We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Al Barsha
Ranked #315 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
302 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, decent location”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Compared to many other hotels in Dubai, this one is average. There are no sparkling fountains or mile long buffets, but it has clean rooms and is very close to the Mall of the Emirates making it a good location in the middle of Dubai. As others have said, it is a bit difficult to find, but ask and you'll get there eventually. Staff is also average. It's a decent hotel in a decent area and a lot cheaper than some of the better places, but still clean and comfortable. Breakfast is pretty good too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    74
    66
    21
    16
See reviews for
34
47
31
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panchkula, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel golden Tulip Al barsha is a decent hotel located near Mall opf Emirates, dont get confused with the main Golden Tulip which is very well known, people are not realy aware of the location of this newly renovated hotel and finding your way back is slight issue. The rooms are very nice and well stocked,the buffet is great and the staff freindly,the hotel caters to all your needs. The restaurent is very expensive,so dine outside. Also remember to buy lot of water if your going in the summers from the nearest convenience store. Over all a very nice property and experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhimanyucheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

great hotel accomodation ,was upgraded to a suite on arrival .
not in a very good possition but only 10 min walk to mall of emerates and only 5mins from metro .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dun
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice hotel with clean rooms ,which are of decent size.
There is a nice buffet breakfast with one of the best coffee's I have had.
Location is great you are bang in the middle of dubai not far from the new part that is the marina,autodrome etc and of course not far from Bur Dubai and Old Dubai.
To top it ,it is barely 150-200mts from the Metro staion and Mall of the Emirates is barely 500 mts away.
The area around the hotel also nice little dai;y need shops.
There is a small pool on the roof , nothing much but cools you,gym is not big but decent enough for a quick workout.
The staff is helpful and checkin was quick.
would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sameer452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Nice hotel for staying while on business. Clean rooms, nothing fancy, very quiet. The real advantage is the location. 200 meters to the Sharaf DG Metro station. The small restaurants at street level are from OK to great. Turkish, Egyptian, Lebanese, Indian and more restaurants are within a 10 min walk. You can have a feast for AED 20 to 30. 15 minute walk to Mall of the Emirates, but take the Metro in the summer months.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldstyle_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

we usually stay at one of the higher market chain hotels in dubai but decided to try to budget this time as we were also travelling to another part of the middle east. however we did find that the £300 we paid for three nights (inc of 20% taxes ,exc breakfast etc) rather too high for the quality of the hotel.it is an old hotel with smallish rooms and a small pool (not enough sun loungers while we were there). although this didnt matter to us too much as we were only on a short visit to see family in dubai, i could see it posing a problem to those guests who were on holidays ( the hotel also seems to cater to package holiday operators). the hotel is kept clean though i will point out that the bed throw was due for a clean! (it was stained). the duvet cover, sheets and pillow cases etc and bathroom were very clean. the carpet seems old and i did find the room a bit smelly ( cigarettes?) when i first entered the room. however this soon disappeared once we were settled in and had air con on. the staff were very pleasant, polite and helpful. the hotel is in a good location for the metro and the mall and also there are supermarkets and plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.i probably wouldnt stay here again (well not at £100 per night without breakfast) but would recommend if the hotel was offered or found at a discounted price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldChezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I recently returned from a working trip to Dubai where I spent 7 nights at the Golden Tulip Al Barsha.

Upon entry, the lobby and lobby lounge are very tidy and well presented. The staff behind the counter were friendly, spoke english well and I was in to my room in about 10 minutes.

I stayed up on the 5th floor in a standard room, the 5th is a no smoking floor which was good (I advise this to be requested). The room was well presented. A king size bed, bed site table on either side, reading lamps and light switches for the whole room. There was a desk (with a large mirror behind it) and a chair. The desk has a glass top, so if you are using a computer like I was, take a mouse pad. There was a 32 inch TV mounted on the wall and below was a unit with a small fridge inside it and mini bar snacks and tea/coffee on top. There was also two reading chairs and a small coffee table to sit at. The bathroom was large enough, with a huge mirror, a fold out mirror from the wall, and a combo shower-bath. Beside the bed is a wardrobe with probably half a dozen coathangers and a safe.

The room was cleaned everyday, the bed made and fresh towels etc. One night, I'm not sure why, but I also recieved a small plate of strange pastry cake things and some dates. The air conditioning worked perfectly, some times I was even too cold - especially in the lobby. The only complaints I have about the air conditioning, is that in the hallways on level 5 (Not sure about the other levels), but there was a smell I can only descripe as "damp", and it is a little noisy, but I slept fine. Another thing, there is a construction site next door, so if you are a light sleeper, the banging of work tools might keep you awake if you plan to sleep during the day.

There are a few other hotel facillities too. There is a rooftop pool and gym, I checked it out but never swam, it looked nice, might get a little crowded in the hotter months. Only level 1 there is a sports bar with pool tables and tv's showing... sport. On level 1 there is also a Korean Restraunt, again I can't comment because I never ate there, and If i'm right, the restraunt is seperate to the hotel, so you can't book the meals to your room number, same goes for the night club down on the ground level. Im not so sure about the position of the nightclub, possibly suited better somewhere else, as when the door is open it fills the lobby and lounge with loud music, just seemed a bit tacky. And last, there is a restraunt on the bottom floor. This is the hotel restraunt and meals can be booked to your room, as well as everything can be ordered on room service.

Because I was working over there, I didnt have a lot of time to get out and find a restraunt and quite often it was after midnight when I got back. The food was nice, the staff were friendly and the place is well presented and kept clean. As for the price, I will leave you to be the judge but you would be looking at meals at about 35 aed up to 80 aed for a seafood meal, and if I remember right, 25 aed for a heniken. Amongst food I had I had butter chicken, tikka roll, beef burger. No complaints. My advice would be to eat before midnight, as after midnight they go to their "night" menu, which consists of chicken/beef burger, fish and chips, and I cant remember the rest, but there's only 3 or 4 mains along with soups and deserts.

There is also a buffet breakfast. Changed a little each day, hadfood like fresh fruit, toast, breads, baked beans, beef/chicken sausages, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, turkey bacon, baked potatoes, hash browns, ham, toasted sandwiches. It was nice but I will admit it was a bit bland after a week.

The area the hotel is in is about a 30aed cab ride from the dubai mall, 40 aed to the dubai marina, almost walking distance to the mall of the emirates (just get a cab - they're so cheap), walking distance to a metro station. At the end of the street is a supermarket style store, with everything you'll need. There are also a couple of fast food outlets in the street, a couple of curry restraunts and also a couple of milk-bar style shops. Im led to believe (by taxi drivers) that there are two golden tulips in Al Barsha, so make sure you take note of the street name or take the little map that comes with your room key. I just started directing cabs to hotel "Cassells" because its at the end of the street and walking 100m.

My only real complaint would have to be the price of the internet. It is wired and if I remember right, something like 400 aed for 7 days.

All in all my stay was pleasing, I think the room was 360 aed a night which is reasonable. I would stay here again. Thanks

Room Tip: Keep away from the smoking floors. Try for level 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank josh-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 km away
Pride Hotel Apartments
Pride Hotel Apartments
#307 of 545 in Dubai
104 reviews
0.0 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Dubai
0.1 km away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#249 of 545 in Dubai
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Donatello Hotel
Donatello Hotel
#233 of 545 in Dubai
220 reviews
0.3 km away
Rose Garden Hotel Apartments - Al Barsha
0.3 km away
Al Khoory Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Al Barsha

Property: Golden Tulip Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha 1 | Next to Sharaf DG Metro Station PO BOX 125962, Dubai 125962, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#244 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Al Barsha 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 125 room hotel with 10 Deluxe rooms and 10 Flamingo Suites(One bedroom suite) is located in the up coming Al Barsha area of Dubai, just off the Sheikh Zayed road and few steps from the “Mall Of The Emirates”, 10 minutes drive from the “Madinat Jumeirah” and “Ibn Batuta Mall”. With its stylish interior design concept and décor the Golden Tulip Al Barsha adds up another milestone in quality four star deluxe hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Al Barsha Hotel Dubai
Golden Tulip Dubai
Dubai Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing