We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“cheap and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ranked #169 of 332 Hotels in Siem Reap
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“cheap and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Besides the free breakfast don't bother with the restaurant. However, it was cheap convenient and had helpful staff.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BevyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    106
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
97
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A free tuk-tuk service from the guesthouse will take you to the accompdation on arrival if you notify the Owner in advance. The owner and staff are sincere and friendly, and are ready to assist in your travel plan at SR. A welcome drink of banana shake and a plate of fruits will be served when you arrive. The room we had was clean, spacious though basic. No problem, we like it. Good cable TV is available in the guestroom with a attached bathroom. However, the water pressure is weak at the standing shower if you are on level 3. You can expect free internet service and breakfast is served as well. Great place. Thanks to all and Mr Meng.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Tasom Guesthouse is a great place for value. Not only is the customer service good, but the facilities (wi-fi, minibar, bicycle rental, free breakfast), location (relatively near to the markets and city centre), staff are also great (friendly and helpful). Highly-recommended, we're throughly happy to have stayed in Tasom Guesthouse.

Adam. Malaysia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam-noor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Actually I owe this review for 1 year already .. I'm sorry Mr Meng haha ... i Travel on march 2011 with 2 friends.
Mr Meng pick me up early in airport .. He's on time ..
The room is clean, and nice,
I also take 1 tour guide to help me and bring us to Angkor
Last day in siem reap .. Mr. meng drive his car and bring us to Tonle sap Lake ..
It was very nice of him ..
I also miss the welcome drink .. very nice .. banana manggo drink .. slurp

Hope can go back to reap again one day

ps. For my Indonesian friends ... Nginep di sini bagus dan murah :)

Room Tip: I get 3 beds room on 3rd floor and its big enough for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musashi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in Ta Som Guesthouse for 3 nights (November 26-28, 2011). We were picked up by the tuk-tuk from Mekong Express bus terminal (included in the package). Upon arrival, we were served with banana shakes and cold towels. Our room was spacious and clean.

PROS: They have several breakfast options (all served with coffee or tea and fruits); Caltex is just beside the guesthouse; Angkor Archaeological Park is just 10 minutes away; free tuk-tuk ride to Pub Street (5 minutes away | 10-15 minutes by foot); soap and shampoo were provided; being a Capitol tour branch office, I was also able to book us bus seats to Bangkok; souvenir :D

CONS (minor): It takes some time for the aircon to cool the room; the TV has limited English channels; the room only has a 'makeshift' cabinet; I don't know why but the beds were too high; towels were not changed daily (I think you have to request for it)

If you're looking for cheap but comfortable place to stay in Siem Reap, you might want to consider Ta Som Guesthouse.

More of my review here: http://www.excursionista.net/2012/01/exploring-indochina-ta-som-guesthouse.html

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Excursionista14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

So we stayed here based on the great reviews. And we liked it. But it is a guesthouse, not luxury accommodations. We knew it wouldn't be as luxurious but even with lower expectations, we were still slightly disappointed with the room. As far as the service, the food and our tuk tuk driver, Moori, five stars. Accommodations: 2.5 stars. Here's why:

Pros:
-Location is close to the center of Siem Reap. We were able to walk to everything in Siem Reap (although a tuk tuk to the markets is really cheap too if you don't want to walk).
-Breakfast was very tasty and really good options. The noodles were fantastic. The bread with the Western breakfasts was SO good.
-The bed was comfy
-Arrangements were made for transportation (buses) very easily
-They had their own tuk tuk drivers so if you wanted one, you didn't have to look for one
-Free wifi. There were also two computers.
-Free airport pick up in tuk tuk was awesome
-The welcome drink was refreshing and tasty
-They gave a small but thoughtful gift upon departure
-Moori, the driver. He was fantastic. He actually deserves his own review. (see below)

Cons:
-The electricity was controlled by your room key. So when you leave the room, it goes off. This is understandable since electricity is expensive in Cambodia however, this meant that the fridge went off when you weren't in the room. This resulted in a smelly fridge from turning on and off. And obviously it prevented you from chilling things while out of the room. They should put the fridge on a separate switch so it doesn't shut off
-The air conditioning wasn't very strong. It never seemed to get cool enough
-Very few outlets in the room
-There were lots of ants in the bathroom. I don't mind a few bugs here and there but it was a lot.
-There is no separate shower area. The shower is mounted on the wall in the bathroom and there is no curtain, no blocked off shower area. So this meant the floor was always wet and it was just kind of gross to be showering while looking right at the sink and toilet. We had to wear sandals in the bathroom. Both the shower and the ants significantly contributed to our negative views on the guesthouse.

Separate note about Moori:
He was fantastic. He was our driver for 3 days and we went all over! We visited 15 temples and a floating village. Although not technically a guide, he would always tell us about the places we were visiting and he was very knowledgeable. He was friendly and spoke very good English (he told us he was taking classes a couple times weekly to improve even more). When we went to the floating village, he came along with us on the boat. We couldn't have asked for a better guy! He was fabulous.

Overall, we probably would not stay in the guesthouse again but it wasn't a negative experience. We just know that we could probably find a place with a better bathroom and no ants. We would definitely use Moori as a driver again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laina990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

A very clean guesthouse with quite comfortable beds. Has everything that you need after a day exploring the temples - hot water (not that you will want it!), a/c, breakfast included, & comfy beds! You can hire bikes from them for $1/day or a tuk tuk to take you wherever you want to go. Whilst it's not terribly located, it is a good 10 min walk downtown & to Pub St. This didn't bother us as we were happy to walk everywhere but if you want to be near the action and go out you might want to stay closer. The staff were very friendly & helpful! The free airport pick up was a big help!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dingo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 km away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#140 of 332 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 km away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#129 of 332 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.9 km away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#298 of 332 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Xing Angkor Hotel
Xing Angkor Hotel
#190 of 332 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 km away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#102 of 332 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.1 km away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#159 of 332 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Property: Ta Som Guesthouse
Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 63000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 332 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing