We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly. Everything you've read on this hotel are true. Trip advisor hasn't failed me yet!

We stayed for 3 nights. The room was spacious and the bathroom was nice. The fresh fruit was a nice touch. The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we wanted to spend most of our time at the temples. We did early starts and took breaks at the hotel in between since it isn't far away.

We reserved a transportation by car and hotel package which was great since it was so hot. Our driver Sin was great as he took us everywhere, even early starts, and picked up and dropped off at the airport. He was so helpful and always had cold towels and water for us.
We also hired a tour guide for 2 full days, Mr. Vanny. He was so knowledgable about all the temples so if you really want to learn about history, religion and anything related to Angkor, he is amazing. So if you stay at Pavillon D'orient, definitely ask for Sin and Vanny.

The hotel also provided tuk tuk drivers for the evening so it was easy to go to town and have dinner and walk around. Town was only about 10 min away.

I would definitely recommend a stay here. A bit more expensive than other places but worth it if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank torontogirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Being a boutique hotel, Pavillon d'Orient - Angkor definitely provides a more unique experience than staying at one of those large hotels from international chains. It is of course not the "grand chique", but it is charming. Upon entering the premises, the sight of the colonial mansions amidst the lush greenery and the warm smile of the receptionist immediately make you feel at home. Although the hotel is not "rated" with stars, it is definitely not disappointing: the rooms are tastefully furnished with beds with spring mattresses, a flat-screen television and a nice bathroom with a shower, washbasin and bath tub. I particularly liked the warm and earthy color palette of the rooms, which adds to their comfort. There is also complementary wi-fi Internet access. Just outside the two rooms we booked was the salt-water swimming pool. The colorful garden surrounding it is definitely a plus, especially for those who would like to stay away from the harmful rays of the sun. The restaurant is small, but their isn't a very big number of guests staying at once. A buffet breakfast, with warm food items that you can ask (croissants, eggs, bacon, fried rice...) is served here every morning. But that just adds to the charm of the hotel. There is a limited selection of Cambodian and western dishes, but there is a daily menu is available. Service is fast and a bit overly friendly, but at least it is a genuine friendliness that seems rather natural to the Cambodians. At least two staff members surround your table at once while they place refreshing towels, and serve drinks and the dishes with a big smile, of course. As for the location, the hotel is quite far from Siem Reap's touristic center, but when you book your rooms directly with Pavillon d'Orient, you get a complimentary tuk tuk/remork-moto and a driver with each room. They will take around the Angkor temples, to Tonle Sap lake and its surroundings, as well as to Siem Reap town until 10pm. Airport transfer by car or van is also included.

I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone spending their holiday at Siem Reap.

DON'T READ ON IF YOU DON'T WANT TO HAVE THE HOTEL'S LITTLE SURPRISES SPOILT FOR YOU!

Pavillon d'Orient really knows how to deal with guests and make them feel special. Upon our arrival at 8 am, the staff let us sit in the reception area and rushed towards us with refreshing towels, lemongrass iced tea and slices of chocolate fudge cake from the breakfast buffet (for the children, including me, although I'm in my teenage years). The receptionist then approached us with a handful of papers and warmly welcomed us to the hotel. She gave us a paper showing where we can go with our complementary tuk tuk/remork-moto, handed us a map of the Angkor temples and Siem Reap town, let us borrow the "Ancient Angkor" guide to the temples, and gave us a pamphlet with Cambodian phrases and customs. To our surprise, she also handed us one coupon each for a 30-minute massage at their spa! My mother and I used up two of the coupons, and then she used up the remaining ones to have a one-hour aromatic massage.

We were then shown our rooms, which were on the ground floor of one of the mansions. While the receptionist explained the rooms features, another staff member entered with a complementary bottle of red wine (!), which we later changed into cans of soft drinks because we don't really like wine. My mother absolutely enjoyed the daily fruit baskets (bananas, longan, mangosteen) and drinking water was free of charge (even when you sit at the reception lounge for 5 minutes, the staff serves ice cold water for free). In the evening, when we returned from dinner at Pub Street in town, there was a bunch of papers lying on one of our beds. The first was a weekly weather forecast, the second a movie-schedule for Cinemax and HBO, and finally a rolled up Cambodian bed-time story - what other hotel gives you that?!

On our second day, we went to visit the Angkor temples. It was possible to hire a guide through the hotel for US$ 25, but my father isn't particularly interested in the temples' history. Either way, the map, the guide book and the drivers had enough knowledge to give us a comprehensive 3-day tour of Angkor, and we saved on some money not having to pay for a transportation to and from the hotel. I must say that the I admire the endurance of the drivers. The two of them were with us from 9 am to 9:30 pm (of course with a couple of hours of break in between), and patiently waited for us as we visited each temple.

When we returned to have our last night at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by a stack of Cambodian kramas (checked scarves) lying on our bed, a farewell gift from the hotel. Because we had our flight at 8 pm the next day, the hotel was so kind to let us stay at one of their rooms free of charge, as there were some available. Other hotels would charge you for that. When my father checked out, we received some little Angkor Wat pins, another nice gesture.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rofthecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is just lovely. I can hardly add anything new to what others have written, but I highly recommend it. I am mostly writing in to add another recommendation for one of their tour guides, Sokphai Cham. He is wonderful and knowledgeable. He (and the hotel!) made the trip a real success. Our driver was also great - Mr. Tola.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights with our children aged 13 & 15, we all loved this quaint hotel. It is not of 5 star standard but the staff more than make up for it. The rooms are clean, my only gripe being they need to invest in new bed linen. The little extras make for a wonderful stay including the transfers and the free tuk tuk is fantastic. Our driver was Mr Tee and he was simply marvelous, so helpful and very obliging. Miss Phally in reception was a delight and we adored the local art works for sale. Yes it is aprox10 min by tuk tuk from town but you will appreciate this peaceful oasis at the end of a hard day visiting the wonderful sights. Lovely hotel filled with wonderful people! Thank you for our gifts. X

Room Tip: I would go for upper level as you can guarantee a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandyC195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is an outstanding hotel on so many levels. It is a small hotel, which we loved. The tropical setting with old world colonial style was a perfect oasis at the end of a busy day. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The rooms were large with lovely private balconies, more private if you are upstairs, there is only the ground floor and first floor. The breakfast is outstanding with everything you could wish for provided. The value for money is exceptional with so many extras provided, such as a tuk tuk from sunrise until 10.00pm. The highlight of our stay was the three days we spent being driven around the temples by our tuk tuk driver who couldn't have been more helpful and did his utmost to make our stay enjoyable, showing us not only the temples but also his Cambodia. Mary

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

On walking into the reception area you are immediately aware of being somewhere special . A hotel that is stylish, clean, calm and sophisticated.

The staff were super; relaxed, friendly and attentive when needed. They float around the hotel being observant, helpful but not obtrusive. Trips were organised efficiently, taxi and tuk-tuk drivers arrived on time, were charming and safe.

I checked out prices for these services in town and there wasn't a noticeable difference. You can have absolute confidence that if the recommend a guide, driver, tour or restaurant then they will be excellent and good value.

Free airport pick-up and tuk-tuk for the duration of your stay are big pluses.

The rooms are simply lovely,clean, quiet, comfortable and stylish.

Food was again super. Breakfast can provide the full eggs and bacon experience on request however most will be more than satisfied by the beautiful french toast, yogurt, fruit and cereal. Definitely go for the French toast.

For lunch one day my wife had what she described as one of the the best sandwiches she has ever had, and we shared a very tasty evening meal Khmer style. Wines were reason.ably priced and of a decent standard.

Lastly, I cannot stress too much the contribution made by the staff. Throughout Cambodia we found charming, intelligent, smiling people who are working very hard to build a new future for themselves and their families. The Pavillon team are definitively up there with the best we have come across anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great hotel in Siem Reap with tropical feel. Nice spacious rooms. Great service and support staff. A little far from town but the free tuk tuk totally makes up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0vetotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
5.8 km away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 373 in Siem Reap
884 reviews
2.9 km away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 373 in Siem Reap
612 reviews
1.4 km away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 373 in Siem Reap
3,785 reviews
2.5 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
2.2 km away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $102 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing