We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in a Nice Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Nice Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had some hotel points to use up and Albert Lea was in the correct spot. The hotel is on the main highway going into town with a bunch of other hotels. The staff was very friendly and recommended a great place to eat. The room was typical, but clean, updated (new flat screen TV) and well maintained.The breakfast area was very small and the counter with the food was in a corner so it was awkward getting to it when it was busy. The food was typical. No real issues.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    93
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
145
39
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is a privately owned Country Inn franchise. We had a one night stay in a two room suite on the second floor. This room was very quite and clean, as was the balance of the hotel. Our king bed was very comfortable. This is also one of the few hotels I have ever stayed in that I found the pillows to be comfortable as well.

We found the staff friendly. They inquired if the room was acceptable and also asked if we required anything. Their breakfast selection is less than what most competitors offer. They only had one waffle maker available, so this waiting period impeded those wanting to make waffles. Our overnight stay here was fine, but for the price paid not perceived as a good value. The hotel is a couple of minutes away from I-35 and perhaps 5-7 minutes from I-90.

The Green Mill restaurant is located about 100 feet away and shares the same parking lot as the hotel. So good food with a full service bar is just a short walk. Green Mill is family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for one night on June 25, 2011. It has been about 2 years since our last stay there and they have made significant improvements to their rooms. Gone is the bright green carpet and bedspreads--replaced by new carpeting and thick duvets in earth tones. We didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the change in atmosphere was tremendous. One downside is that the hallway by our room (318) had a very strong cigarette smoke smell, other than that the room was great!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Using TripAdvisor reviews we chose this Country Inn and Suites and found it very presentable from the outside and as nice inside plus easily "reachable" when you pull off the Interstate. The person on the desk was friendly yet professional and helpful when it came to dining recommendations. The place isn't brand new but from what we saw they work on maintenance - and I always notice sloppy maintenance and repair work, which wasn't the case here. The room was clean, the beds good and, best of all, the facility was quiet at night. Price is a bit on the high side for an October stay but maybe in line with travel stops on this Interstate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkitnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Made to feel like I was at home when I was hungry at breakfast, even when I was late to arrive; or looking for a snack after hours.
Staff very attentive, yet allowed me room to read the free paper in lobby while waiting for friends to arrive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmagund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here for a weekend wedding. The suite was clean and quiet. The drapes do not close all the way, and a fairly bright light comes in at night. Decent breakfast included. We paid $135 per night, maybe a little steep. We would return. If you have dog allergies, consider somewhere else, as i believe they allow dogs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurFamilyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgis, SD
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

These people will help you out and really made everyone feel at home. Their morning breakfast was great: fresh, hot, lots of variety. Pillows were extra comfortable. I would say that it deserves a solid 4 stars and 5 for staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stocktl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert Lea
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Albert Lea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
3.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Albert Lea
23.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood
28.7 km away
Days Inn Austin
Days Inn Austin
#1 of 7 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
Address: 2214 E Main St, Albert Lea, MN 56007-3921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Albert Lea
Albert Lea Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing