We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #56 of 549 Hotels in Dubai
Perth, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stopover in Dubai. We wanted to be close to the Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall etc. We arrived at the hotel at 6.30am and checked in. As a result of our early arrival, our room wasn’t ready so as an apology we were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful view of the Burj Khalifa. We were greeted by exceptionally polite and helpful staff and were very welcoming. The breakfast was high quality and of the buffet style. We sat outside by the pool to eat. The hotel feels very boutique and is very clean! The hotel is located within 5 minutes of the Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall and the fountain show. I would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear 'AshleyP',

Thank you for your comments on your short stay at Qamardeen Hotel.

I am very glad that you had a good stay and the Hotel product and services exceeded your expectations.

I do hope that you will consider us in the futire when you pass this way again.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    438
    76
    35
    19
See reviews for
270
699
205
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

One of the reasons for selecting this hotel is that it is located in the new "Old Town". The hotel is within a 15 minute walk to the Dubai Mall, Fountains and the magnificent Burj Khalifa. It is also centrally located in Dubai for access by taxi or metro (20 minute walk) to all the other attractions. The staff were as friendly and helpful as one could imagine. We arrived at 9am and, although check in wasn't until 2pm, already had our room ready. The room had all the necessary amenities and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Unless you are specifically looking for a beach hotel, I would strongly recommend The Qamardeen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We do thank you for your comments on your stay at Qamardeen.

I am very glad that the Hotel's proximity and services worked well for you.

It is our hope that this will be your Hotel of choice on your next trip to Dubai.

Our Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Charming and elegant small hotel in a wonderful location. Lovely staff and good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Alison,

Thank you for the precise comment on your stay at Qamardeen.

We do hope that you will come back again in the near future and stay while in Dubai.

Best Regards

John Aritho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and were very pleased - at check in, they couldn't have been more helpful - taking our bags straight up to our room while we went back out and giving us fresh orange juice and hot flannels while at the desk. When we did go to our room, we were intrigued about the glass-walled bathroom. We had read other travellers reviews and this had been mentioned so it wasn't a complete surprise. The bath, sink and shower all enclosed in a doorless glass room within the bedroom. There are 2 blinds which you can pull down near the bath for privacy but as there's no door, these seemed a bit pointless! The toilet is enclosed by frosted glass walls in another corner (Thank goodness!). The room itself was immaculate - dressing table/desk, extra chairs, wardrobe etc etc and bed was v comfy. One very small gripe is that the air con would not go below 20c, so was a tad warm at night but then without it, it would have been a lot hotter still.

We went down for breakfast the next day with high hopes and we noticed the large variety of food on offer. We got shown to a table by one of the waitresses and it had only been cleared but not reset with cutlery, jams or tea/coffee cups etc and also was covered in crumbs. We went to the bar areas which were self service and thought that a waitress would come round for drinks. However after 15 minutes (and noticing the 5 adjoining tables still had not been cleared) my husband had to ask for tea and coffee to be brought over. This was done (albeit in an unceremonious fashion) but we didn't linger. One bonus is that breakfast was served until 11am (we went in at 10.30) but it was evident that they needed more staff on to improve the service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolateaddict79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear 'Choclate addict',

We do thank you for your review on Qamardeen and your well pointed out comments on various aspects of your stay.

I have noted your positive comments on the concierge , front desk and the rooms whilst pointing out that breakfast could have been better.

I must apologize on behalf of the team for the mishap on the particular day with the breakfast and I can assure you that we have taken steps to ensure that we do not have a recurrence in the future.

I do thank you for taking the time to share your views which no doubt will assist in ensuring that we do not have a similar occurence going forth.

Our Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

perfectly positioned near Dubai Mall, the Qamardeen gives you outstanding access to the Burj Khalifa, water fountains and endless choices of restaurants around the souq.

The hotel is well appointed and standard rooms are nice but small. The gym is woeful!!! small and most machines don't work. Its reasonably priced but it's all about location/access to the mall here...and don't worry if you're a distance from other parts of Dubai; taxi's are cheap as chips.

This is a great choice for business or holiday stays.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear 'StevenBSydney'

Thank you for staying with us and more-so for sharing your feedback on your last stay.

I have noted your comment regarding some of the gym machines not working and I would like to confirm that we have placed an order to replace the treadmills as well as additional cardio equipment and we should have all the equipment working in a short while.

I do hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the near future.

My Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Good hotel with one big benefit: it's close to Dubai Mall and the new downtown around it.
It has good services and the price is about 50% less than the hotels right next to Dubai Mall.
Avoid the rooms on the groundlevel, it is very noisy there.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the groundfloor which gives onto the street, it is very noisy from the clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest - 'Denabs',

Thank you very much for getting the time to share your views about your last stay.

With regards to the ground floor rooms, we are currently working on the window seals to ensure that no street noise comes through the windows or doors as they are double glazed and should prevent any noise from filtering in.

We do appreciate your comment and hope that we can resolve this shortly.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent 2 nights here – on the way out and the way back from a trip to Australia.

On the way out it was “fine”. We were on the west of the hotel and there was a building site nearby – not too intrusive but just enough to hold off leaving the windows open. We went into the buffet breakfast as it started at 6.30 and some of the dishes were not really warm

Coming back the other way we asked to be away from the building site and were upgraded to a lovely suite on the other side of the hotel! We had breakfast at a more normal time (8.30) and the throughput seemed to have solved the warmed over food problem - it was very good.

It was also heartening to get sent a customer questionnaire by email after we left and to get a response to our comment amount breakfast. A place that tries hard and is a good stop over – it’s walking distance to Dubai Mall and Burj al Khalifa

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMQuestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#31 of 549 in Dubai
2,173 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#71 of 549 in Dubai
2,027 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#38 of 549 in Dubai
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Taj Dubai
#11 of 549 in Dubai
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Property: Vida Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing