We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Decent Hotel””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
““Decent Hotel””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Made an overnight trip into the area, and needed a place to stay. Room and hotel were clean. Outside of building needs some work.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    56
    48
    21
    17
See reviews for
64
31
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've stayed at this property quite a few times over the years and it is much nicer now than it has ever been in the past. The property is recently renovated, now has free wifi which it did not in the past, and I would say for a motel is a very good choice. There are a few places that can be reached on foot if you take your life into your hands to get across State Street to the mall side of the road - restaurants with bar, the mall, etc. The room was clean and had new carpet, bedding, sink fittings, etc. The only thing that Red Roof don't give you is coffee in your room (unless you upgrade the room) - but it is available in the lobby at all times. I would definitely stay here again, and that is from someone who really does not like motels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mksmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed one night. The room was clean and attractive. The bed was comfortable. The heating/cooling unit did not have a thermostat so the temp is regulated by turning the unit on and off. It was the perfect place, at the perfect price, to sleep and move on the next day. A breakfast of coffee, pastries, cereal and whole apples and bananas was included. The location is very convenient to I-94 but this is several miles outside of the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September, as I came for the Notre Dame football game. Got by without a car, but not a good idea, as this is mall and office park world near Briarwood Mall. Ann Arbor bus service is not that great. This is the south Red Roof in Ann Arbor and is basic. I thought the "whirlpool" room would be an upgrade, but this is only a token in a basic roadside motel. Not particularly quiet, my room came with this old-motelly smell. Breakfast is basic and front desk is very helpful.

Room Tip: I had a ground-floor room in the middle of the complex... Upper floors may have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights while visiting a graduate program at U of M. Great location and easy to get to. For the price, it was great- room was mostly clean, just found a few stray hairs- only found them as we were looking to make sure there weren't dog hairs left! He was nervous about staying in a hotel that allows pets, as unless the room is cleaned VERY well, he will still have an asthma attack if there is any pet dander. But we didn't have a problem. Staff was efficient and helpful, they had an iron to loan, thank goodness! The breakfast is just cereal, english muffins, and pastries- don't expect fruit or yogurt. Our room was right above the office- no complaints about noise, but the stairs have awkwardly tall steps and you had to go down a shady dark hallway to get to the room- people with mobility issues should probably ask for the ground floor. Overall, a great deal for $50 a night (I searched for 'Red Roof Inn coupon' and saved some dough)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smajewski87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I booked a last minute trip to Ann Arbor and didn't want to spend Ann Arbor prices, so here we go,,,,

At $50/night for a weekend rate, this was a good value for its purpose; a place to crash after a late hockey basketball game and postgame celebration. Check in/check out was easy as pie and the continental breakfast was stocked with basic fair of cereal, concentrate juice, some bananas, and the usual selection of bad carbs/sugar. We had a full breakfast elsewhere, but the hot coffee (not bad for hotel joe) and a bagel was good to start the day. Location is ideal as it is near 94, near Briarwood, and a quick drive to campus.

The room itself was very clean and the sink area had been recently updated. That's about the best you can ask for at a budget hotel. TV was a newer model Samsung 32" LCD, but the cable system was in analog so no HD. So much for the upgrade... The mattress was firm and good for one night's sleep, but I couldn't vouch for more than that. The other furniture in the room looked like it had been there since the 70s-80s.

If you can handle stairs (no elevator) and happen to be a light sleeper, I would recommend asking for a second floor room. The exterior doors/walls seem very poorly insulated for sound, so you can hear any conversation or starting car from the parking lot during the night. I found this out the hard way when a woman told her sob bar night story to her friend on the phone (and to the rest of the first level) at 4am. I heard every word before getting up and turning on the wall heater to drown her out. Surprising, the walls between rooms seem pretty well insulated as I did not hear much from the neighbors.

If you are looking for basic, no frills lodging in Ann Arbor, the Red Roof is a viable option. Ann Arbor has plenty of high prices options for those looking to splurge on elegance or a romantic weekend, but the Red Roof works for a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Our stay at the Red Roof Inn fulfilled our expectations in every way. The room was clean. The location was great for our purposes (we went to a football game and since we walked, we didn't have to worry about parking). The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
8.5 km away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#23 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
#21 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
1.8 km away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Property: Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Address: 3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing