We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Downhill Since Our Last Stay!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Downhill Since Our Last Stay!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel CHARGES $1.00 for cookies that are GIVEN to its guests! That should have been the 1st indication this hotel was on the decline. The breakfast area is TINY, TINY, TINY. It is nothing but one giant cluster mess when guests at this LARGE hotel gather! Not nearly enough tables/chairs for the amount of guests either! Food fare was below standards for the other Staybridges we have stayed in. Who wants slices of POUND CAKE for b'fast? Yuk. Giant link sausages and dried out eggs, boiled eggs, bagels, toast, waffles. IF you are lucky enough to get near the food that is. Our 2nd morning we opted for McDonald's! Our room was dark and too much furniture crammed into it. Small kitchenette but no bar or chairs/table! One desk & outdated desk chair. The entertainment center was positioned to where you had to turn sideways to get to the back of the bed. NONE of the 3 lamps in the suite matched; different sizes, colors, styles. There was a real nightstand with HUGE lamp on it and the other "nightstand" was a tiny end table that barely fit between the bed and the wall. The bathroom was DARK, DARK, DARK and small. This is not one of the better Staybridge Suites & we won't return. Also, the duvet was so wrinkled and dirty looking that I would not even sit on it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are very sorry that we are so delayed in this response, but we did not receive a timely alert of your review.
We are very disappointed in your experience at the hotel. Regarding charging for cookies at the Front Desk, we do not do this in order to make a profit for the hotel, but rather to raise money for our charity - GIVE KIDS THE WORLD. This is a wonderful charity that sends terminally-ill children and their families to a 70-acre storybook theme park in Orlando, FL, to enjoy a stress-free experience to brighten their life.
Our breakfast area can definitely get congested at times on busy weekends, but I assure you we have the same amount of space as most Staybridge Suites. We are sorry that the food selection did not appeal to you, and we will look into extra offerings, but we do offer the same things as all Staybridges, as it is company policy.
In regards to our rooms, we feel terrible that you were unhappy with them. We are usually known for our spacious rooms, as our rooms are the same size and set-up as most other Staybridges. Our lamps are also ordered from the same place as all corporate Staybridges, and may not all be the same as they are "decorative" lamps, but they are sets.
It is unsettling that the duvet was "wrinkled and dirty", as the "dirtiness" issue is unacceptable to us. We wish that you would have alerted the Front Desk about it, so we could have addressed the situation and made you comfortable. Most of our Studio Suites, which you stayed in, have been updated and have new duvets that do not wrinkle, but unfortunately some room still have our older duvets that can wrinkle when left in the dryer too long.
Again, we are so sorry that you were not happy with your experience with us, but hope that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a more comfortable stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Christina Kozub (Director of Sales) & Jesse Royster (Operations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    55
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
47
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

For 3 or more women this was the perfect place to stay. 2 bedrooms, one with 2 double beds one with a queen, and 2 bathrooms! Full kitchen, living area, very clean. Would stay again next time in area. The beds were all very comfortable, good nights sleep. DVD players included with tv in living area. The only downside is the morning breakfast was fairly limited in choices, compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinglady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you so much for being our guest here at the Staybridge Suites - Auburn Hills, and for taking the time to share your experience! We are happy to hear that our 2-bedroom/2-bathroom suite accommodated you ladies nicely on your fun evening. We work hard to make sure that our property is clean and comfortable, and am glad that you felt that we have done a good job of that. In regards to breakfast, I am so sorry that you felt their were limited options. The Staybridge Suites brand prides themselves on a good assortment of offerings for our breakfast, but we will definitely look into why it would not have been this way on your visit. Hopefully, we are fortunate enough to serve you on your next visit to the area, and that our breakfast choices will be more pleasing to you the next morning. : -)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Friendly staff. Studio suite had plenty of room for my wife and I. Comfortable bed. Appreciated that fan was in different corner of the room so that it did not blow directly at bed. Loose handle in shower, but no big deal. The water was extremely hot which felt great. But it would be a danger to unsuspecting children. Breakfast was good. Well lit parking. Close to Silver Dome which was the destination for our trip. Also across from Chysler HQ which was an interesting landmark. Hotel is 3 stories, but elevator made our room on the second floor easily accessible. I only saw one small place to eat that was within walking distance. We opted to drive the 5 or 6 miles where more choices existed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownContraDad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you so much for choosing the Staybridge Suites - Auburn Hills while in town attending your event! We appreciate your business and your time in writing the review of the hotel. We are glad that you and your wife were content with everything in your room and with the hotel itself, and apologize for the loose shower handle. In regards to restaurants, there are two places within walking distance, but hope that the Front Desk was able to direct you to something more to your liking. About 2 miles away, on University Drive, there are many options to choose from, so you may find something in that area on your next visit. And we hope that on your next visit we are lucky enough to have you as our guest again!

Sincerely,
Christina Kozub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and very clean,Complimentry wi-fi, business center, laundry center, work out area, and afull breakfast. Nice property!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites - Auburn Hills, and for your time in reviewing the hotel! It makes us very happy to hear that our staff treated you like the valuable guest that you are, and that you were satisfied with our rooms and amenities. We take great efforts in making our hotel a place where people can feel "at home", and look forward to taking care of you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Christina Kozub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The wife and I stayed here while visiting relatives...very nice place. We had a studio room with a full sized frig, two burner stove, dishes, pans, microwave, and a dishwasher....not we used any of it, but it was nice to have. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was also comfortable. We were greeted upon arrival by the friendly desk person who was extremely informative. My wife and I mainly chose this place because it's "pet friendly"... We tra eked with our dog and our parrot...

When I come back to visit my relatives, I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We thank you for choosing the Staybridge Hills - Auburn Hills while in-town visiting your relatives, and appreciate your time in writing a review of our property!
We are glad that you found the room comfortable, as it is important that our travelers feel at home with us. Our staff also takes great strides in providing the best possible service to all guests, so it is wonderful that you experienced that as well.
Hoping that next time you are here visiting, we are fortunate enough to take care of you and your beloved pets again!

Sincerely,
Christina Kozub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

After checking reviews, my husband and I decided to stay at Staybridge Suites. I was not disappointed. We got a studio suite as we were only staying a couple nights. It was clean, and nicely decorated. It was also nice and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We were in a room near the highway, but I noticed that we weren't getting any noise from it. I was suprised to see that the kitchenette had a full size refrigerator! It also had a two burner stove, microwave, and everything dishes and silverware: everything you'd need if you wanted to fix a meal instead of eating out. We didn't have a great view (overlooked air and heating systems which from the road was fenced in from view), but we could see the Silverdome across the street, and could have easily walked if that was our entertainment destination. We were going to DTE Music Center (formerly Pine Knob), and it was easy to get to due to being close to I-75. It literally takes less than 15 minutes to get there.

Breakfast is served every morning and there is a decent choice of food to eat from muffins and biscuits, to cereal, yougurt, fresh fruit, and something hot. One morning it was biscuits and gravy, and the next it was scrambled eggs and sausage patties, though I didn't much care for the eggs. Plenty to fill you up and start you on your day.

Staff was very helpful at the front desk and happily provided a list of nearby restaurants. They also gave us detailed directions to DTE and any other entertainment venues. This hotel is designed to accommodate people who may need long-term habitation, but was great for us just staying a couple nights. We paid only $80, which I think was quite the bargain. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The best view will be overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kady39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you so much for being our guest here at the Staybridge Suites - Auburn Hills, and for writing the detailed review! It makes us happy to hear that you were comfortable in your room, and that you thought it was well equipped (although I wish your view could have been better). We work hard to have many choices for breakfast, as nowadays there are lots of diets to keep up with, and are glad that you were able to enjoy them. We will definitely look into how we may improve the eggs though.
In regards to our Front Desk staff, they are trained to make sure they can get people to where they need to go, so it is good to hear that they were helpful in that way to you.
Hoping that you enjoyed your concert at DTE (I still think of it as Pine Knob to), and that we may have the opportunity to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Check In: Walked right up and got my room key from friendly desk person who reminded me about a complementary dinner that include hamburgers/hot dogs/ chips and more. To bad we were in a rush and picked up some BK prior to checking in. That was a real nice touch. There was even a beverage bar with a pop machine alongside a juice machine for the breakfast.

Room: Smaller than I imagined. No seperate room for the bed like I've had in the past. Later I realized it was only a queen sized bed. I reserved a king room/Suite but didnt notice until late since we were in a rush to get to a concert at a local music venue. It was nice though, just wish we had the bigger bed and the bedroom was seperated from the sitting area.

Morning: Nice breakfast with an attendant keeping things in order. Very friendly .

Overall it is a very nice property but the fact that my reservation was messed up in regards to room type keeps me from giving it an A+ The staff was all very friendly and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristinaKozub-DOS, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you so much for choosing the Staybridge Suites, and for your review of our hotel!
We are disappointed that you did not receive the type of room that you had reserved! I wish that you had alerted our Front Desk staff to your issue, as I know we would have done everything we could have to make you happy and satisfied. We do not downgrade people, as you deserve to get what you paid for, so we are not clear on what could have happened. In any case, please know how sorry we are, and that this will definitely not happen on any of your future stays with us.
We are thankful that the rest of your experience at the hotel was to your liking, and hope that we are fortunate enough to give you a 100% satisfied stay next time you are our guest!

Sincerely,
Christina Kozub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
1.8 km away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Hotel Auburn Hills
#12 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Auburn Hills - North (Great Lakes Crossing Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Address: 2050 Featherstone Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
#10 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently reimagined Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills is an upscale extended stay hotel conveniently located off I-75 and M-59 just outside Detroit, across from Chrysler Headquarters. Our all-suite hotel with interior corridors offers spacious new two bedroom/two bath, one bedroom and studio suites with fully-equipped kitchen, living room, work area with desk and executive chair, direct dial phone number, data ports and personalized voice mail plus free wireless Internet in all guest rooms. We offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, Evening Social Tuesday-Thursday, 24 hour business center, and on site guest laundry. Close to Pontiac, Lake Orion, Troy, Rochester and Birmingham, Auburn Hills boasts convenience for both business and pleasure. Stay an extra few days enjoying the Detroit Tigers, Detroit Lions, Detroit Red Wings and casinos, all just 25 minutes away in downtown Detroit. The Sonesta ES Suites is also just minutes from: The Palace of Auburn Hills, Pontiac Silverdome, Oakland Hills Country Club, Detroit Skating Club, Oakland University, Meadow Brook Music Theatre, DTE Energy Music Theatre (Pine Knob), Old World Canterbury Village, ONYX Ice Arena, Great Lakes Crossing Mall, and the Walter P. Chrysler Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Detroit - Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Staybridge Suites Auburn Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing