE THE STEAM ROOMS AND HEMMA POOLS (upstairs above the Spa) you dont pay extra and are perfect to get ready for a lazy day by the pool - oh, the Gym, totally kitted out with everything you need, so no excuses!! :)

If you do plan to go off site, make sure you do preplan, avoid relying on motorised transport between 6 and 9 pm, this part of Dubai just becomes a huge traffic jam at those times, remember Thursday night is even worse as it is the locals equivalent of a 'Friday night' and everyone seems to be out to play!!

All in all, trips are always what YOU make of it, but this place is a perfect opportunity to make it a very relaxed and enjoyable break!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Welst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your stay at the hotel.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your 10 day stay with us and that you were able to experience many of the services and facilities throughout the resort.

We were exceptionally happy to hear that you were impressed with the lifeguards friendliness and helpfulness with all guests and in particular one guest who was in need of a little more assistance.   You will be happy to hear that Le Royal Meridien lifeguards this year won first place in the UAE lifeguard championships for a second year running for which we are extremely proud of.

We were also pleased to hear that you really loved your dining experience in Maya by Richard Sandoval and particularly liked the style of cuisine on offer.

Finally with regards to your visit to Mivida, we are sorry that you did not enjoy the concept of this restaurant.  The choice and display of fish on the market place is specifically designed to allow our guest to choose and see which daily catch they prefer to choose and then to have it cooked in the cooking method of their choice.  I am sorry if our team did not explain the concept very well at the time or give indications on the price of fish being chosen.

We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is amazing, Great service, Chocolates delivered to our room every night, Amazing food, Everyone was very helpful and friendly, weather was great, I even met amy childs who was staying there too. About 5 different restaurants and all outstanding, rhodes twenty ten was outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the services and facilities at the hotel and that our team was both friendly and accommodating, ensuring that you are looked after throughout the stay.

We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed the selection and choice of food within our restaurants with special mention to our steak house, Rhodes Twenty10 by Gary Rhodes.

Kind regards,
Pam Wilby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and i stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a large suite on arrival with flowers, cake and early check-in.

Room was lovely! Ginormous balcony overlooking the pool & a great lounge area to relax in.

Pool was great and you could get water in buckets of ice free (due to the heat).

Restaurants were great, our favourite was the Thai one - ate there twice and went to the mexican one too that was good.

Hotel is in good location, we asked the hotel to sort a trip for afternoon tea at the Burj Al Arab and this was organised hassle free, we even got a little reminder through our door.

Breakfast was fab each day, really good quality!

Would definitely return :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JerseyGirl-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon and as this was a very special occasion it was our pleasure to upgrade you to one of our suites. We were happy to hear that you really liked the room as well as the special amenities provided.

We were also pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your dining experiences in both Fusion our Asian cuisine restaurant and our Mexican restaurant Maya by Richard Sandoval.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Pam Wilby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews