We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
103
56
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
56
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central heating the owner lovely hotel excellent location juice few blocks comfort terrace bolivia wifi relaxation cathedral furniture roof
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 174 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

We had a very good experience at this hotel. We found the service to be fine, we were helped with our luggage, and always found the staff to be very polite and helpful. The room was spacious, and the views from the upstairs terrace were fantastic. Breakfast was very good also and they even specially cooked gluten free pancakes!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Roselilyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

This is a convenient hotel in central Sucre. All the tourist sites are within walking distance. The standard of the rooms were adequate and the building itself is nice. However the service leaves a lot to be desired.

I arrived with a very heavy bag. There was no elevator, so I was struggling with it. To my surprise, the young gentleman who showed me the room just looked at me and did not bother to offer any help. I found this very unprofessional. Also, upon checking out, the receptionist wanted us to pay VAT for the room, even though foreigners are exempt from paying VAT for hotel accommodation in Bolivia. We had to show them a website from the government indicating that VAT was not applicable to us and then had to talk to the owner to avoid paying that tax. Kind of annoying....

Overall it is not a bad place, but their personnel need to get at least some basic training in customer service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molincom, Propietario at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for your opinion. We honestly apoligize for the treatment by the recepcionist and certainly will take measure to avoid this in the future. We are happy you enjoyed the installation and location of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Tourists staying in Bolivia for less than 30 days are exempt from paying the 13% IVA lodging tax. This hotel charges tourists the 13% tax, even though these guests are exempt. It’s a shame the hotel undertakes this unfair billing practice, because the setting and location was nice, as was the breakfast.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank WanderlusTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molincom, Propietario at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear guest, thanks for apreciating the setting and location of the hotel, as well as our services. Regarding the tax exemption, I think you use an inappropiate term. We have equal prices for national and foreign visitors, the price indicated in the reservation is the price you pay and where ever possible/relevant we are totally transparent on it. There is no Bolivian law that states that foreign tourists pay 13 % less than national tourists, on the opposite there is a policy intention saying that the government promotes price difference in benefit of Bolivian tourists to encourage them to travel and know there own country. That is our motivation for applying equality in price, at least. I don´t know what is unethical about this? And I like to repeat: we are totally transparent about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Location and building itself are not too bad but does not have an elevator and most beds are sofa beds. Located on a busy loud street with street noise.

Manager/owner is mean, lies a lot and likes to advantage of innocent travelers. For example she disrespects our reservation after we've paid in full, and on the day we check out refused to store our luggage till later in the day without a ridiculous extra charge. (Unheard of in the thousands of places we've stayed at around the world!) Totally rude and unprofessional. A total waste of money, we ended up moving somewhere just a couple blocks away, which is way cheaper and way nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FunTravelersFromVanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molincom, Propietario at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2018

Dear client, Your review needs a clarification. Our hotel has only 3 floors, including ground floor and we had availability on the ground floor if walking up two stairs would have been a problem for you. Our beds are of very good quality as you can see in other reviews. You didn´t want our triple room, which is on the ground floor, in between the patio and the garden, but preferred a double room with additional sofa cama for the three people in your group, so we were flexible, although the room was already booked for the extra day you required later. You stayed the two nights you booked, so I don´t understand the disrespect of your reservation.
Several people called the hotel an oasis in Sucre, exactly because inside the hotel you don´t feel your in the middle of a (colonial) city center, due to the thick adobe walls, the vegetation in the patio and garden, and because the traffic in the street is going downwards, not making a lot of noise.
Respects needs to come from both sides, and we can´t expose our staff to any threat, including to put this kind of review in Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found a better in Sucre, according to your criteria, which confirms that Sucre is good place to be, with a variety of services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

+ huge rooms
+ Nice pepple
+ Very clean
+ Nice looking builing
+ Very good breakfast
+ Good location
+ Sun terras
+ Good beds
+ Shower unlimited

- unreliable wifi
- Deserted in november
- Gym is neglected
- Sauna is not free

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank MrNapkinHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews