We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Exactly As Advertised!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #186 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value, Exactly As Advertised!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I chose the hotel based on other reviews and its reasonably close location to the airport. It will still cost about 50 +/- Durhams from the Airport via Taxi to the hotel. There is a 20 surcharge when you travel from the Airport via Taxi. The surcharge does not apply when you take the Taxi from the hotel back to the airport. Speaking of transportation, the hotel is a short walk to the nearby Dubai metro station. The Dubai metro is very cheap, reliable, modern, convenient, and seemingly safe. The hotel is exactly what I expected it to be. A great value for the money. Have I stayed at better establishments? Definitely. Have I stayed at worse establishments? Definitely. For the price, it is a great value and leaves little to complain about. The rooms and the hotel are clean, well-maintained, and very appropriate for the prices which the hotel commands. Internet service is available for an extra-charge of 20 Durhams. I utilized it for one night, the internet speed was modest and sufficient. My price package included breakfast. The breakfast menu offers a variety of foods. The quality of the ingredients was moderate. You will not be impressed by the quality of ingredients. You will also not leave hungry and upset. Given the price, the quality of breakfast seems appropriate. Its all about value. Additionally, the staff members were very attentive. The location of the hotel is great for visiting the Gold Souk and Deira Creek area. All other major Dubai attractions are easily reached via the Metro. At the Riviera hotel, you get exactly what you paid for and exactly what you expect. Which is not a bad thing!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arshad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    182
    43
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
108
54
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Clean hotel ,friendly stuff,good breakfast I've visited Dubai for three days only ,and this hotel was great value with great location near metro and creek. I can not say anything bad about this hotel. I'll go back in a heart beat.
Thank You for peasant experience

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I am weekly customer on this hotel due to good location for my business nearby.
Room service is good, food is good, bellboy is good, the only thing I really can't stand on is their POOR ATTITUDE RECEPTIONIST MR.DANISH. I booked weekly, sometimes just happen to share with other people whom I known and I forgot to cancel my room before 24 hours check in. If I were to have this priviledge to cancel room without penalty, then no need to say anymore. But if there is penalty, just say it and I pay. No need to use bad attitude saying I should cancel 24 hours earlier and he is great enough to let me cancel without penalty.

Room Tip: Room with creek view on 3rd to 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel has a fairly good location -- not in the center of things, but a short walk from Baniyas Square Metro station and the abra water transport to Bur Dubai and not far from the airport. There is a supermarket in the street behind the hotel, and a Chinese and tandoori restaurant within one block. The breakfast buffet has good quality and variety. The staff is courteous and efficient. Getting a taxi may be a little difficult sometimes -- you may have to wait a few minutes for an available taxi to pass by. There is no iron/board and the toiletries are on the basic side. Housekeeping is good. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irfanTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergen norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

chose this hotel for the location..... but we were dissapointed, yes you are in old town and you got a nice view of the river, but. there is nothing happening around the hotel , busy street in front,no outside restaurants by the river..no drinks & beer (alcaholic) in the hotel & nearby.. you need a taxi to move around..so much for the downtown life. rooms ordinary...ok staff...took a night cruise on the river with all. incl. ...ok.we stayed in dubai for 3 days on our way back from the maldives. took a big bus tour to see the sights ..this was ok. in the evenings we took a taxi to intern. hotels with much more to offer. my advice is to choose those....we will probably not go back ...seeen that done that.........................

Room Tip: if you choose to stay here........go for the room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BergenNorwayJog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel has the best views in Dubai beats the beach views hands down,
Lovely rooms comfy beds clean bathrooms,
friendly staff,
great breakfast choices,
nice sitting area in front of hotel to have a coffee and watch the hustle and bustle of the creek,
night time the creek comes alive with the colorful dhows,
good location for souks and abra stations just a short walk away,
metro station 5min walk out the back of hotel
will definitely stay here again ..

Room Tip: Go for the creek view rooms you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaidrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I found the Riviera Hotel to be very clean, with a large bathroom and a nice closet. There was a flat screen TV on the wall and the beds and pillows were comfortable. I stayed in a creek view room before a cruise, and a souq view after the cruise. Both rooms looked identical---the only difference was the view. The souq view really just looks out to buildings, but the creek view was very nice, and you can even see the Burj Khalifa in the distance. The location is excellent! You can walk to so many different things in the Deira neighborhood and I felt that it was very safe. You can easily walk to the Abra station and catch an abra over to Bur Dubai. The Union metro station is within a few blocks, or the hotel staff can easily and quickly call a taxi. The taxi cost approximately $15 to the airport and $20 to Port Rashid. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. It catered to Eastern and Western tastes and offered a great variety in an all-you-can-eat buffet. The hotel staff are very polite and answered all of my questions. They all spoke English. Computers with the Internet were available for a small fee, about $4 for 30 minutes. The only things they could improve upon is if they added a fitness center and a pool. Overall I was very pleased with my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebec-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Dubai/Baniyas Square
0.0 km away
The Carlton Tower Hotel
The Carlton Tower Hotel
#326 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dubai Deira Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Landmark Grand Deira
Landmark Grand Deira
#218 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.1 km away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#34 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.0 km away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Baniyas Road, 17 | P.O. Box 1388, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Dubai
#139 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#160 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing