We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun staycation trip”

SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.89*
and up
SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium Admission Ticket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium sends guests through a highly themed aquarium that brings you nose to nose with sharks, stingrays, jellyfish, seahorses and over 5,000 underwater creatures. To get any closer, you'd have to get wet!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I decided to visit this aquarium despite the complaints that it was small and overpriced. Overall, my children and I enjoyed the whole experience (to include Rainforest Cafe and Lego Land) and found it to be worth the 1.5 hr drive and price. We visited during spring break so it got painfully crowded BUT it was nice and empty for the first hour around 9 am (when it opened). We give this a thumbs up for occasional visits but would never consider it worthy of a season pass.

About the price- For a little over $100, I purchased the Lego Discovery Center/ Aquarium combo pack for 1 adult and 3 children. The total also included 3 Sea Life Ranger Mission Packs at $5 each.

For those who are considering the Mission packs, I have mixed feelings. The pack contains, a booklet to collect 9 embossed stamps at various stations throughout, a magnifying card, a mini pencil, tear-away collector cards and reading material all stuffed into a case on a lanyard. Upon receiving their little kits, the kids were informed that they would receive a prize from the gift shop if they collected all of the stamps. Unfortunately, the prize became the focus of our visit, the kids rushed through the exhibits to go to the next stamping station. The prize was a cheap medal and in case you are wondering, the cashier did not examine the booklets for the stamps. After we received our prizes, we (I) decided to walk through the exhibit again but it was very crowded by this point. We spent approximately 2 hours there then moved onto the Lego exhibit.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank MidMichiganMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hello,

I'm glad to hear that you had such a good time when you visited and were able to make a day of it visiting SEA LIFE Michigan, LEGOLAND Discovery Center and our friends at Rainforest Café. With over 5,000 creatures and 250 different species there is always something amazing for everyone to see. I hope to see you and your family visit us again soon.

Best,

Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fish"
in 92 reviews
"sea life"
in 120 reviews
"touch pool"
in 28 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 18 reviews
"octopus"
in 15 reviews
"gift shop"
in 24 reviews
"staff was very friendly"
in 5 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 5 reviews
"feeding times"
in 5 reviews
"purchase tickets"
in 8 reviews
"take your time"
in 9 reviews
"a bit pricey"
in 9 reviews
"on line"
in 10 reviews
"great idea"
in 7 reviews
"answer questions"
in 5 reviews
"great for kids"
in 7 reviews
"rainy day"
in 6 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 504 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

So we bought tickets online in advance. They let way too many people in at the same time. It was soooo crowded in there that we were not able to enjoy ourselves. There was absolutely no room in the doodle area for anymore people to fit in and they did not make sure that people moved on so that others could also enjoy.
We definitely will not be going back.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Kmlkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Hello Kmlkv,

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't get to enjoy our amazing underwater creatures as much as you would have liked! Spring Break is definitely a busy time for us and even with our timed ticketing, the aquarium can still become crowded in certain areas -- especially when families are having a good time and stay longer than anticipated! If you're wiling to come back and give us another chance, please consider visiting on a non-holiday or school break Monday-Friday. These days will be the best bet for avoiding the crowds and having the most enjoyable experience!

Regards,

Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

You COULD run through this place in 30 min but you could also take you time and spend a few hours. We spent about an hour and a half with our 5 year old.

The staff was friendly. They were working hard to keep glass clean from fingerprints. The sea animals were beautiful! There really was a lot to see and the exhibits are so well done.

The touch tank was cool too!

At the end there is a small climber/play place for little ones.

Pre purchase tickets online for a small discount.

The aquarium is inside of the Great Lakes crossing mall, and your tickets are good all day! You could visit the aquarium and leave for lunch and then come back. This would be a good idea if you are trying to hit all of the feedings and demonstrations the aquarium offers...i think there are 9 a day.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Fuzzle2Fuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of SEA LIFE Michigan. We do offer educational talks and feeds every hour throughout the day and they are a great way to learn more about the amazing creatures as they swim by. I hope that you and your family come back and visit us again soon.

Best,
Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Geared for young families with children (which we weren't). Small windows to view fish. The entire interior is Dark with cave like coral walls with colorful paint. Colored lighting, distracting music adding to the chaos within the narrow walkways and small rooms and crowded spaces made even more narrow and crowded with all the children's strollers. (we like kids, just not the tight space allotted for guests) One could NOT leisurely walk through...definately not for the claustrophobic or those not tolerating sensory overload well. We went on the behind the scenes tour. Not much to see in the single hallway we toured, basically and the guide seemed to only know what was on the script, but the white walls and freedom from the canned music was a nice break. We will go to the local (Preuss Pets in Lansing, MI) pet store in the future for a more relaxing and informative time. Disappointed. Glad we went before taking grandkids or suggesting it to friends.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank KOUPERCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Hi Koupercat,

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit because we always aim to WOW our guests with amazing discoveries, no matter the age. While we do have portholes and pop up bubbles throughout the aquarium that allow kids (and the young at heart!) to get closer to the creatures, many people of all ages appreciate the underwater species we have including sharks, rays, green sea turtles and more! We hope you're willing to come back and give us another chance with your grandchildren -- our fishy friends would love to meet them!

Best,

Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

largest aquarium in Michigan. We enjoyed the various displays of sea life & we watch the feeding of the sting rays. Very family friendly, their were areas where kids can climb safely under tanks & they appear as if they are in the tanks. Kids were having a blast.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 3simon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review SEA LIFE Michigan on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you had such a good time when visiting and were even able to catch our stingray feed! I hope that we see you visit us again soon.

Best Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing