We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent service, good location, amazing hotel with amazing view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palace Downtown Dubai
Ranked #15 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent service, good location, amazing hotel with amazing view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

First I have to thank Effetie (i might spell her name wrong, but she does have a very special name :)), she checked-in us and made our stay in The Palace unforgettable.
My husband and I was there for honeymoon. Even tough we did not advise them in advance, they are extremely considerate and very well decorated our room during the turn down service.
Service was super nice, breakfast was even better! Verity of choices, good taste, server was warm welcoming you and friendly.
My husband and I is difinitely impress by the over all hotel design and also enjoy the night view in The Palace very much! We had a great time with The Palace and will difinitely go back if we have the chance to visit Dubai again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maomaowh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear MaoMao,

We are happy to know that you had a great time during your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a pleasant stay with us. We are committed to provide our guests with the best service and we are happy to hear that our team members could contribute to make your stay with us an amazing experience.

We would like to thank you again for your kind review on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    323
    85
    53
    30
See reviews for
468
1,058
121
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a superb hotel In Dubai in the heart of the business bay area with unmatched location and walking access to the Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa etc. The hotel has a resort feel with greenery and lovely views of the fountains and the Burj. The service, food etc are also excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adityapittie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
The feedback we receive direct from our guests is the most valuable. Thank you for sharing this with us. In behalf of the entire team here at the Palace Hotel we all look forward to being given the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I booked online and knew about adding the extra 20% for the taxes. What I didn't know was that the rate for the second night was $50 more. They said it was a season change. I had a lake view room, including breakfast. The room was a nice size, king bed and all the expected amenities for a $400/night room. The staff was very nice and helpful. It's an easy walk to the Dubai Mall and Burg Kalafia. We bought tickets online to go to the top. It wasnt clear enough to see the pretty water, but it was interesting. Wifi is free, it's not free at the big name hotels. The buffet breakfast is fabulous and served poolside, if desired. We had dinner at the souk next door and it was delicious lamb. We took The Big Bus Tour from the entrance to the mall. We got a late start and didn't have time to finish it. I wish we had known about it sooner. My fault for not doing enough research. All in all, we liked the size of the hotel and the nightly water fountain show at 6:30 & 7pm is a must see.
We were on our way to Kathmandu and Bhutan and stopped in Dubai to rest after our long flight. We're glad we came.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
The feedback we receive from our guests is the most valuable. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. In behalf of the entire team here at the Palace Hotel we all look forward to being given the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingooigem Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent hotel , very wel situated . You can walk around the lake , having dinner and shopping whitout taking a taxi . Service in the hotel is outstanding . Hotel is never crowded , a typical boutique hotel an a lot of locals too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king size bed, they have a better view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v0lv0s60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Volvo,

Thank you for taking time in sharing yor experience with us. We are glad that you found our hotel location convenient and our services outstanding. It inspires us to continue providing excellent services to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmelen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Palace The Old Town for 8 nights and had a great time. Room was ready when we arrived at 10.00 am in the morning. First we were offered a room with two twin beds but when we asked for a room with a kingsize bed this was arranged immediately. From our room we had a great view at the lake and part of the fountains. Breakfast was very extensive with all kinds of choices. Great service and ambiance. Possibility to eat outside with a view on Burj Khalifa. Swimming pool is nice. Not too large, but perfect to cool down and relax. Location is just great. When you leave the hotel restaurants are within walking distance, so is Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. The fountain show is amazing and atmosphere is fantastic with lots of people around enjoying their time. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petas369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
The feedback we receive from our guests is the most valuable. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. In behalf of the entire team here at the Palace Hotel we all look forward to being given the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle/upon-tyne-england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed for one night, checked in an hour early, and my room was ready. Lunch on the terrace excellent, Food in the Argentinian restaurant superb.
A lovely aspect from the poolside.Poolside service not great during the day, I waited 20mins for iced coffee and water, I am still waiting for the water !
Evening poolside drinks sevice very efficent.
Spa experience very good.
Will definatley stay again, more homely than the other Address hotels in Dubai, not as bling.!!
Got a late check out too.

Room Tip: If you dont want to pay hotel prices for breakfast, the souk 1 min walk away has a good variety of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanb015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
The feedback we receive from our guests is the most valuable. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. In behalf of the entire team here at the Palace Hotel we all look forward to being given the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian living in Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our family stayed at The Palace during our vacation break and we stayed in a suite. Not meant to be a brag, more to give further context to what I considered to be poor service given the expense of the room.

Arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by a stunning series of pools ending at the entrance to the hotel. Very, very lovely. We were ushered into chairs, someone took our passports and disappeared. No offer of drinks or anything else. All in all it took about 10 minutes, not horrible, but not great either.

The room was lovely. Nice size living room and bedroom. Stunning view of the lake but we didn't see as much of the fountain as we thought we would. It really is a beautiful property though.

The bed was heaven to me (soft and comfy) but my wife thought it too soft and it bothered her back. Pillows were soft and comfy (to me). They offered other pillows if you found the ones provided lacking. My daughter asked me to mention that her cot and pillows were of low quality.

The bathroom was a good size and the shower had good pressure.

The breakfast buffet was of good quality. Good variety to suit different cultures. Service was good and the view was exceptional on the outside terrace. Be aware of the flies and birds though.

We had the concierge book us a dinner at a local restaurant. We asked for an outside table with a view of the fountains. We got an indoor table with a view of the wall. When my wife said something to the concierge later the next day they said that her husband (me) said it was okay. Total fabrication. I would have said something to the management about that exchange however I didn't hear about this until I started writing this review.

Excellent, excellent location. Two minute walk to Dubai mall, Souk, Burj Khalifa. Extensive amount of restaurants, cafes, and shops. There is a Spinney's in Souk Al Bahar for snacks.

I would definitely stay in the hotel again, for the view and location. But it's not a 5 star until they figure out the exceptional service part.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Douglas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologize on behalf of our team on the issues you encountered during your stay. These issues have been addressed and the proper corrective actions have been put in place. We are always grateful for all forms of feedback from our guests as it will help us to improve our levels of service. Furthermore, please be assured that I will also be sharing your admirable comments with all our associates.


On behalf of the entire team at The Palace Hotel, we all look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Taj Dubai
#10 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 544 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#30 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown Dubai
#26 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#23 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Property: The Palace Downtown Dubai
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing