We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is a truly mesmerising hotel. Every image that catches the eye is so soothing and beautiful. You feel you don't want to miss the slightest detail. Exploring every corner is a must, starting from the private museum at the vault to the mirador at the top floor with nice city views.
The location couldn't be better, the staff was realy helpful and the manager so polite and friendly. The rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated.
This hotel is so amazing and such good value for money. Surely the best in Sucre and one of the best historic - building hotels we have ever stayed at.
What is really puzzling are some previous reviews which give the impression that they have visited another hotel. It is impossible to find everything wrong and have stayed at that same hotel.
The "Parador Santa Maria La Real" is a hotel that should not be missed. A colonial jewel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lion1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

The hotel is amazing when you arrived there.
this hotel is more look like a group hotel. We wait for the room 2 hours.
The rooms facilities are really outdated.
The room is noisy, the heater as well.
The bathrooms was in very bad shape.
The bkk is average.

Good cleaning and room service option are positive.

The receptionist booked me a taxi to the Dino park on the day the place was close, none of the concierge realised the fact the place was closed.
My wife forgot some clothes and no message from the hotel to find a way to send them to us.

Room Tip: book the big room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregboston9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

At checkout we were incorrectly charged tax. We had to come back 4 times to find a time when the manager was there. On the 4th time we were there for 1 hour arguing we didn't need to pay the tax. Eventually we were refunded our tax. Another couple was also checking out and arguing the same. Jacuzzi was extra cost and empty (so we didn't even bother trying to use).
Gym only had treadmills and cross trainers. No weights, mats or water provided.
On the plus side great views, lovely building and good size room. Showers always had hot water. Good breakfast (first hotel with natural yogurt, not sweetened). Good Wi-Fi everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We arrived just after midnight exhausted after spending three days in the salt planes and deserts around Uyuni. We had booked our room, through booking.com, some 6 hours earlier. Though unspectacular from the outside, upon entering we found the hotel to be an absolute delight. Though complete with all modern amenities (from spa, to gym, to lounge, to free Wi-Fi, to drinks terrace) the hotel has been beautifully refurbished with antique furniture throughout and, complete with courtyard, has lost none of its colonial charm. The rooms are clean and well appointed, and the the staff and proprietor utterly charming. In terms of value for money I have experienced none better!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much, your opinion is very important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Its a nice old hotel, colonial style. Best place to stay in Sucre. They dont speak much englisch though. We had a very nice view from our room. The room was clean. The staff was very friendly. I would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seechzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel initially was three house owned by three different men. Later on the present owner bought the three of them and connected them, making the hotel. Since it was made of three houses, you can see a colonial and French style of architecture. The hotel is very fun to explore, since it is like a maze. All of the rooms are different and there are pieces of original furniture from the colonial times all round the hotel. There are two observation decks from which at night you can see the stars. There is also a museum on the subterranean where more colonial pieces are displayed. The hotel is also really well located, since it is about two blocks from the plaza 25 de Mayo, where there is a church and many museums.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nathalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 July 2017

Thank you, your opinion is very important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

My husband, two teenaged children and I spent 9 days at the Parador for a conference. We stayed in room 300, which was perfect for a family-- two rooms separated by a door with a king bed for us and two twin beds for the kids. Beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was modern and up to date. Service was at a luxury level as we had new sheets every few days and fresh towels each day. Every day for the first few days we found new and wonderful spots to enjoy. Our room was on the third floor, and from there we could climb the 'mirador' to drink in the views of Sucre. Other days, we explored and found a gorgeous spa area-- with both an indoor and outdoor whirlpool-- that had new and different views. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel each day. The food was spectacular... sumptuous breakfast spread each morning and delicious steaks, chicken and soups for dinner. The entire hotel is beautifully outfitted with antiques, lush plants, and gorgeous colors. The staff is immensely helpful and friendly. A stay at the Parador will feel like a trip to another time and place. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole_826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 km away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
160 reviews
0.7 km away
San Marino Royal Hotel
San Marino Royal Hotel
#10 of 18 in Sucre
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
119 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#14 of 18 in Sucre
51 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Boutique La Posada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Santa Maria la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Santa Maria la Real

Address: Bolivar 625, Sucre 00000, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: $85 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Santa Maria la Real 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parador Santa Maria La Real, which occupies a colonial building style of the eighteenth century offers elegant rooms with private balconies just 1 block from Plaza 25 de Mayo. Spa facilities and fitness center. Rooms at the Santa Maria La Real have four poster beds and elegant wooden furniture. All rooms have large windows and minibar, and some are in the ancient underground corridors. Wi-Fi is available. A breakfast buffet with fresh juices, breads, yogurt and eggs is served daily. It can be served in rooms on request. The 24-hour front desk can secure shuttles to Azurduy Juana de Padilla Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador Santa Maria la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Santa Maria La Real Hotel Sucre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing