We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$221
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Temple Hotel(Siem Reap)
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
186
123
40
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
123
40
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukwooden furniturepub streetswimming poolthe hotel offersmini fridgefirst floorclean roomsbreakfast was includedsmall hotelold marketangkorairportcambodiatourskimguide
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 371 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were sad to leave! We had a wonderful experience at Shining Angkor and Siem Reap - a highlight of our trip. The friendly service of all the staff (night manager, Khim, in particular), beautiful/clean rooms, magnificent traditional wood furniture throughout...all at a reasonable price. The close location to the temples was very convenient, especially since I enjoyed multiple sunrises at Angkor Wat (a can't miss). Free tuk-tuks into the town center were also a plus - just $2 to get back to the hotel at night and out of the fray of all the traffic/noise. Based on other reviews of the hotel, I would agree that they are persistent in wanting to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible (booking excursions, transportation, etc.) but we didn't find it to be annoying. The included breakfast was good & featured options each morning to order (not a buffet, thank goodness). My one minor complaint was the dogs barking/fighting and roosters crowing all night, every night - not much you can do about that & we chalked it up to part of the adventure. All in all, a terrific hotel in an enchanting place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Angkor Shining is a nice hotel. I liked the wooden bed but the good things stop there. From the minute we arrived the reception staff were trying to hassle us into booking tours through them for every waking moment we would spend in Siem Reap. We told them we would think about it and let them know if we wanted to book any. That wasn't enough, we were receiving phone calls to our room every morning asking what we were doing and if we were going to book. We went to eat breakfast and could't relax as the waiter was trying to sell bus trips! We felt extremely under pressure and it was not enjoyable. The staff were visibly annoyed when we turned down their offers and became stand offish which was very awkward, We also found them to be untrustworthy as we asked them to book tickets for the Mekong Delta to Ho Chi Minh City and they told us the route was no longer in service we would have to book with a bus company they recommended. Eh no thanks, we checked and obviously the route is in service so booked ourselves. I purchesed (over priced) stamps and postcards from the hotel which they said they would post and never have. The location isn't great either and the room smelled really badly of rubbish om outside. There was a lot of building work going on next to it which was noisy from early in the morning till late at night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak, Manager at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Greetings from Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, Siem Reap, Cambodia

We are very sorry that your experience at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel did not meet your expectations. We will make it as a practice to share all your comments with our staffs and management team. Your comment is very helpful for us to improve our attention and service.

Actually, we just want to explain you that we always tried our best to make you feel comfortable but please understand that you were here in the busy time and all our driver they were busy with another guests too.. our staff tried to ask you two time, it is not meaning we pushed you to do what you don't want to do but we just want to make sure and take time to find another best driver for you. We are very disappointed to make you feel like this but please kindly accept our reason and apology.

For the Room ! We always get requests and concern from the guest if they meet problem with the room and move them to another better room as normally all the hotels always had the problem like smelling from the bathroom but it is not often and its all can fix and make it better. Unfortunately we never got your requests or told us this problem. We surely can move you or upgrade you to another better room because we understand that we will get the bad reviews if we didn't try to fix the Guest's problem but in this cause you didn't tell me so how can we do it better for you.

For the Bus Ticket ! You asked us about the Ticket of Mekong Express to Vietnam but you wrote in the review is Mekong Dealta but that time we called their office and they said they stop working for a while as they had no bus enough in High Season.. but we are not sure the bus Name Mekong Dealta as you wrote.. Sometime they just sell you different company as i know some companies are using the same bus to Vietnam.. For the bus we recommend you is the bus we always recommended to another guests and we are sure that this company will take care our guests. By the ways, we never got complain from our guests about this bus company also..

We found that we got some nice reviews from our guests stayed during your were here so we still appreciate with your review about the point we have to make attention.

Please Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. It is to our regret we were not able to offer a completely satisfying experience this time.

Kind Regards,
Vannak Chan
Manager at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We booked two rooms at the last minute rate of $33 each. The hotel upgraded us to the rooms with the gorgeous wood beds. I just couldn't believe we were paying so little for such nice rooms - even by Cambodian standards. It is a bit out of town, but the trade off is you are closer to the temples. I did appreciate very much the free tuk-tuk rides into town (we paid $2 to get back each night.) I also recommend the $7 Khmer massage, very different from the western type but a good experience over all. The staff were very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is special – we had a wonderful stay. A 4-Star hotel with 5-Star amenities and the personalized staff attention we commonly get at the $200 a night hotels.

We bought the 3-day ticket to visit the site. The first day we biked the mini-route, the second day we rented a tuk tuk for the outer ruins ($15/day - std rate) and the third day we visited Angkor Wat’s main temple (with a bike). This hotel is the closest nice hotel to the site, which makes its location perfect for those that want to use a bike (which we’d recommend – flat ground and a slow and easy way to see the site). The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the site by bike. The hotel has bikes to rent ($2/day - not the best bikes but okay because it's easy biking).

A full-American type breakfast is included. They don’t surcharge for Visa/MasterCard usage. They also don’t up-charge you for any tours or side trips you might book through them. The hotel is located a short distance from the city’s restaurants…but they have a courtesy tuk tuk available for your use. They give you 1 free ride into town/day and then they charge you a discount rate for the return (normal “tourist” tuk tuk rate in town is $3 – the hotel only charges $2 for the return). The locals pay $1 for most tuk tuk rides…so this setup gives you the same rate as the locals. After dinner we always gave the restaurant waiter the phone number of the hotel and they called for our return ride.

The room was “eat-off-the-floor” clean and the hotel is quiet because it’s located away from the bustle of town. Our room (superior design) had a mini-fridge and complimentary water was delivered each day. Its a small boutique-type hotel and we came at a busy time and booked too late to get a Balcony room. If you plan on coming during high-season you should book early if you want the bigger rooms. The pool is not the biggest but a perfect place to kick back with a drink after a day at the site.

Re Internet: We had a room on the first floor and had perfect connection and speed. We needed to have our flight itinerary printed out to get a Thai visa and the staff was very helpful with this service and didn't charge for the copies.

We travel a lot and have found that certain hotels “are managed with your feelings in mind”...this would be one of those type of hotels. We'd recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wind4ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Even if it's not so close to the city center, this hotel is so nice and quiet that it worths the distance. Nice, wooden hotel with large and clean rooms. Staff in friendly and helpful, taxi prices are the best..and wifi internet is for free!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilacav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews