We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family tradition carrying on to the next! Great place in need of upgrading badly!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cold Spring Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cold Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family tradition carrying on to the next! Great place in need of upgrading badly!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We love this place! Only complaint upgrades needed one little box type tv that broke twice last year this year stove and drier failing :( have a timeshare so most here for vacation! There are a few permanent residents which do not take so kindly to vacationers! Why live at a resort??? Hmmmm Love Love indoor pool jacuzzi but closes 8:45 :( why we are on vacation kids in bed i want to RnR in jacuzzi it is closed! But it is our place The Common Man The Italian Farmhouse near by and if course skiing tubing! Kids love sledding at the closed in Feb!!! Golf course with White Mountains view...this year first time a permanent resident told us private property! Please lady this is not free! Time share is ownership Thank You & we were the only people there! Love it though the view is amazing relaxing stress free getaway

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snottycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    37
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
53
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We were disappointed with this resort. Had to use my timeshare or lose the week, so guess only under par accomodations were available. The 2 bedroom, one bath unit was clean, but stairway to unit and unit itself smelled terribly musty. Bathroom and kitchen need updating. Porch was postage stamp size and screens were ripped. We found carpenter ants in every room, and when we reported it to the staff were told they couldn't do anything about it because they already have exterminators in. TV's were so old and picture snowy, we had to go to the Golf Club to watch the French Open finals.
No wifi service in unit, only in club house. Photos on their website look better than reality. The surrounding area is lovely however, and tried out many golf courses in the area - really nice and quite cheap. This resort is quite isolated, so you need to drive quite a distance to get to some nicer restaurants. A drive to Wolfesboro is worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finedongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

We checked in very fast. Room was great for a family of 5. Three days into our stay we had loud neighbors and they moved us with no problems. The rest of the stay was quiet and peacefull. If you are looking for a good get away at the base of the mountain range this is the place. The pull out sofa bed springs were a little hard but overall the rest of the beds slept real comfortable. Would do it again in a heart beat....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thecrazyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

In mid-June, I traveled with my sister and mother on a time share exchange to Cold Spring Resort - the location was convient, an hour + drive to Mt. Washington, but the drive was lovely, beautiful views around each bend and only 1/2 hour or shorter to Squam Lake and Lake Winnepesaukee. The two bedroom apartment we had was older, but very clean and quite comfy with all the necessities. It would have been nice to have a powder room or extra bathroom, but it was fine for 3 of us. The indoor pool and hot tub were a welcome relaxation and the visiting children were using the outdoon pool on the warmer days. Best of all was the Resort's staff; they had group trips planned where we could get discounts and many ideas to enjoy your stay both at the resort and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TommyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

I am once again heading up to Cold Springs the first week in Feb 2010. ( I am a time share holder). I have been going to cold springs since I was a child and have always enjoyed my stay. When an opportunity came along to buy i week I could not pass it up! I have a two bedroom unit, It is very spacious and clean! Full kitchen, living room, dining room, fire place, washer & dryer in unit and it now has A/C for the summer. The pool/rec area is always clean (can get a little busy with kids if you go summer or vacation weeks, thats why I go up in Feb. Peace and quiet!!!) They also have trips and activites planned throughout the week. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The area is also great, I ski and hike in the winter and usually trek over the Kangamangus highway to N. Conway to do some shopping. Great sight seeing!! The only thing that I could find someone complaining about is the bathroom, that works well and is very clean is a little outdated and if you have kids next to you in another unit who parents let them go crazy it can be a little noisy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

We just finished our vacation at Cold Spring Resort the week of July 4, 2009. It rained most of our vacation we still had a great time at the resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom across the street from the playground and very close to the indoor and outdoor pool. The furnishings are outdated but it had everything we needed. It was very clean, no odors and very spacious- there were 3 children under 7. We loved that there was tennis, swimming, hiking, a rec room with children's activities every day- very close by. We also loved the sliders to the screen porch, since it rained a lot we got to go outside without getting wet. The resort is about 1.5 hours from Storyland, 30 minutes from The Flume, Cannon and Lake Winnepesaki. Overall it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmington Hills MI
Level Contributor
199 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

We stayed here for a week using RCI exchange.
The unit was a two bedroom, with fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, screened in porch.
It was clean and adequately maintained-though furnishings seemed from 1990's (e.g.
The TV in living room was small, and we brought a laptop, however no WIFI in unit, though one could use wireless in clubhouse. Still it was okay for us, and met our expectations-if you expect a five star with maid service everyday, this would not be for you.
Very nice staff who offered helpful suggestions. They had both indoor/outdoor pools, tennis courts, hiking trails, rec room and workout facilities. We didn't use their facilities much since we did day trips during our stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
4.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.8 km away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
33.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
22.1 km away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
5.0 km away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Resort

Property: Cold Spring Resort
Address: 460 N Ashland Rd, Ashland, NH 03217-4116
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cold Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions of New Hampshire, Cold Spring Resort has been providing a welcome retreat for families since the mid 1970's. With 77 well-appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses meandering through a fragrant pine forest, overlooking the White Mountains and within a stone's throw of a cold spring, the resort is perfectly situated for quiet relaxation and cultural, recreational and invigorating exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Cold Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing