We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“better than most” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“better than most”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

great location! better than normal room with wifi. easy access to lots of other hotels and the university area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    56
    46
    20
    17
See reviews for
60
30
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

#1 - no elevator, STEEP STAIRWAYS, high railings
#2 - no/very,very few king rooms on first level. and they won't change your room type if you have trouble climbing steps. If I wanted to wait an extra 2-3 hours, she thought she might be able to give me the one single king-bed on the first level, only there because it is a wheelchair/handicapped room
#3 - two vending areas, both only on ground level. the one closest to my second floor room did not have a functioning ice maker/dispenser
#4 - very few outlets and those they do have make a loose connection with Standard plugs, there are no plug-ins on one whole side of the bed area
#5 - the "pul-out" desk area is not on rollers or anything, so it's a real chore to open the desk to utilize it for working on a computer. You have to push it back in for the night because there is <2ft of clearance from the desk/dresser to the foot of the bed "before" you pull out the desk.
#6 - the "new" design has very tiny, little nightstands hanging from the wall. If you use a sleep apnea machine, you can only plu it in on one side of the bed area and must move either the phone or the alarm clock in order to fit it on the mini shelf
#7 - a packet of shampoo???
#8 - very limited cable
#9 - very poorly maintained. They have one of the stairs taped. there are huge chunks of concrete missing from the overhang of the corridor above
#10 - the bathroom door won't stay open - I frequent the bathroom mujltiple times during the night and do night appreciate having to fight the bathroom door to get to the toilet. I used a towel to prop the door open.
I have been to Ann Arbor quite a few times and have stayed at many hotels in the $60-100 price range. this is by far the worst I've been to in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here while visiting Ann Arbor to help our daughter move. There were 3 of us staying in the room which was fine except that the sink and bathroom area (other than the toilet and shower) were in the same room as our beds. So if anyone needed to wash their hands, etc. everyone could hear and see them. The maid forgot to clean our room after our first day there nor did she leave any clean towels, etc. The management staff was very nice and apologetic, but we still were without clean towels. The free breakfast was not even worth eating - we paid to eat at a restaurant.

Room Tip: Would not go out of my way to stay there unless there are no other rooms available in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Maggie, with an attitude like yours you should be fired!

This was our second stay at this place and will likely be our last.

MIS Speedway is about 35 miles away so we have stayed there during NASCAR weekends and have also stayed at the Hampton Inn next-door. Even being 35 miles from the track these properties like to stick it to you price-wise, where a room that is worth $60 a night goes for $130.

I had a question that I wanted to talk to the General Manager, "Maggie", about. So I called and asked who the G.M. was and if I could speak to her. The girl who answered the phone was trying to help me but it really was the G.M. that I needed to talk to, so she went and got her. Maggie came to the phone with an attitude right off the bat and it continued throughout the entire conversation: Rude, Short, Demeaning, Unprofessional, etc. This is how you treat a paying customer???!!!

Aside from that, the other issue was the number of items in the room that were either loose, broken or dirty.

Do yourself (and me) a favor: Don't support this place and put any money into Maggie's paycheck. Stay at the Hampton instead. Maybe her bosses can be rude to her and show her the door when business tanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

There were three of us staying in the room. The toilet and shower are in one room while the sink area is in the main bedroom area. So if someone is brushing their tooth, anyone who wants to try to sleep cannot. Our stay was for two nights. While the room was clean upon arrival, the maid forgot to clean it on our first day there. We had to go to the front desk to get clean towels. Everyone was very nice and apologized for the inconvenience. They also took a few dollars off of our room bill. Nonetheless, I don't think I'd go back there unless there were no other rooms available in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ky0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Nothing too unseen here in the sub-$100, recently "remodeled" motel set. Fairly highly trafficked and the front desk staff is nice enough. The rooms are pretty worn, the furniture and flooring has been replaced within the last five years but other things remain original and that is why I put remodeled in quotation marks.

But, seriously, what do you expect for $70-90/night? It was pretty clean and quiet. Bathroom was extremely small and the water pressure was possibly 20/gallons a minute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmtroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is your typical Red Roof, with a few distinctions. The receptionists were geomorphology and French literature majors, the facility is far larger than most, and it was nicely remodeled (probably in 2010). The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and I slept like a rock.

The continental breakfast was standard, which is to say a bit regrettable: defrosted pastries and bagels, cold cereal, a bit of fruit and institutional coffee. Not awful, just not special. We drove to Zingerman's, which is a 10 minute drive. (Check the reviews!)

I've stayed here before and will do so again.

Room Tip: check online for discounted rates. our double queen room was $70
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David52806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
8.5 km away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
#21 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Property: Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Address: 3505 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 481081631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing