We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haven - MOVED

Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Asian, Cambodian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An oasis for our guests and a safe place for our «family», the trainees and staff. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, but away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street, we offer you a beautiful haven to relax and indulge. While enjoying a dish from our special selection of flavourful Asian and Western food – including some Swiss specialties and many fresh vegetarian tidbits – you are supporting our training programme and are thereby helping disadvantaged young adults to achieve a secure and independent future.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a fantastic idea to train and help those who need it.
The food is beyond belief, especially the local Khymer Food.
The service is amazing and you know it's also going to a good cause, which is training good young adults who grew up in orphanages.
I HIGHLY recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review and for recommending us. So happy you like the idea/concept of our training restaurant and that you so greatly support it. Yes, we really do have amazing guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    478
    103
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you only go to one place, then this is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Wow, just got back, 08 April 2012, what a place. Amazing food, and such a good idea. Yes it's slightly more than the average place on pub street by so, so worth every penny. Let's not forget your paying $5 US for a main course that back in Europe would set you back £10-15!!!! It's worth the exstra $2.50, trust me. They train young people who have come to the age of leaving an orphanage, so give them the skills to work both front and back of house. Staff are amazing, please take the time to find his place, it's amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akers50875p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Wow, being considered THE place to go to, if you only go to one place is a massive big compliment. We're so happy you enjoyed our food, our trainees/staff efforts and our concept and send a big Thank You your way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food and brilliant concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We loved Haven and had both a lunch and dinner at this great training restaurant during our stay in Siem Reap. It has a simple menu with both Cambodian and Western options. Very convenient to Pub street and all the markets.
Food is well presented and it was very reassuring to see the very hygienic kitchen in operation. Well worth a visit

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Having guests return to HAVEN for another meal is always the biggest compliment for us. So thank you for your kindness and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and a worthy cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Haven is just superb! The food is excellent and we ate here twice during our stay in Siem Reap. The restuarant has a great atmosphere and gentle background music that will have you feet tapping. On each of our visits the service from staff and trainees was the best we experienced in SR and the food was high quality fare at ridculously low prices. I would recommend you try this place at least once while in town and when yousee how cheap the bill is remeber to leave a large tip. Every penny goes toward training the locals and providing skills for a better life. Eating here beats giving money to people on the streets and helps in a more structured way that benefits the country a its people for a long time into the future. Great place and great work by all concerned.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riverdanceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
I can't wait to pass on your compliments to our staff and trainees, which will make them all very proud - including us!!! Your kind words mean a lot to us and we all thank you for your support. All the best and keep those feet tapping!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just try it...you will go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Please, please, please make the effort to look beyond Pub Street as this has to be the best eating place in SR if you are looking excellent quality food at a very reasonable price. The menu is not over large which makes it much easier to choose if you are new to Cambodia or SEA (quantity of dishes over quality seems to be the norm in most places). The staff are polite and there to help you if you need them and not constantly hovering over you. Haven has a good atmosphere for a family or group meal or an intimate dinning experience for couples as the tables are not crowded together to give you the feeling of your own space. Go there, you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliChoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for recommending HAVEN. We're really happy you enjoyed your visit and do hope, that you will be back again! Take care and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haven also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing