We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
179
44
13
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
44
13
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests chobe national park guide john game drives the river resident hippo friendly feeling long table leads directly share stories communal dining dinner table small hotel okavango delta personal attention laundry done set menu
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 240 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2017

Garden Lodge was kind of an add-on for us... we had 2 nights at another safari camp, and when they were fully booked for night 3, we decided to switch lodges. And I have to say, Garden Lodge was a very refreshing experience! As much as we loved our luxury tented camps, Garden Lodge is a building more in line with what Americans and Europeans are used to. That's because it is in fact owned by Germans who fell in love with Botswana! But it still has plenty of local art and flair. The staff was extremely friendly and amenable. The lodge itself is in town, which from the outside looks a bit intimidating... but as soon as you're inside the gates, you feel very at home. They made sure we got everything we possibly could out of a 24 hour stay, including a water safari and a game drive. The lodge is closer to Chobe National Park than our previous stop, meaning quicker access for game drives... and the yard is right along the river, which meant the water safari was just steps away. This was also the best wifi we had during our 6 days in Zimbabwe/Botswana. One thing to note is that meals are served group style with all of the guests. We enjoyed mingling for a night, but may have found it a bit draining for a longer stay. Do what works for your group!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Garden Lodg... K, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thanks very much for your comment. We are very glad you found us and even more so that you enjoyed your 24 hour stay. Wonderful you loved it all and had a chance to fit in both activities.
Next time you stay with us, simply ask for your own table and we will arrange it for you. Maybe we will meet you personally next time.
Gabi ( the German owner )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Great staff. Great food.

Safari tours super , had a real different view from Chobe River Tours. Saw lots of animals there.

I was needing laundry done as had another week in Kenya booked. Laundry was done as complimentary . Great service Indeed!!

Would have preferred to stay here instead of going to Livingstone Hotel in Zambia booked for our tour to Victoria Falls. More personal touch st this lodge.
I was not aware of Victoria Falls being so close to this area as a day trip.

Evening supervisor eats with the clientele. Great way too learn about the area.

All staff very helpful. Would come to stay here again if I travel to Botswana again.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view of the river
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathyloo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Garden Lodg... K, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

I would like to say thank you for your comments. Wonderful to learn you had a fantastic time and enjoyed all we are doing. Maybe we will meet next time at the lodge.
Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

I loved my stay at the Garden Lodge and I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and make it easy to set up game drives or boat trips or whatever your heart desires.

At the end of a busy (or lazy and relaxing) day everyone returns to the lodge for dinner served together which provides a great way to learn about other people and hear about their adventures.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathanh590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Garden Lodg... K, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Many thanks for your comment, and sorry for my late response. I had been away. Lovely you liked what we do and enjoyed our service and atmosphere. Hope to see you again at the lodge.
Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We had a family room with a beautiful balcony overlooking the garden and the Chobe river flowing at the bottom, and spent many peaceful hours here reading or watching birds. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. The staff were always helpful, polite and friendly. We have no complaints about anything and would love to return one day...

Room Tip: Nothing could better the ones over-looking the river!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Greetings from Kasane.
It was a real pleasure having you in our lodge and we would love to have you all again.

Take care,
Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

A-MA-ZING! This was my happy place for three days. Not only is the lodge very welcoming and comfortable but the people make it like home. John picked us up from the airport and was always quick with hello and how is your stay every time we ran into him. Mark and Emily were awesome hosts, sharing loads of insights, tips, and were genuinely interested in who we were as people and how to make the most of our trip. Phil was always super generous and even took us out on 2 game drives during our stay. I think he would have bent over backwards to share the beauty and wonder of Chobe with us. Quick-witted Craig was also a wonderful host and always guaranteed we were having a good time. Lastly, our river guide Gaba was more than we could have asked for. It was such a pleasure getting to know him and learning about Botswana and the wildlife from him.

Our room was extremely comfortable with all the necessary amenities. The service was spectacular throughout. The chef is extremely talented - I probably gained a few pounds in three days!

I will absolutely be back! Thank you for our wonderful stay!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenl0dge, Owner at The Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Wow, that is the most amazing compliment. You have me speechless. How wonderful you liked us the why we run the lodge and look after our guests, all compliments will be passed onto the staff to share this.
Maybe we see you again one other time.

Take care,
Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews