We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good servic bad food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Palace Hotel
Ranked #190 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
tehran
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good servic bad food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel have best services in room and .... and bad food in restaurants

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majid h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, short but constructive. We value guest comments because we do believed that from those feedback, we will learn on which area need attention in order to fulfill guest satisfaction. Thank you for the appreciation on our service however, we do apologized for incovenience you had during your stay. Your feedback relayed to the concern department and will do the needful to improve.

Regards,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    262
    92
    30
    39
See reviews for
123
203
76
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would not rate this as a five star property. The lobby is cheap glitter. The checkin was efficient and the staff is well-trained and polite. The rooms are three-star with a musty odour. The bathroom is of adequate size but the acrylic bath-stall is smallish. The toiletries very pedestrian. The interiors of the entire property are dated and seem like an ancient bollywood movie-set. The bars & restaurants are terrible. The menus and food consistently poor and even on a weekend there were no clients in both the bars and both the restaurants!
This is at the most a two-three star property for businessman for overnight stays. I will never come here again. There are over 100 five star properties at far more reasonable prices in Dubai. The Dubai Hotel rating authorities must look at a re-evaluation of their rating procedures if this is five star!

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel if you are traveling with your spouse or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Aprreciate your effort for taking time to leave feedback here at tripadvisor. On behalf of our team, kindly accept our humble apology if by this time you didn't had the satisfaction you want. Despite of the way you classify our hotel you still had a positive feedback given to our staff. This is really aprreciated from you. It's only shows that "Service still count". We will not lose our hope for such comment of yours, we still look forward to have you back here at Metropolitan Palace Dubai.

Regards,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

For business and leisure traveller this place is great. From the time you walked in into the looby, you will feel a WOW feeling. It's really amazing like what the name of it. Palace.... atleast for sometime you may have a feeling of being in the palace, being served and respected by the staff. Service is good, facilities is well, there is an assurance of enjoyable and comfortable stay. Will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottie_heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that we made you feel like a "King in a Palace" therefore we look forward to have you back here with your friends and family in a not too distant future, with an assurance of our best attention and service all the time. Let your friends and family experience the same.... "Living in the Palace for sometimes"....

Once again, thanks for the feedback.

Warm regards,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Let's start from the arrival. We arrived after very late midnight and we had booked non-smoking room with two separate beds. This kind of room was not ready, they offered room with king-size bed and an extra bed or we could wait that get the booked would be room ready. We waited around 15 min and got the room, but I guess it was a smoking room. Quite spacy room and very nice, clean badroom. Big TV , but very few english TV channels.
Breakfast very good with wide selection of food, except that coffee was undrinkable to my taste. Location good, metro station 500 m and downtown Deira ~2 kilometers (we walked).
Wellness area on top of the hotel with pool, bar etc. eventhough quite windy there. There was a restaurant in the hotel adverdising burgers in their menu, but when went there were no burgers were available.
Only real minus comes from the noise (music) from one of the hotel restaurants. We had the room on a second floor above restaurant floor and you could hear live music until 3 o' clock night. This happened every second night. So take a room high as possible. Also the internet charges were unacceptable, though you had 15 minutes free per day. It was also convient to book the city , desert tours etc. from the agent in the lobby, they were a bit more expensive, but sometimes loose a bit, sometimes you win ( we got Bur Khalifa tickets with a discount price).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reissu-erkki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback for our hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve our product and service offerings. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to during your recent stay with us and would like to reassure that we have taken necessary steps to avoid a repeat of such incidents.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

In the meantime, if there is anything we can do to assist you; please do not hesitate to contact us directly at palacedubai.feedback@habtoorhotels.com

Best Regards,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was impressed when I walked into the foyer. Since the hotel is hidden amongst other buildings you are not expecting what you get when you walk in. The receptionist was quick and efficient and had my bags delivered to my room immediately. The bar was expensive, but if you are in Dubai you have to expect that. I paid $25 USD for two drinks. The bar had an awesome band. The room was nice, but the bed was hard. It had a wonderful view of the river.
The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing for the price, $40 USD (for 2). Apparently there was no dress code there because these little league cricketers were walking barefoot! I think those kids received special treatment just because they were cricket players anyways. I will definitely go back again when I pass through.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTramp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Your feedback are highly appreciated as we have our desire to give better service and we are constantly striving to achieve the highest standards of service so it is always very rewarding for my team and I to know that we have met your expectations although there are some points you mentioned where I believed is not a major complaint from your side. We at the Metropolitan Palace Dubai, look forward for your next visit. Once again, thank you.

Yours,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very nice Hotel.Clean and fresh. Great staff and food excellent. Location is perfect for everything really. 10mins from Airport if that. Taxi's always outside hotel and cheap to get from one end of town to another. Concierge always there to help anyway. Metro 5min walk around back of hotel and brings you all the way to Jebel Ali passing Jumeirah on the way. Easy. If going to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa just get a taxi. Its only an extra few quid and worth the hassle. Should be only 30dirhams max while a metro will cost 17 for two one way.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibamagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Ibamagreen,

Really appreciate your feedback at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to see you back and assure our best attention at all times.

Yours truly,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Facade - Not too impressive
Enter the Lobby - Opinion changes. Impressive with the chandeliers and the fountain.
Rooms - Comfortable and luxurious for the leisure traveler. Value for money for the business traveler. Loved the dates the house-keeping kept on the bed everytime they cleaned the room.
Bathrooms - Clean and spacious.
Internet - Paid. Was kind of surprised that there was no wi-fi.
Minibar - The minibar had some kind of message on the strip on it which said something like the hotel is not responsible if the seal is broken. Had a guest staying at the hotel, who called me immediately after reading it. Gives an impression to the guest that the seal should not be broken and the minibar should not be used :)
Breakfast - Good for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians.

Pros - Amazing value for money, comfortable stay, and good location
Cons - No wifi, Minibar message

Room Tip: Second floor rooms not advised if you want a good night's sleep and an early morning rise for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagu0091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Appreciate your effort for taking time to leave such comment at TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we continuously strive to improve our services and facilities and only through comments provided by our valued guests we will be able to do so.

Kindly note that we are now working out for wifi access and hopefully by your next visit, this service will be available. For your future visit to Dubai please do not hesitate to contact me and we would be happy to assist you.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in Metropolitan Palace Dubai in the near future.

Regards,

Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 km away
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
#236 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 km away
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#106 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
0.2 km away
Samaya Hotel - Deira
Samaya Hotel - Deira
#273 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 km away
Suba Hotel
Suba Hotel
#93 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Palace Hotel

Property: Carlton Palace Hotel
Address: Al Maktoum Rd | Deira, Dubai 56262, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Palace Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Dubai
#101 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#119 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#165 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5-star service at the Carlton Palace Hotel. Welcome to the Carlton Palace Hotel - a grand 5-star hotel in the heart of Deira within easy reach of Dubai Creek, Dubai Airport, metro stations and the World Trade Centre. Carlton Palace Hotel is a luxurious hotel for both leisure and business travellers with an unparalleled combination of exemplary service, beautifully renovated rooms, stunning decor, international dining, central location and value for money. Reminiscent of an elegant era, the magnificent Baroque lobby with an imposing double staircase leads to the 212 spacious and newly refurbished rooms and suites. The rooms range from 32-250 m² and are centred around an imposing balustrade-lined Atrium with greenery encircling a fountain. The hotel features all the facilities of a 5-star hotel including rooftop swimming pool, spacious fitness centre with views of the city, business centre, a variety of restaurants and bars, 24-hour room service, conference and ballroom facilities as well as three floors dedicated to executive rooms and suites overlooking a classic Executive Lounge. Our welcoming staff will attend to your every need at check-in and beyond. That's a promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Palace
Metropolitan Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing