We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
127
114
30
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
114
30
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukbudget staynational roadfree breakfastlucky mallthe room was nicelaundry servicecaltexmrtoursfridgeguideacconstoothbrushessoap
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 286 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Our room was $15, and our first night we were greeted by smoothies and a fruit plate. The air conditioning was a tad on the weak side, but there was a fan as well. We liked having a mini fridge, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast is included and has six options, two eggs various ways with a mini baguette and butter and jam with tea or coffee, or noodles various ways with tea or coffee. We used the tuk tuk driver they have on site (we would spell his name "Saul" in the states but I'm not sure of it's actual spelling). He was not at all obnoxious like all the tuk tuk drivers you encounter on the street. As with most southeast Asian bathrooms, be careful! The entire floor is drenched after a shower so stepping in or out can be quite slick. This place is a ten minute walk to pub street, but was a much better experience than a place we stayed that was $15 and closer.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaitlinK1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I chose this guesthouse based on the previous tripadvisor reviews and truly it is very basic and budget with no frills. Maybe their service has gone down a bit recently, but for the price, you can't complain too much...
Pros: Communication online before arrival was very good. We were picked up at the airport by tuk-tuk (though our flight was late). Arranged Angkor Wat tour tuk-tuk driver and English speaking guide and also, bus down to Phnom Penh with them. Room was clean and AC was great. Free breakfast and food in general was tasty. Staff was helpful once engaged.
Cons: Our room was on the ground floor, next to lobby and kitchen, so it was loud and our bathroom door wouldn't close. Service was not great. We were never offered fruit shakes or complimentary bottles of water. One major annoyance was that the tuk tuk driver, arranged by the guesthouse, took us to see the sunrise and then strongly suggested, in pretty good English, that we go to his friend's restaurant for breakfast. When I said "no thanks," he became upset and basically took us back to the guesthouse (which was fine because we were meeting our guide there anyways) and told us he was too busy to drive us around for the rest of the day. The guesthouse arranged for another tuk tuk driver in his place, but the entire episode seemed shady and unnecessary....it was way too hot for that kind of tantrum!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose this budget guesthouse on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. Unfortunately, we can't agree with the consensus. Yes it was cheap at $US68 for four nights but it wasn't worth it. Our first room (ground floor) had no WiFi, a toilet door that wouldn't close, no hot water system (the power cable hung from the wall). We changed rooms (top floor) and gained hot water and WiFi but it was so hot in the middle of the day the air-con couldn't cope. The toilet leaked across the bathroom floor.
Breakfast is terrible. We tried both coffee and tea but both were undrinkable due to scale build up in kettle. We sourced coffee in the Caltex servo next door. No room service withour asking and then it is very skimpy. We had to request more toilet paper.
Beds are good. Staff try very hard and are very polite. Location is OK but I wouldn't dream of staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a ground or 1st floor room but check ALL facilities before unpacking and paying.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hinchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

After a bit of a wait at the bus station for the free pick-up, and initially been given a top-floor room which was too hot, my stay here has been very comfortable.

The A/C double room i had was $12 with a fridge, cable TV, hot shower and the usual bottles of water, towels, soap and loo roll etc. The fridge was a god-send as it was about 10,000 degrees celsius outside from 10am onwards. Cracking open an ice-cold beverage when returning to the room was sheer bliss. There's also a simple breakfast included in the price which, as the guesthouse is a little way from the tourist centre, is totally adequate to get you started for the day.

The staff were friendly - it was the first time during 3 months of SE Asia travel that the receptionist did more than just show me the room and take my money. They remembered my name and helped me out with travel and stuff.

I had seen a discount on their website if you stay more than 4 nights which made it even better value.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15peter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ta Som in January 2013 and for the price we were not expecting much more than just a place to get our heads down but we were very wrong.
For the fantastic price of what converted to around £8 they arranged to pick us up from the bus after our long journey from Phnom Penh, we had fruit and water in the room and breakfast the next day?!
The room was newly painted, clean and spacious and the bathroom facilities were better than some we'd had in hotels for 10x the price. They had also provided a little emergency travel kit with disposable toothbrush, shampoo etc.
The free wi-fi and computers for you to use were great - especially when you needed to print our tickets and itineraries!
The hotel owner and all the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and arranged 2 fantastic trips for us. Definitely book through the hotel for your trip to Angkor Wat as the Tuk Tuk prices are much cheaper and you have your Tuk Tuk for the day. Our Tuk Tuk driver was lovely, he gave us helpful tips and intersting information about Siem Reap. He took us to a fantastic local workshop where disabled and disadvantaged Cambodians make the most beautiful carvings, painting and ornaments and it wasnt a scam - it was free to go and look around even with a guide provided.
When we go back to Siem Reap we will most definitely stay here again - even if we had the cash to spare on a more luxurious hotel we felt this had the everything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews