We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended varied menu”
Review of Haven - MOVED

Haven
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Cambodian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An oasis for our guests and a safe place for our «family», the trainees and staff. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, but away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street, we offer you a beautiful haven to relax and indulge. While enjoying a dish from our special selection of flavourful Asian and Western food – including some Swiss specialties and many fresh vegetarian tidbits – you are supporting our training programme and are thereby helping disadvantaged young adults to achieve a secure and independent future.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended varied menu”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Family ranged from grandparents to granddaughter and we all found something to suit our tastes and our mood on the night. Restaurant has a fantastic ethic providing opportunity for disadvantaged young people.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peteandann2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
It was really nice having you and your whole family at Haven and treating you all with our different dishes. It is important to us to present a menu that is small (quality over quantity) but still offers a big variety for the different likings - so we very much appreciate your noticing this. Thank you for your review and have a safe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,355
    478
    103
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice experience of a different kind”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had dinner there after somebody recommended and the service and food were top. Prices are a bid higher than other places, but if you see the kitchen, you think you are in top western restaurant and not a 3rd world country. A great way to train local students what western tourists expect, in terms of tidyness and qualty. Well done team.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We're so happy we could enable you to this nice experience and that you enjoyed it so much. And I look forward to pass on your compliment to the whole team! Thank you for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven in Haven!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I went to this restaurant to support Sara and Paul with this fantastic initiative and due to the positive ratings on Trip Advisor.
I was not disappointed. The food was AMAZING. I have been in Siem Reap for 2 weeks now and this was the best food I've had so far!
The vegetable tempura was light and delicious. The Beef Lok Lak (Cambodian dish) was very tasty and you could tell that only the most fresh vegetables and best cut of meat was used.
If I had not known beforehand I would never have guessed that this was a restaurant with trainees. I received the best service that I have encountered since being in Cambodia.
A wonderful meal - I will certainly go back again and encourage you to do so too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
I feel like I'm in heaven, after reading your review. Not many travelers stay this long in Siem Reap, so being said to have the best food so far is just: WooHoo!!! And the compliments to our trainees raise a loud: Yay!!! Thanks so much for that and hope to see you very soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a fantastic idea to train and help those who need it.
The food is beyond belief, especially the local Khymer Food.
The service is amazing and you know it's also going to a good cause, which is training good young adults who grew up in orphanages.
I HIGHLY recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review and for recommending us. So happy you like the idea/concept of our training restaurant and that you so greatly support it. Yes, we really do have amazing guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you only go to one place, then this is a must!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Wow, just got back, 08 April 2012, what a place. Amazing food, and such a good idea. Yes it's slightly more than the average place on pub street by so, so worth every penny. Let's not forget your paying $5 US for a main course that back in Europe would set you back £10-15!!!! It's worth the exstra $2.50, trust me. They train young people who have come to the age of leaving an orphanage, so give them the skills to work both front and back of house. Staff are amazing, please take the time to find his place, it's amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akers50875p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Wow, being considered THE place to go to, if you only go to one place is a massive big compliment. We're so happy you enjoyed our food, our trainees/staff efforts and our concept and send a big Thank You your way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haven also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing