We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pool Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Pool Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We chose an "executive king" room. We got a very good deal on the hotels web-site (under "on-line deals"). The pool area is very large and very nice. Along with the large pool, there is a sauna, jacuzzi and fitness center. The pool was warm :) The room was spacious. While we were not staying at the hotel as "executives", we loved the "executive" area. You need an additional key to enter the area. The wine and appetizers were good. Not really fancy (crackers, cheese, veggies, warm mushroom puffs). The continental breakfast consisted of hot oatmeal, cereal, juice, bagels, pastries - your basic hotel breakfast. Again, not fancy, but worth the small additional cost. The floor was very quiet and the eating area had nice couches, tables, and tv's. Front desk staff were ok, one woman was very friendly (she was helping someone else when we walked in). Another woman came out to help us, she was not very friendly. She was efficient, but not friendly. We did not try the hotel restaurant but have been to banquets @ this hotel before and always enjoy the food. The location is great, close to downtown Ann Arbor. They have a nice coffee bar in the lobby in the morning. We will definitely go back again for another stay-cation!!!

Room Tip: Rooms either look at the expressway on the south side, or the parking lot/mall on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pair-of-bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    117
    65
    39
    20
See reviews for
149
75
22
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

good access to football transportation. friendly staff. older building however well maintained

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

clean rooms comy bed and a great staff make a great stay i'd stay here again
checked in with 10 passengers from spain and everything was just wonderful
also its across from a mall so got some shopping in

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prevostpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We attended a Michigan football game and this hotel was part of the package. I have to admit I wasn't expecting much. The reviews on Trip Advisor left me wondering.

The Kensington Court was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful; they have a business center and a nice restaurant. Our package included the buffet breakfast, which was good one morning and cold the next. We had dinner at Graham's one evening and it was superb. The bar, and bar staff, was friendly and welcoming.

The hotel does have some deferred maintenance and could use a little elbow grease in some of the public areas. It looks like a local destination for weddings and receptions and was certainly well equipped to handle that.

All in all it was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I went there to stay for a pediatric board review course, September 2011. First the hotel does what its supposed to do, provide a bed and shower adequately. Great location. What wasn't great was

#1. No continental breakfast included. Which wasn't a big deal since my course provided breakfast and lunch.

#2. They claim to have free wi fi. Yes its there but it doesn't work. Anywhere. Not in your rooms, or the conference center, or in the gym area. I could connect, get to yahoo and then it immediately would kick me off. My netflix app wouldn't even connect. This happened repeatedly; as well as to all of the other people staying there.

#3. This is the most annoying. Their hotel is based on a a two part heating/cooling system. Summer and winter. Which means you have no control over when you want heat or air conditioning. So paying over 100$ a night does not include your own climate control. It happened to have switched to cooler temps when I was there and they changed over to their winter system. Which meant my room was warm and even turning the temp all the way down did nothing. So I had to have the engineer come to the room, unbolt the window (with no screen on it) and leave that open for the next two days. Needless to say we found some extra roommates a few times-spiders.

#4. Ok this is kinda weird. The day before we left I dropped something by my bed and reached down. I felt and then saw an odd 'toy'? I don't know what it was, it was black and rubber and kids toy? Adult toy? Who cares I threw it away and then looked under the bed for more scares thinking ok this could've been overlooked if it was all the way under blah blah. But the bed has some sort of wooden block under it so nothing can get underneath. Then the next day I found a mans sock on the other side of the bed. Um, we'd been there a week already and it was just me and my friend who was a girl. So I was thoroughly grossed out and ready to leave at that point. Plus they don't change the sheets daily. I know not all hotels do and that really isn't a big deal to me. But thought you should know in case you care.

Needless to say if my course hadn't been held there I wouldn't have stayed. And yes I did call around to literally every hotel in the area before I went, they were all booked because of the football games and kensington court had reserved a block of rooms for my course. I hoped for the best.

I do not recommend this hotel. If you can stay anywhere else I would. There are maybe 8 other hotels in the same area so choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elledis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Ok, firstly upon arrival the outside is in need of dire renovation- ESP painting, which they seem to be addressing. First entry to lobby, very eclectic decor, and an odd smell- like a hall after old people who drink and smoke. Generally clean with exception to ducts which were full of dust. People at desk were semi friendly.
If you up grade to 3rd floor secluded area, you get fridge, a common meeting place w free wine and finger food between 18:00 and 19:00. Unfortunately, they don't feel it important to keep it well stocked, you have to call them and they seemed pestered.
Room, shower area nice and water flow perfect, size adequate but not so small midgets would only fit. NO COUNTER SPACE. Toilet really old and flushes poorly but works. Bed- don't expect anything fancy- I like firm but not soft and think it was acceptable but not a good standard. Pillows sucked. Carpet seemed clean and furnishings old and eclectic. Fridge nice size, tv w weak reception.

Overall: more average than poor but would look at the big chains nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwillnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Kensington Court on business and after reading some reviews were a bit concerned. However, we were delighted with the courteousness of the staff, the lovely facilities and the charming atmosphere of the place. The bed was comfy and the room recently updated, but mostly we appreciated the special ambience of the place - we travel a lot and this is not your typical, predictable chain. The artwork, dark wood trim and lovely decor in the lobby and common areas sets a special tone. Meals at Grahams restaurant are especially delicious and reasonably priced, and the pool, spa, sauna, exercise room area is really very special and something you don't see on such a grand scale anymore. Two thumbs way up for the Kensington!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.2 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
6.6 km away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
4.8 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1632 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing