We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's always fun staying in a pyramid hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raffles Dubai
Ranked #2 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's always fun staying in a pyramid hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

I only stayed one night and it was mostly to treat my team to some luxury for their hard work. The feedback I got from my team members was great. They all appeared to love their rooms. The king bed room I had was a good size and well decorated. It had a great shower and the balcony gave it that extra touch of luxury. The room was clean and fixtures inside all worked properly. The only negative feedback I had was the matrass. It was too hard for my liking and prevented me from have a good night sleep.

Staff were all very friendly and mostly prompt when it came to service. We also enjoyed a few drinks with friends at the roof top bar. This is located at the apex of the pyramid giving it that extra feeling of being a privileged place. We were celebrating some wins so it was the perfect location!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter9978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We were glad to read that you had enjoyed staying in the 'pyramid hotel' and that you found the staff friendly.

That said, I upset to note that you found the mattress a little hard and that this prevented you having a good night's sleep. If you do choose to stay with us again please let us know so that we can add some extra padding on top of the mattress, to make it more comfortable for you.

We hope you had a smooth onward journey.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,753
    273
    64
    17
    13
See reviews for
613
1,281
163
628
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

First, the positives:

This is a pretty neat hotel. It is connected tot he Wafi mall, which is a very "local" mall compared to the Dubai Mall and the Mall of the Emirates. We saw a lot more locals shopping and eating here. The design (Egyptian) is cool and the atrium is large and impressive.

The pool was very nice, with a swim-up bar and lots of loungers. You have to go through the spa to get through the pool and it was not crowded.

The room was pretty nice. Nothing super fancy or impressive, but nice. More 4.5 stars than 5. TV was large and swiveled. Decent work space and desk. Had a balcony that might have been useful in the winter time. Bathroom was well appointed.

The lobby lounge did make a proper Singapore Sling that we thouroughly enjoyed.


Now, the negatives:

We had stayed at the Burj Al Arab for two nights prior to staying 1 night at Raffles. We needed an early check-in, which Raffles was willing to accomodate. We were told that our room would be ready by 12:00. We arrived at 1:00 and the room was not ready. We were told that we could wait in the lobby lounge and have a complementary beverage -- once we got there and ordered two Singapore Slinges (which were lovely), we were told that our "complimentary" beverages did not include alcohol. So we just put them on our room tab. Our room was ready 30 minutes later, and we were taken up to 831 by the front desk staff. When we got there, another couple was already in the room! Our staffer took us back downstairs and spent 15 minutes trying to figure out the mix-up, and then took us to our room at 531 (only 3 floors off!). We finally go to our room with our bags well after 3:00. We were not offered any sort of concession; at a minimum, I thought they would have picked up the tab for our two drinks or offered us a better room.

My only real complaint with the room was the bed -- it was hard as a rock.

The concierge was a massive disappointment. After coming from the Burj Al Arab, Raffles could certainly take some lessons from them. All we wanted to do was book a trip out to Bab Al Sham's in the desert for dinner and the show. This took several phone calls -- they promised to look into it and call me bac, and I had to call when they did not. The promised to look into transportation and never got back to me until I called them back. Then they said definitively that it would be 400 AED (200 each way) for transport via the hotel's "Lexus limosuine" (which is just a Lexus sedan) -- when we got the car, he said he was going to charge us 100 AED for every hour he had to wait to bring us back! This was supposed to be a 3 hour dinner/show! It seemed like we got a different person every time we called the concierge and we never got very much accomplished.

Overall, we got a good rate for this hotel, but I would not stay here expecting good service. The room was nice enough and it is convenient to the airport (Which we needed with out very early AM flight), but one night was all it was worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ageveret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very disappointed to read that despite you finding the hotel 5 star; overall you found the service disappointing.

After investigating with the team it seems that a lack of internal communication was the cause of the confusion upon arrival. We have spoken to all those involved to ensure that this does not happen again - thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

With regard to concierge this was purely human error and again those involved have been dealt with.

I sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience that you faced and I would like to re-assure you this is not the usual standard of the hotel.

If do allow us the opportunity of a repeat visit may I ask that you contact me directly when making the booking; so that I can personally take care of the reservation details.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This Raffles hotel offers fantastic level of service and confort. From outside the hotel looks a bit fake but everything is perfect inside. The lobby is really beautiful like most of common areas. The "standard" Signature room is absolutely perfect, very large with a very confortable bed and a balcony. The service was great throughout the stay from check in, in room service, pool, meeting area. A great place and great name of worldwide hotel industry!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X-O75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted that you found the hotel to offer great service and that overall everything was perfect.

Furthermore, it was pleasing to read that you found the Signature Room a good size with a comfortable bed and balcony.

Thank you for recommending Raffles Dubai, we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Well organised event, lots of thought went into the food and setting, the whole family enjoyed the day. Congratulations to Leanne and the team at Raffles.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that you had enjoyed our special Raffles Roast - Diamond Edition, in honour of the 60 year reign of Her Majesty the Queen of England.

We have received some fabulous feedback from all those that attended who agreed with you that the team involved put a lot of thought into making the Jubilee street party very special.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for more events at Raffles Dubai.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We've been there in March 2012. We were upgraded to a suite, which was just… enormous. The pool was nice, the breakfast very good.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that you had enjoyed your suite and that you found the pool and breakfast very good.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed here in April while attending the World Congress of Cardiology and was very impressed with the hotel. The two most important features for me were the incredibly friendly, professional and helpful staff and the immaculate large room with every conceivable amenity. There is so much choice in hotels and I am sure there are many excellent hotels in Dubai but one would find it hard to beat this establishment. Well done and continue to concentrate on maintaining such high levels of service and staff rapport - its probably one of the hardest goals to achieve and is much sought after by guests whether they on business or pleasure. I am revisiting Dubai for a weekend of work in a week and have been booked for a night in another hotel - it will be interesting to compare - I hope it can match these high standards. Thank you

Room Tip: If you are lucky you may be upgraded - they have some spectacular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsabusylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

It was pleasing to read that you found to hotel great and that you found the staff friendly, professional and helpful.

Furthermore, I am glad your hotel room had all the amenities needed to ensure you had a comfortable stay.

Thank you for recommending Raffles Dubai.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Rooms are huge but decor seems cheap. I felt that throughout the hotel - its a dated attempt at opulent design. Comfort level is passing grade.

Location is a bit off as well, by Wafi, closer to Downtown but far far away from Marina/Palm. In mall obsessed Dubai, the much older Wafi is not the same league as the newer Dubai Mall, or Emirates Mall.

If you are driving and miss the exit off the highway - good luck! You'll drive around endlessly to make your way back. Very difficult entrance. Although, can't blame the hotel. Dubai's ridiculous design ensures you drive round and around without reaching your destination - literally & philosophically!!

Dined room service and food quality was passing grade only - nothing special.

Was told upon check-in that breakfast inclusive rate meant i could eat in-room, but was charged upon checkout. When discussed the extra charge, was told that I was wrong. One out of two nights was adjusted.

Absolutely nothing about this hotel compels me to go back. First and last stay.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesDubai, General Manager at Raffles Dubai, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We were disappointed to read that you left the hotel not wishing to return - this is certainly not the impression we wish our residents to have.

With regard to breakfast if a club room was booked then you may dine either in the club lounge or in Azur restaurant - our sincere apologies if this was not explained clearly to you.

Please let us assure you that all feedback, whether positive or negative is used to enhance our service standards and procedures.

In thanking you again, we do hope that you had a smooth journey home.

Sincerely yours,

Peter French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Atlantis, The Palm
#90 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,434 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#24 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
The Address Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Dubai

Property: Raffles Dubai
Address: Sheikh Rashid Road | Wafi, Dubai 121800, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#1 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#1 Business Hotel in Dubai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#4 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning landmark hotel in a distinctive pyramid shape merges Asian style with an Egyptian aesthetic. Ideally located in the city center with a shopping adventure lies around the corner as Raffles Dubai adjoins Wafi mall, one of Dubai's most exclusive shopping and leisure destinations, home to hundreds of boutiques offering an extensive selection of international haute couture, jewelries and gifts in addition to nearby authentic souks, including the impressive Khan Murjan, offering traditional crafts by artisans from the region. Featuring 252 luxurious rooms and suites, this award-winning Dubai hotel offers some of the most spacious rooms in the city, each with generously-sized private balconies. Brilliant contemporary interiors, faultless service and 7 superb restaurants and bars offering an extensive array of dining, entertainment and clubbing options, while Raffles Spa beckons with a pampering menu to emerge transformed, like a lotus that journey from bud to the radiance of full bloom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Raffles Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Dubai Hotel Dubai
Raffles Hotel Dubai
Dubai Raffles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing