We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Resort and SUCH nice people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort and SUCH nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Wonderful staff, amazing massage, and the resort was extremely relaxing. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. You can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    53
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
43
151
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Nicky and Melanie,
We want to thank you from the moment you picked us up at Belize City Airport, with running commentary on the city and countryside on the way to Maruba, to the welcome rum punch in a coconut (everything is in a coconut!), to the upgrade in room, to the stellar customer care you both showed us for our two night three day stay with you!

When I shared that I was looking for a hair product, Melanie supplied my masseuse with a coconut filled with special cactus juice for repairing my hair, before starting on the first day's massage.

When we asked if they had bicycles at our disposal, they were ready and leaning on a tree by our table at our next morning breakfast!

When we asked to purchase some of Maruba's signature pepper sauce, a bottle was filled, bubble wrapped, and ready for travel when we checked out.

At check out, there was a 40th wedding anniversary gift from them to us, rum punch for the ride back to the airport, we loved it all, the hut was clean, comfortable, loved the hibiscus everywhere, the heart of palm and radish salad was outstanding! All the meals were delicious, the jungle setting fantastic, and the pools, and hot pool were relaxing.

We highly recommend Maruba, go without a worry!

They are very very good at taking care of you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WLP-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I love this place so much, I returned four weeks later. The lodging, spa, food and excursions are wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

From the moment we arrived at Maruba, we felt as if we were a part of the family. That being said, we just returned from our 5th annual visit with our friends in Belize. Maruba offers just about anything you could be looking for, for any kind of get away. If you enjoy massages or spa treatments, the soft aromas of incense and unique sculptural architecture set the perfect mood for the professional staff to work their magic. When you desire a more adventurous excursion, David & Delwin (walking encyclopedias) far surpass ANY of the tour guides that we've overheard from other groups, while keeping the trips exciting, fun and personalized. Snorkeling, Lamanai and ATM are our favorites, but don't miss cave tubing or the Belize Zoo. Relaxing by the mosaic tile pools while the attentive staff brings anything we could desire is also a great way to spend an afternoon. Finished off with a game of racquetball with Merickston and Sterling (thanks guys :-)) before dressing for dinner. At dinner, we always love to try Nicky's specials of the evening, presented with wit and charm by Dara and an excellent kitchen staff. Every course of every meal prepared to perfection (don't forget the Huevos Rancheros for breakfast, YUM!) Additional tip- Don't let your agenda be set in stone...let Nicky and Melanie arrange the days and times for your trips and treatments. They know best, and it really does make a difference. Thanks again, Maruba!
p.s - thanks to Gloria for making everything so beautiful with Hibiscus, and to Pedro and Kent for keeping an eye on us (even when I'm calling for pumas at night, haha)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are gorgeous, but we stayed in the Jungle Villa this trip...Awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StudioDining04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

A friend of mine that had been to Maruba tried to tell me what it was like and showed me pictures. Words or pictures cannot begin to describe the Maruba experience. From the moment you enter the resort, you realize you are in a different world. The beauty of the grounds puts you in a different state of mind. Immediately you are treated not as a guest but as part of the family. The rooms are exotic and attention is given to every detail. Your bed is plush and adorned with Hibiscous flowers every day. All the walkways are lined with flowers that the staff replaces daily. The staff is the best and anticipates your every need and takes care of it. The food is nothing short of gourmet and all organic. For example when they have "hearts of palm" salad is because Nikki, the owner just cut down a palm tree that day and serves the hearts. But the best part about it is the people that work there. Without a doubt the friendliest and most caring staff I have ever seen. They all treat you like family and you feel a love from them that I have never experienced anywhere else. The spa treatments are second to none, an experience you will never forget. Music is played all day long in the reception dining and bar area. Nikki seems to adjust the music to the mood of the guests and it is always wonderful. I would like to thank Nikki, Melony, Annie and the rest of the staff for taking us in as part of their family. Maruba will always have a special place in my heart. We will be back as often as we can. After all where else can you find Paradise on earth.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noroeste3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

How do I define the perfect vacation? Well, go here - it is just amazing.
I stayed here in 2005 for 3 days - and wish I had stayed longer.
Exceptionally good service, great rooms, great massages, great activities, great food, great room service - it's just paradise!
I would love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespadirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We've been all over the Caribbean resorts and most major cities in the US. everything we did was on a time table just like work. We had nothing planned on this trip to Maruba, just went with the flow. We were in awe of the way we were treated. Knew everyone by first name when we left. My wife and I were celebrating our 33rd anniversary. Our room upon arrival was decorated in Hybiscus flowers and made us feel so welcomed. We were family and not a occupant in a room. We were treated as if we were the only people at the resort. The food was if it was prepared as if we were the king and queen of England. the ambiance was so romantic. Melanie and Nicki treated us so special and the staff was nothing we could ever imagine. It was the first time i ever felt like i wasn't ready to leave. I will always remember and also plan on returning to be with our new family of friends. I would recommend this resort to the people that need to relax and enjoy Pura Vida (pure life). We love you Maruba Jungle Resort

Room Tip: any room or suite is as comfortable as your own home Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskall
37.6 km away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
37.2 km away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
36.7 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
39.3 km away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
37.4 km away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Property: Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 30 Miles North of Belize International Airport (BZE), Maskall, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing