We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
175
43
12
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
43
12
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestschobe national parkguide johngame drivesthe riverresident hippofriendly feelinglong tableleads directlyshare storiescommunal diningdinner tablesmall hotelokavango deltapersonal attentionlaundry donelovely room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 234 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

A-MA-ZING! This was my happy place for three days. Not only is the lodge very welcoming and comfortable but the people make it like home. John picked us up from the airport and was always quick with hello and how is your stay every time we ran into him. Mark and Emily were awesome hosts, sharing loads of insights, tips, and were genuinely interested in who we were as people and how to make the most of our trip. Phil was always super generous and even took us out on 2 game drives during our stay. I think he would have bent over backwards to share the beauty and wonder of Chobe with us. Quick-witted Craig was also a wonderful host and always guaranteed we were having a good time. Lastly, our river guide Gaba was more than we could have asked for. It was such a pleasure getting to know him and learning about Botswana and the wildlife from him.

Our room was extremely comfortable with all the necessary amenities. The service was spectacular throughout. The chef is extremely talented - I probably gained a few pounds in three days!

I will absolutely be back! Thank you for our wonderful stay!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Wow, that is the most amazing compliment. You have me speechless. How wonderful you liked us the why we run the lodge and look after our guests, all compliments will be passed onto the staff to share this.
Maybe we see you again one other time.

Take care,
Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Beautiful rooms (bed full of blossoms, when you arrive), everything works as it should, excellent and personal service (one employee, Craig, even took us to the butcher in his car, so that we could get good meat for our next day camp site!! Amazing!). Very good breakfast and dinner. Gabi, the German welcoming owner, and her husband offer boat trips directly from behind their garden. We made this boat safari which was superb. Many, many elephants, hippos, crocodiles, storks and even 2 lions (a little far).
Laundry service is included. Around the house you see a lot of animals like an owl which lives under the roof, warthogs, hippos and waterbucks in the garden. We stayed two nights and made a daytrip to Victoria falls on the day in between. Organization went properly.
We would return to this lovely at any time!

Room Tip: All 8 rooms have a private verandah overlooking the Chobe River.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank st_overhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

it is always lovely to read guests enjoy what we do and like our family atmosphere concept with a personal service and attention to details. Thank you for your wonderful review. Take care and hopefully we see you one other time.

Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We first visited this place 17 years ago when it was Phil and Gabi's dream under construction. (They even made some of the bricks!) Now we returned to find a popular lodge, full of interesting travellers, with friendly, knowledgeable staff committed to personal service.
The owners' dream lodge is now a beautiful reality. The meals were great, the Chobe River tours were nothing short of magic, and the game drives provided plenty of breath-taking moments. 4 days was the perfect stopover time for us.
The Garden Lodge is super close to Victoria Falls, and other fantastic spots are easily accessible by road or the nearby (sparkling new) airport.
This is not a large, impersonal hotel. It is a small lodge with communal areas for eating, chatting or enjoying the river views. It was booked out while we were there and I suspect you'd have to book quite early to get a room.

Room Tip: There are great river views from the rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerplunk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. we are so happy you came back to stay with us, don't let it be 17 years again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Whilst the photos online were a little misleading so our initial impression was not as expected the lodge ended up being a great place to use as a base while in Kasane for our game drive viewings at Chobe.
The owners Gabi and Phil were absolutely lovely and Craig and John from the team were great.
On the downside, the food was just OK and some of the staff were not pleasant and the premises was a little old no tired

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

we would like to say thank you for your comment, and are glad you enjoyed being with us. While I don't understand how can feel the premises were a little old after we just renovated the entire lodge including a brand-new thatched roof, we are sorry to did not find our food to your expectations. I don't want to go to your comment about the not pleasant staff, as all our staff is going out their way to be there for you and make your stay as special as possible.
Take care,
Gabi & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Had the garden room! so nice and tranquile.
And the staff is ever so hospitable and competent. Been there the second time and definitely come back. But they are so often booken out!
Best are the rooms with a garden view on the first floor

Stayed: May 2017
Thank GermanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews