We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
127
114
30
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
114
30
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukbudget staynational roadfree breakfastlucky mallthe room was nicelaundry servicecaltexmrtoursfridgeguideacconstoothbrushessoap
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 286 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose this budget guesthouse on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. Unfortunately, we can't agree with the consensus. Yes it was cheap at $US68 for four nights but it wasn't worth it. Our first room (ground floor) had no WiFi, a toilet door that wouldn't close, no hot water system (the power cable hung from the wall). We changed rooms (top floor) and gained hot water and WiFi but it was so hot in the middle of the day the air-con couldn't cope. The toilet leaked across the bathroom floor.
Breakfast is terrible. We tried both coffee and tea but both were undrinkable due to scale build up in kettle. We sourced coffee in the Caltex servo next door. No room service withour asking and then it is very skimpy. We had to request more toilet paper.
Beds are good. Staff try very hard and are very polite. Location is OK but I wouldn't dream of staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a ground or 1st floor room but check ALL facilities before unpacking and paying.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hinchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

After a bit of a wait at the bus station for the free pick-up, and initially been given a top-floor room which was too hot, my stay here has been very comfortable.

The A/C double room i had was $12 with a fridge, cable TV, hot shower and the usual bottles of water, towels, soap and loo roll etc. The fridge was a god-send as it was about 10,000 degrees celsius outside from 10am onwards. Cracking open an ice-cold beverage when returning to the room was sheer bliss. There's also a simple breakfast included in the price which, as the guesthouse is a little way from the tourist centre, is totally adequate to get you started for the day.

The staff were friendly - it was the first time during 3 months of SE Asia travel that the receptionist did more than just show me the room and take my money. They remembered my name and helped me out with travel and stuff.

I had seen a discount on their website if you stay more than 4 nights which made it even better value.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15peter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ta Som in January 2013 and for the price we were not expecting much more than just a place to get our heads down but we were very wrong.
For the fantastic price of what converted to around £8 they arranged to pick us up from the bus after our long journey from Phnom Penh, we had fruit and water in the room and breakfast the next day?!
The room was newly painted, clean and spacious and the bathroom facilities were better than some we'd had in hotels for 10x the price. They had also provided a little emergency travel kit with disposable toothbrush, shampoo etc.
The free wi-fi and computers for you to use were great - especially when you needed to print our tickets and itineraries!
The hotel owner and all the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and arranged 2 fantastic trips for us. Definitely book through the hotel for your trip to Angkor Wat as the Tuk Tuk prices are much cheaper and you have your Tuk Tuk for the day. Our Tuk Tuk driver was lovely, he gave us helpful tips and intersting information about Siem Reap. He took us to a fantastic local workshop where disabled and disadvantaged Cambodians make the most beautiful carvings, painting and ornaments and it wasnt a scam - it was free to go and look around even with a guide provided.
When we go back to Siem Reap we will most definitely stay here again - even if we had the cash to spare on a more luxurious hotel we felt this had the everything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were booked for 3 nights at this guest house, however when we arrived we were told that there was no electricity in part of Siem Reap due to an accident that damaged some major power lines. Therefore, we checked out the next day as the temperature was at 36 C and no breeze.
The hotel manager was very understanding and helpful, and at the 2-3 hours we did had some A/C the hotel room was great, clean, good A/C, well working shower. The hotel is in a convenient location. The breakfast was very nice as well, all in all great value for your money. We would have loved to stay the extra 2 nights, hopefully next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We've stayed here for 5 nights and were very pleased by the hotel. When we arrived we had to pay the room upfront, which was a bit strange for us (in Cambodia). Staff is very friendly and helpfull. We used their tuktuk service to visit the tempels, which were good priced and the driver spoke proper English. Also the bustrip to Bangkok that we booked at the hotel was OK. Good place to stay for a low price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews