We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Unique Getaway”
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Olas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Unique Getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Loved the creative uniqueness of each room - not to mention the great views of Lake Titicaca! The staff was very helpful, and the in-room kitchen and fireplace are great bonuses too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelCbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    72
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
53
292
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in 'The Sky' suite for two nights and it was wonderful. Great view of the Lake and very private. There was a bit of an issue with the wifi but the staff worked diligently to have it working for us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The rooms are really quirky and the interior is decorated with great attention to detail. The view is amazing. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nildey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This place doesn't really need a recommendation. Just go and see for yourself. I was lucky to stay here for a night. The view, the rooms, hammocks: there's only one word for it: splendid! Do make a reservation if you want to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This place is so great, it's impossible to get a reservation. Seriously, between Las Olas and Hostal Copacabana, I haven't stayed anywhere else in Copa in a decade. A decade, people. You can't go wrong with either--good luck getting a reservation!

Room Tip: You will find any of their bungalows amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayrachaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed in the egg-shaped Tortuga room and it can't be explained in any other way than amazing! It has, like all the other rooms, a spectacular view of the lake. It almost looks like you're so close to heaven. The owner came by to greet us and was super social and friendly. He striked up a lengthy conversation with us... it's obvious that he has such a deep passion for his work and for providing excellent service. He also owns the Cupula next door, which is really the only place to eat in Copacabana (don't bother with anywhere else, it's not even half as good). This is a must stay, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful... but choose the Tortuga for the most privacy if you have multiple guests. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetoeat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Las Olas is one of my favourite hotels in Bolivia. It's got a fantastic location overlooking Copacabana. While not as centrally located (due to its great location with stunning views), it's a very short walk from the main part of town and has seriously stunning views of the town and Lake Titicaca. We especially appreciated having a hammock outside our room as well as the amazing floor to ceiling window from which we enjoyed the great views.

Our building (the hotel is made up of several standalone buildings) had two floors. It was spacious, perfectly (and quirkily) decorated and had its own bathroom, mini-kitchen, sitting area, and sleeping area. We stayed two nights and wish we had stayed for even longer. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. The value is also amazing - this was the cheapest hotel we stayed at in Bolivia but it felt like an expensive hotel with million-dollar vistas. I don't have a single negative thing to say about this hotel and would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Copacabana.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
573 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
114 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 12 in Copacabana
352 reviews
0.3 km away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#6 of 12 in Copacabana
66 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 23 in Copacabana
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Property: Las Olas
Address: Calle Michel Perez | Final, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear tourist, hostel "Las Olas" is placed on a hill side over looking lake Titicaca. From any of the seven suites you have a marvellous view over the bay and the lake. You have spacious gardens with hammocks and deck chairs on the different terraces leading down the hill side. On our grounds you can use a fire place and we have several stone tables and benches to eat outside to enjoy the views. For those who love plants and flowers, you will find an enormous variety of predominantly local species. All suites have been individually designed, using as many natural and local materials as possible and respecting traditional ways of construction. They provide a maximum comfort and you will find many artistic details for the eye. From your living room area, from your bed and almost from any point of your room you have a perfect view of the lake through the huge window fronts. Each suite is provided with a small kitchen unit, private bath an inside hammock and a fireplace. There is also a little electric heater for your use We do a big effort to work very ecological. The cabins are built with a complete heat insulation of polystyrene inside the roof, as well as in the walls below the facade. We preheat the water with big solar panels and than feed it into the electric boiler to guarantee very hot water 24 hours a day. We recycle all our washing machine water with an automatic sprinkler to wet our extensive gardens, and we also collect any plastic or glass bottle left behind to be recycled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing