We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Smelly Pillows!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Grand Rapids, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smelly Pillows!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Room must have had a party in it - chipped countertops, dirty carpeting. The worst was the smelly pillows! We wrapped bath towels around them but I do not even want to know who used those pillows because they really needed to wash their hair. How does the cleaning help over look this? - surely they can smell the pillows. We will never stay there again...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearcat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    30
    44
    32
See reviews for
98
47
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed here last August and again this February for a brief trip to the area. The hotel is very clean, and our rooms were nice - clean with good comfortable beds. The breakfast was VERY good - waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. and constantly replenished and tables cleaned as people left.

When we were there, the hotel was FULL of 9 and 10 year-old boys and their families (in town for basketball and hockey tournaments) so it was noisy in the pool area, but we couldn't hear anything in the halls or from room to room. We were in the pool Friday evening when it was FULL of kids, and Saturday morning, we stopped by the pool and it was spotless.

We'll definitely be staying here again in August.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

My family and I stayed at this hotel and even though it's an older hotel, it was very clean and the hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agatelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryale, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
I would like to thank you for the great review. We are always happy to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2002

I made reservations at the Country Inn and Suites in Alexandria. The rooms are not very sound proof and I was awake most of the night. The next day at check out time I explained to the front desk that I did not have a comfortable nights sleep. Of course there was no manager there and she said she would rely the problme to the manager. I never did hear anything from them, I even wrote them a letter and mailed it to them. They did not give me an adjustment on my bill, they did not apologize for the inconvenice, they did not even respond to my letter. To me that says they do not care. I would not stay there again nor will I recommend their hotel to anyone. I have stayed at other Country Inn and Suites and have been pleased. Thank You

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryale, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
My name is Katie Ward and I am the current General Manager at the Country Inn and Suites in Alexandria, MN. I am not sure who the manager was at the time of your stay but I would like to apologize for they why they behaved. I hope you could be able to give us another chance to let us show you the true Country Inn and Suites Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
21.4 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
36.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sauk Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Address: 5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing