We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Part of our Holiday!”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #60 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Absolutely AMAZING! We loved every second that we spent at Qamardeen. A lot of places are of walking distance-e.g Dubai Mall. Lovely restaurants in and outside of hotel. Me and my husband would have loved to stay longer. The staff at Qamardeen are exceptional, absolutely amazing... Special thanks to LESTER for making our trip even more memorable. Now every time we visit Dubai, we know where to stay... Qamardeen :)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demi736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear 'Demi 736',

It is very good to hear that Qamardeen played a good part in making your holiday memorable - this is one of our key motivators, to make our guests have a memorable stay.

It is great that you have singled 'Lester ' at the Reception who is a wonderful asset for us as much as the rest of the wonderful team here!

We shall definately recognize him for his efforts due to your mention.

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Spent a total of 9 hours in this hotel during a stopover most of which i spent asleep so can't comment extensively on hotel facilities. However, I can say room was quiet, spotless and comfortable, see through shower/bathroom was a novelty although it does have privacy blinds u can use if shy, room service was quick and efficient, food was yummy and breakfast was extensive. Room, Lobby and public areas very attractively decorated, pool looked lovely. Hotel arranged transfer from airport was on time and luxurious 4wd. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free in room wifi. Disappointed that original plan to spend longer here was foiled by flight changes. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: My room on 4th floor overlooked pool and had great view of some big tower I've forgotten name of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bindip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear 'Bindip 61',

Despite your short stay, you gave us a great review and do thank you for the time you took to share your experience.

It gives us great pleasure to know that your stay was sweet though short - I do hope that you will be back soon!

Ps: The big tower is 'The Burj Khalifa', currently the tallest free standing building in the world at 828 meters and over 160 stories...

Thank you.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stopover in Dubai. We wanted to be close to the Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall etc. We arrived at the hotel at 6.30am and checked in. As a result of our early arrival, our room wasn’t ready so as an apology we were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful view of the Burj Khalifa. We were greeted by exceptionally polite and helpful staff and were very welcoming. The breakfast was high quality and of the buffet style. We sat outside by the pool to eat. The hotel feels very boutique and is very clean! The hotel is located within 5 minutes of the Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall and the fountain show. I would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear 'AshleyP',

Thank you for your comments on your short stay at Qamardeen Hotel.

I am very glad that you had a good stay and the Hotel product and services exceeded your expectations.

I do hope that you will consider us in the futire when you pass this way again.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

One of the reasons for selecting this hotel is that it is located in the new "Old Town". The hotel is within a 15 minute walk to the Dubai Mall, Fountains and the magnificent Burj Khalifa. It is also centrally located in Dubai for access by taxi or metro (20 minute walk) to all the other attractions. The staff were as friendly and helpful as one could imagine. We arrived at 9am and, although check in wasn't until 2pm, already had our room ready. The room had all the necessary amenities and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Unless you are specifically looking for a beach hotel, I would strongly recommend The Qamardeen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We do thank you for your comments on your stay at Qamardeen.

I am very glad that the Hotel's proximity and services worked well for you.

It is our hope that this will be your Hotel of choice on your next trip to Dubai.

Our Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Charming and elegant small hotel in a wonderful location. Lovely staff and good food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear Alison,

Thank you for the precise comment on your stay at Qamardeen.

We do hope that you will come back again in the near future and stay while in Dubai.

Best Regards

John Aritho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and were very pleased - at check in, they couldn't have been more helpful - taking our bags straight up to our room while we went back out and giving us fresh orange juice and hot flannels while at the desk. When we did go to our room, we were intrigued about the glass-walled bathroom. We had read other travellers reviews and this had been mentioned so it wasn't a complete surprise. The bath, sink and shower all enclosed in a doorless glass room within the bedroom. There are 2 blinds which you can pull down near the bath for privacy but as there's no door, these seemed a bit pointless! The toilet is enclosed by frosted glass walls in another corner (Thank goodness!). The room itself was immaculate - dressing table/desk, extra chairs, wardrobe etc etc and bed was v comfy. One very small gripe is that the air con would not go below 20c, so was a tad warm at night but then without it, it would have been a lot hotter still.

We went down for breakfast the next day with high hopes and we noticed the large variety of food on offer. We got shown to a table by one of the waitresses and it had only been cleared but not reset with cutlery, jams or tea/coffee cups etc and also was covered in crumbs. We went to the bar areas which were self service and thought that a waitress would come round for drinks. However after 15 minutes (and noticing the 5 adjoining tables still had not been cleared) my husband had to ask for tea and coffee to be brought over. This was done (albeit in an unceremonious fashion) but we didn't linger. One bonus is that breakfast was served until 11am (we went in at 10.30) but it was evident that they needed more staff on to improve the service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolateaddict79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear 'Choclate addict',

We do thank you for your review on Qamardeen and your well pointed out comments on various aspects of your stay.

I have noted your positive comments on the concierge , front desk and the rooms whilst pointing out that breakfast could have been better.

I must apologize on behalf of the team for the mishap on the particular day with the breakfast and I can assure you that we have taken steps to ensure that we do not have a recurrence in the future.

I do thank you for taking the time to share your views which no doubt will assist in ensuring that we do not have a similar occurence going forth.

Our Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#29 of 556 in Dubai
2,251 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#66 of 556 in Dubai
2,247 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#39 of 556 in Dubai
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#94 of 556 in Dubai
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#56 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $266 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing