We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel in peaceful location with friendly staff”
Review of Foersterhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Foersterhof Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel in peaceful location with friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Forsterhof recently on a half board basis booked through Crystal Summer. We were delighted to find our bedroom and ensuite to be spotlessly clean and very spacious. Our room was located towards the back of the hotel and it was so quiet throughout the night that it was hard to believe we were staying in a busy hotel, and it was a delight waking up to the sound of birdsong!

We were pleased with the location of the hotel, a 5 minute stroll from the centre of the village and very handy for the Schafberg railway and Wolfgangsee ferry.

All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and spoke very good English, which saved me from having to inflict my poor German language skills on them!!

There was a good choice of food for the buffet breakfast, I particularly enjoyed the fruit and yogurt and the naughty wee chocolate pastries, and yay they had fruit tea bags!!

The only thing that let the hotel down was that some of the hot food tended to be a bit on the cool side, also there was some guesswork involved in trying to decipher what some of the food was due to the vague placement of the labels!!

To sum up, we really enjoyed our week in St Wolfgang and would recommend the Forsterhof to anyone looking to book a holiday in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank metalminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    45
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Great food, fantastic hotel, lovely friendly staff and the most beautiful resort - you couldn't ask for more. But take a wide range of clothing because the weather can change from being hot and sunny to rainy and cold within a few hours ( it caught me out a few times!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our first trip to Saint Wolfgang booked with Inghams. Hotel picked on strength of brouchure photos and price. Not disappointed - the hotel staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. Nothing was ever any trouble and you were always greeted with a smile. The hotel is spotlessly clean - we stayed in the newer extension in a large double room with balcony which we couldnt fault. The buffet style food was excellent giving a wide choice of first class food everyday. Although a pleasant 5 -10 minute walk from the centre of St Wolfgang this does not distract from the hotels many advantages. The many varied seating areas both indoors and outside mean it easy to unwind in the evening without the need to go in the town if you dont want. Although the hotel does not offer a view of the lake the surrounding mountains are clearly visible from even the ground floor bedrooms. The large private lawned area at the lakeside just a five minutes walk away is a lovely place to relax and watch the activity on the lake or indeed swim. The hotel is well placed for the Schaffberg railway and only five minutes walk away from the local bus and ferry services. Would we return? - yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We booked a package based on half-board with Thomsons and from the moment we landed at Salzburg everything went smoothly. We last stayed at the Forsterhof in 1973 (also with Thomsons), so it speaks volumes that the hotel is still on their recommended list. Even though it has been extended, the hotel has lost none of its charm, and it boasts an amazing collection of artefacts and paintings dotted around the hotel. The main thing that has changed is the meals are all buffet style. Whilst some peolpe might be wary of this, we can only say that the food was excellent. All dishes were piping hot, with a variety of options to choose, and with a great selection of desserts to finish the meal it is not a place to go if you are trying to lose weight! The waiting staff were very efficient and friendly making for a relaxing atmosphere.
It's a gentle 10 minute stroll into the pretty town centre and only a 5 minute walk to the hotel's private lakeside area (if you sneak through the car park opposite.) At the lake there are sun loungers, sun shades and even table tennis.
There are many walking opportunities, which can be enhanced by using the lake ferry service. With sometimes variable weather, it would be wise for walking entusiasts to take sturdy shoes.
All in all we had a great holiday, which was exceptional value for money, and we would thoroughly recommend Hotel Forsterhof with the Thomson half board package.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanandDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We booked a - last minute - week's stay @ £299 for half-board with Crystal.

The hotel was exceptional value. Bright, clean airy en-suite bedrooms...and public areas with plenty of seating...

Austria is not renowned for its fine dining...but the buffet-style meals ensured diners could pick and choose the food they wanted to eat. Holidaymakers we met from some other hotels said they would happily swap their waiter service of a set menu - for a self-service buffet offering choice...

Service: The two waiters (who happened to wear glasses) were well trained professionals. Unfortunately, there was another who just wanted to act the clown rather than help his colleagues... which led to some diners having to ask for service...
All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing stay in pleasant surroundings...with just a ten minute walk to the village centre...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnechancetoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We enjoy walking and holidays in good hotels and went to the Forsterhof this time last year. Having looked at TripAdvisor for many Hotels in Austria this January we could not find better quality or Value for Money than the Forsterhof. So we booked. It came up to our expectations. The hotel was as bright as ever. The room was spotless, room service excellent. The dining room was beautifully laid out and the buffet Dinner was excellent allowing whatever choice suited our palete. On request they also provided us with snack lunches to carry on our walks. Management and staff were most accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Forsterhof .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjayReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Firstly. I am sure that our experiences will not be in agreement with soem of the past reviews we have seen. We can only report what we experienced.
The hotel was beautiful and very large. The 4-star status was rather interesting as we could not see how this was acheived. The staff were pleasant enough when we arrived. The first thing we noticed was the that the food was buffet style. The soup arrived piping hot, but sadly the rest of the food out on display was woefully warm and not hot in any sense of the word. After a few days however, the plates were warmed prior to self service of the main meal, but this only helped a little. There seemed to be little attention from the kitchen/waiting staff to check the food on a regular basis. A common practice in the UK, but as it is our first experience of self service, buffet style meals, we were rather surprised. The sweets were generally well presented and tasty.
Our second issue was with the laundery service. We will never again look at this option. They priced every single item individually. The shock of the final cost was rather exasperated by the fact that a few items had been dyed. This was quickly brought to the attention of the hotel management. Initially, they were very concerned and said this will be investigated. However, the solution they replied with was that we had to talk directly to the cleaner who would not be back on shift until our reparture day. This was unacceptable and we decided to bring this to the attention of our Rep. He was very good and eventually got our money back for the damaged items. We were disappointed that the hotel offered us no apologies and something towards the cost having to replace the damaged items. Later in the week, we had the misfortune of having No Milk for breakfast. The waiting staff were very abrupt when questioned by many people on holiday who were caught out by this. Again, no apology from the hotel. We decided to officially complain to the tour operators who are going to investigate. Apart from these problems, our holiday was very good. A word of caution though. St Wolfgang is a summer resort and we found to our dismay that most of the shops were closed in January (due to having a Christmas Fayre event in December). As for returning to this resort in Winter, I think this will be very unlikely.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.9 km away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.5 km away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
446 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
2.1 km away
Landhaus zu Appesbach
Landhaus zu Appesbach
#9 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
129 reviews
0.5 km away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foersterhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foersterhof Hotel

Property: Foersterhof Hotel
Address: Ried 14, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#12 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Foersterhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Foersterhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsterhof Hotel St Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing