We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One month of "let's stay longer"”

Open Spanish School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open Spanish Lesson provides high quality instruction for students of all levels and ages. Our goal is to create an optimal learning environment allowing our students to learn and fully enjoy their experience. All of our instruction is private one-to-one lessons with tailor-made curriculum to meet the needs of each student. Teaching is balanced between the areas of writing, reading, and grammar
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

Three of us travelling together had heard about Open Spanish prior to arriving in Sucre, and with no prior experience in Spanish, we wanted to make the most of our time. Gonzalo was great with communication up to our arrival, and he let us book the dorm room and private bathroom upstairs (the reason we chose Open Spanish) as well as four hour lessons, five days a week, for four weeks. David, our teacher, was very patient and we felt challenged but never too much to make us not want to return. Oh yeah, and we can also now speak Spanish. I played football with the teachers and a few other students during the second week, and Gonzalo and the other teachers were always around for a chat, which was great practise. We felt right at home, so much so that Gonzalo would knock before entering to ask if we needed anything (toilet paper, rubbish bags, matches etc). There was a public holiday and a day or two where our teacher took leave, which Gonzalo was more than flexible to make up for by changing a class to a weekend and offering new teachers, a true sign that he and the team really have your best interests at heart. The whole crew at Open Spanish were great and if we ever return to Sucre we will be calling in to say Hola (and to get more cuñapes from the bakery next door).

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank AitkenSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spanish school"
in 32 reviews
"per day"
in 8 reviews
"my girlfriend"
in 8 reviews
"spent days"
in 6 reviews
"half weeks"
in 3 reviews
"muchas gracias"
in 6 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 5 reviews
"travels in south america"
in 3 reviews
"improved dramatically"
in 2 reviews
"having conversations"
in 2 reviews
"coffee tea"
in 2 reviews
"excellent teachers"
in 4 reviews
"football match"
in 2 reviews
"great environment"
in 3 reviews
"stayed longer"
in 3 reviews
"home stay"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

We were really disappointed with Open Spanish. We'd heard good reviews & were so keen. The teachers were actually great, but the organisation was shocking.. twice we had booked lessons in advance and rocked up and there was no one to teach us so we were turned away. When you only have a short time and want to make the most of learning Spanish in Sucre I would not recommend going here just in case this happens to you and you waste your time.. we had to quickly go somewhere else but because it was late we could only get lessons the next day - so it wastes a whole day.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Samatravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

I spent about 2 weeks in Sucre learning Spanish here with Noelia who is an AMAZING teacher. We had 4 hours lesson each day and she made sure I'm learning as much as I can and want to. She's very patient and really lovely to be with. The negative I have is the lack of activities to help the students practice the language and the lack of clear organisation.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank FongYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

I did classes with Noelia for 7 days and Shirley for 1 day, and I would highly recommend them both. Excellent teachers who have had lots of patience with me and taught me a lot. Thanks girls

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

We had 5 days of lessons with open Spanish during our stay in Sucre. Gonzalo the owner was really friendly and helpful. He was quick to reply to us and help us plan what lessons would best meet our needs. We opted for semi-private lessons (2:1) which were really good value for money. Noelia our teacher was amazing, she custom made our lessons to fit the level of knowledge and the traveling based vocab that we needed to learn most. She was not only knowledgeable about languages but she taught us lots about Bolivian history and culture, a great teacher! The whole team at Open Spanish were great from start to finish and we cannot recommend them highly enough!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Vacationer527188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open Spanish School also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Open Spanish School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing