We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Very welcoming and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #27 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location. Very welcoming and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife & I would like to thank all staff at the Qamardeen for their extremely friendly welcome, when we recently stayed for 6 nights in mid-April. We asked for a quiet room with a good aspect, and we got it in spades. On arriving at 8am (due to overnight flight) we expected to be asked to wait until our room was available, but to our surprise it already was, and we were able to move in immediately. The room was excellently furnished, comfortable, and quiet. We had a Garden Access room, which meant we had a french window opening onto a garden patio, with a table & chairs waiting for us. Seats & cushions were placed ready for us each morning, and taken in late each night.

We were a little apprehensive about the see-through bathroom we had read reviews on. This was unnecessary, as the toilet was in a separate (private) room, and the bathroom, although see-through, had roller blinds which could be dropped for privacy - hence no problem.

Particular thanks should go to the concierge, who gave us excellent advice when we wanted to book a desert safari, and on taking that advice we had a very enjoyable time. He also recommended the best day to go to Wild Wadi (sunday, as it's quietest), and gave us tips on travelling about.

Tips on things to do (if you are not already filled with ideas. (1) Visit the Burj Khalifa "At The Top", which takes you to the 124th floor for fantastic open air views across Dubai. Best to go just before dusk to get both day & night views. We could only get 8pm, but it was still worth it. Book it online before you go, otherwise you might be unlucky. (2) Use the metro to get around. It's overground not under, pristine in cleanliness, but otherwise works like London. Just remember Coach 1 is extra cost with leather seats & carpets, Coach 2 is women only, and 3, 4, & 5 for anyone. Get the wrong coach, and you'll fall foul of officialdom, so make the right choice. (3) Do a desert safari - it's a bit touristy, but great fun, and (4) try a water park Wild Wadi or Aquaventure, which are both outdoor with great rides & scenery.

Finally back to the Qamardeen. We would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone as a slightly lower cost alternative. Not having an on-site Spa wasn't important to us, but it kept the cost down. The only criticism from my wife was that the Gym (on the 6th Floor) was too male oriented (smallest weights were 10kg, and TV screens only showed sport). The hotel location in Downtown Dubai was brilliant, and was 10 mins easy walking from the Dubai Mall, Fountain, Burj Khalifa, and a myriad of restaurants. Worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Garden Access rooms are quiet and private. Pool Access rooms are goldfish bowls, as you have no priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hianshodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Guest - 'Hianshodan',

The quality of your review was excellent as it pointed out the complete Dubai stay for any traveller coming for the first time in a very detailed way.

We shall definately thank the Concierge and Reception Teams that you have mentioned.

We have also taken into account your comment on the lower weights in the gym as well as the Sports on the TVs in the gym and we shall work on that.

Thank you very much for this very informative and detailed write up.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    416
    70
    32
    16
See reviews for
244
659
189
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I made a booking here based on my dear friend Amirah's recommendation. The location is excellent - easy walking distance to Dubai Mall and close to Burj Khalifa. I spent 8 nights there. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. Everything about The Qamardeen Hotel was a delight for me. Whenever I return to Dubai I will most likely stay at The Qamardeen.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jairamransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Guest - 'JRRansom',

We are very pleased to see that you had a good stay at Qamardeen.

It is great that you stayed at Qamardeen as a recommendation and the Hotel didnt let you down.

We do hope that you shall make this your second home when in Dubai.

Best Regards

John Aritho - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at the Qamardeen for two nights with my 2 1/2 year old son. The hotel is lovely and well-maintained and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The room was spacious and comfortable and very quiet - which is always a plus when traveling with a jet-lagged toddler. We enjoyed the beautiful pool area which was shady and peaceful. The staff (particularly the concierge) were amazingly helpful. The location was also excellent - we had a wonderful view of the Burj Khalifa out our window - and close to the Dubai Fountains and Dubai Mall. My only disappointment was the slight smoke smell in our room even though I had requested non-smoking. But otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel for those wanting to stay in the Old Town Dubai area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest -'Pack_your_Passport',

Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay at Qamardeen.

The team is humbled by your kind words with regards to the service and the product and we can only continue to try the best we can to have happy guests like you.

On the other hand, we are working on eradicating on the 'slight smell of smoke' in the rooms.

Do accept our apologies for this.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Qamardeen Hotel and really liked the location. Loved being close to the fountains, Burj Khalifa and Dubai mall. The hotel was very clean. I knew what to expect about the bathroom so that was not a surprise to us. We did not have time to use the pool but the pool area looked very nice and refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear 'Prussil',

Thank you for your concise feedback on your stay in Qamardeen.

We are only too glad that the Hotel was what you expected.

I do hope that you shall stay again in the future should you be in Dubai.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

being in Qamardeen means you are in the right spot to visit the marvellous surrounding area "Dubai Down town". Nice decorated hotel with perfect touch resembling Arabic Bedouin touch. The staff will warm welcoming you with tasty "Apple juice". I didn't like the smell of the room (seems smoking) even I have asked for non-smoking room. The sleep Quality was poor and you will not find King size bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear 'Q8_Oilman' - Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful pictures that you took of the Hotel - they are excellent and very well appreciated.

The vibrant colors, textures and artistic elements that characterise Qamardeen are so well reflected by these images!

We are only glad that you found the Hotel suitable and omfortable to your needs and we do hope that you will make this your abode when in Dubai.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Excellent hotel, little walk to Dubai mall, 5 10 min, but they do have shuttle
i recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: pic room down and direct access to swimming room http://www.flickr.com/photos/tayseerh/7043042611/
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q8_oilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear 'Q8_Oilman' - Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful pictures that you took of the Hotel - they are excellent and very well appreciated.

The vibrant colors, textures and artistic elements that characterise Qamardeen are so well reflected by these images!

We are only glad that you found the Hotel suitable and omfortable to your needs and we do hope that you will make this your abode when in Dubai.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great location close to the Burj and the fountains, very clean and the staff were polite and helpful, without exception. I was given a smoking room which was a bit smelly, but I hadn't specified non-smoking - it's probably a good idea to do this. I loved the small and shady pool, and the glass walls of the bathroom! (There are blinds and the loo is frosted glass!) I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollinger4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for getting the time to write your comments.

We have noted your comment on the smoke smell and I can asure you we are working to ensure that this is eleminated.

I do hope to see when you come this way again.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#28 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#69 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#23 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#10 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Property: Vida Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing