We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite in Siem Reap”
Review of Chamkar

Chamkar
Ranked #87 of 1,030 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We had dinner twice here, first on Good Friday and loved the food and flavours so much we returned again last night. Certainly was just as good. My husband who is not a vegetarian said if all vegetarian tasted this good he would not hesitate to turn complete vegetarian.
This place is very small so you have be lucky to get a table , don't risk missing out, make a reservation.
I loved a dip called the wedding day dip so much that i asked for the recipe which they kindly gave to me so i can now try this at home.
Really is my number place.
Thank you for these incredible flavours and the attentiveness .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Chamkar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you so Much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Very tasty food, lots of choice for Vegans. Reasonably priced for what you get. Very well presented. Staff were very friendly. In a nice area. Choice if upstairs and downstairs seating.

Thank 960jossl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Chamkar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

As three vegetarian friends travelling around Cambodia, we wanted to finish our visit with traditional Kamai food, and knew we had to give Chamkar a try. It exceeded all our expectations. We arrived for a late dinner, and had the restaurant to ourselves. The place doesn't look like much, but every dish on the menu was better than the last - the colours and flavours and vibrant and complex. Plus, you can get a double of Jameson Whiskey for $2 (don't ask me how). Go!

Thank ASViney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Chamkar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank You!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Very good veggie restaurant.
Good atmosphere and decoration. We tried the tofu and the Khmer curry and both were very good.
Cherry on the cake, we ordered two pina colada and the cocktails were delicious.

The meals are not cheap ( around 5-6$ per meal ) but it worth it!

Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Chamkar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

It was our first night in Cambodia and we went in search of a vegetarian restaurant in the centre of town, but far enough away from the lights and noise of Pub Street. This intimate restaurant is located down a nearby side street, and offers great service and delicious food. We ordered an appetizer, curry, and salad to share - all of them were mouthwateringly delicious, but our favorite was the Wedding Day Dip which is a creamy coconut and mushroom dip with toasted peanuts served with baguette. Amazing! I need to learn how to make this. Never tasted a flavor combination like this before. Very memorable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chamkar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chamkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing