We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foersterhof Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Landhaus zu Appesbach(St. Wolfgang)(Great Value!)
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zimmerbrau(St. Wolfgang)
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cortisen am See(St. Wolfgang)
US$252
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Haus Arndt(St. Wolfgang)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Garni Seehang(St. Wolfgang)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
49
48
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
48
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsummer resortaustrialakekettle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Forsterhof for a week in early July and had a wonderful, relaxing and peaceful holiday.
We were at the front of the hotel in the hotel's only twin room, which was a good size with modest but comfortable decor and a good size balcony. We had a pleasant view of the mountains and surrounding trees, and although we were on the road side, it was very quiet and peaceful.
The hotel itself was very clean, and we found the management most polite and helpful, and they all had very good English. The waiting on staff were very friendly and helpful, and although I agree with some of the reviews questioning the labelling of the buffet, the head chef was incredibly accomodating with my food allergy and made me delicious, fresh 'nut free' meals.
The hotel is set about 4minutes away from the lake, and although it doesn't have a direct view, the hotel has a very nice lakeside lounging area, which was always quiet when we went. The village centre is about 5minutes walk, and there are local buses, which are very easy to use going to Salzburg.
There is no doubt that St Wolfgang is stunning, with lots of little cafes/restaurants and shops to browse and it has retained a lovely, traditional feeling with lots of character. The scenery can't beaten, absolutely beautiful.
We went to the village square on a Wednesday evening to hear the local brass band, which was very enjoyable and nice to see all of the locals supporting it aswell as tourists. The funicular mountain railway is a must on a good, clear day, but be warned it is expensive, but the views of the surrounding area are spectacular.
We had a wondeful holiday and I would recommend the Forsterhof to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank north099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We just returned from a family holiday at the Forsterhof. We had a family room which was very clean and comfortable on the 3rd floor.
The hotel is in nice condition throughout with a friendlty traditional feel. We had half board ,large buffet style breakfasts and dinners which the children really enjoyed.I couldnt find any faults with this place,even had a pool table and table football which made for a regular after dinner game.
Loads of parking facilities and a 5 minute walk to the town and the private beach garden with lots of loungers umbrellas and table tennis. The lake was bracing but most people enjoyed a dip .
We had a hire car which i would recommend for seeing different places.
Highlights for us were lake trips to St Gilgen (nice restaurants/mini golf etc) Strobl summer toboggan run ( a must for kids !) and a trip to Bad Ishll in a 1960s oldtimer bus which you can find details at tourist info.
St wolfgang is a nice base with plenty of bars /eating places
There were quite a few brits in the hotel so the kids had people to play with . The waiters and staff were all very nice and helpful.Dont believe any adverse reports!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ap1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Forsterhof recently on a half board basis booked through Crystal Summer. We were delighted to find our bedroom and ensuite to be spotlessly clean and very spacious. Our room was located towards the back of the hotel and it was so quiet throughout the night that it was hard to believe we were staying in a busy hotel, and it was a delight waking up to the sound of birdsong!

We were pleased with the location of the hotel, a 5 minute stroll from the centre of the village and very handy for the Schafberg railway and Wolfgangsee ferry.

All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and spoke very good English, which saved me from having to inflict my poor German language skills on them!!

There was a good choice of food for the buffet breakfast, I particularly enjoyed the fruit and yogurt and the naughty wee chocolate pastries, and yay they had fruit tea bags!!

The only thing that let the hotel down was that some of the hot food tended to be a bit on the cool side, also there was some guesswork involved in trying to decipher what some of the food was due to the vague placement of the labels!!

To sum up, we really enjoyed our week in St Wolfgang and would recommend the Forsterhof to anyone looking to book a holiday in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank metalminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Great food, fantastic hotel, lovely friendly staff and the most beautiful resort - you couldn't ask for more. But take a wide range of clothing because the weather can change from being hot and sunny to rainy and cold within a few hours ( it caught me out a few times!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeordieBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our first trip to Saint Wolfgang booked with Inghams. Hotel picked on strength of brouchure photos and price. Not disappointed - the hotel staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. Nothing was ever any trouble and you were always greeted with a smile. The hotel is spotlessly clean - we stayed in the newer extension in a large double room with balcony which we couldnt fault. The buffet style food was excellent giving a wide choice of first class food everyday. Although a pleasant 5 -10 minute walk from the centre of St Wolfgang this does not distract from the hotels many advantages. The many varied seating areas both indoors and outside mean it easy to unwind in the evening without the need to go in the town if you dont want. Although the hotel does not offer a view of the lake the surrounding mountains are clearly visible from even the ground floor bedrooms. The large private lawned area at the lakeside just a five minutes walk away is a lovely place to relax and watch the activity on the lake or indeed swim. The hotel is well placed for the Schaffberg railway and only five minutes walk away from the local bus and ferry services. Would we return? - yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews