We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
180
44
13
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
44
13
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests chobe national park game drives guide john the river resident hippo served family style night vacation friendly feeling long table leads directly share stories communal dining dinner table lovely days small hotel victoria falls
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 241 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We first visited this place 17 years ago when it was Phil and Gabi's dream under construction. (They even made some of the bricks!) Now we returned to find a popular lodge, full of interesting travellers, with friendly, knowledgeable staff committed to personal service.
The owners' dream lodge is now a beautiful reality. The meals were great, the Chobe River tours were nothing short of magic, and the game drives provided plenty of breath-taking moments. 4 days was the perfect stopover time for us.
The Garden Lodge is super close to Victoria Falls, and other fantastic spots are easily accessible by road or the nearby (sparkling new) airport.
This is not a large, impersonal hotel. It is a small lodge with communal areas for eating, chatting or enjoying the river views. It was booked out while we were there and I suspect you'd have to book quite early to get a room.

Room tip: There are great river views from the rooms
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerplunk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. we are so happy you came back to stay with us, don't let it be 17 years again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Whilst the photos online were a little misleading so our initial impression was not as expected the lodge ended up being a great place to use as a base while in Kasane for our game drive viewings at Chobe.
The owners Gabi and Phil were absolutely lovely and Craig and John from the team were great.
On the downside, the food was just OK and some of the staff were not pleasant and the premises was a little old no tired

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

we would like to say thank you for your comment, and are glad you enjoyed being with us. While I don't understand how can feel the premises were a little old after we just renovated the entire lodge including a brand-new thatched roof, we are sorry to did not find our food to your expectations. I don't want to go to your comment about the not pleasant staff, as all our staff is going out their way to be there for you and make your stay as special as possible.
Take care,
Gabi & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Had the garden room! so nice and tranquile.
And the staff is ever so hospitable and competent. Been there the second time and definitely come back. But they are so often booken out!
Best are the rooms with a garden view on the first floor

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank GermanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017

We just LOVED staying here. The lodge is a quiet oasis - and well run, but the real draw is the fantastic river trips along the Chobe River. You see LOADS of animals, and the guides are just great at finding things. Our guide found a pride of lions for us without the help of other guides. We had first crack at pictures, and took advantage of that!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We stayed at the Garden Lodge for 3 nights in June 2017. We had booked our journey through Compass Odyssey, and they hooked us up with the Garden Lodge. It is a great location just outside of Chobe National Park, and they have daily visitors which are usually warthogs, but they do have elephants and hippos come up as well. We only saw the elephant and warthogs,but it was incredibly neat to have an elephant in your backyard! The staff were all very friendly and made you feel very welcome. On our last day they knew we hadn't seen any zebras, and one of the managers knew that some zebras occasionally are near the Kasane airport so he took us in his personal car to try and find zebras! It was incredibly nice of him.
The rooms are very nice, and very clean. We stayed on the second floor and had a great view of the gardens and the random animal friends that came to visit.
The food was amazing here, everyday their chef pumped out amazing breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. They also do a 'family' eating style there where everyone gets together for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its just such a friendly feeling.

Room tip: Rooms on the second floor provide a great view and have a really nice balcony.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews