We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant!”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #91 of 891 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The food there was delicious and quite affordable. Nice decoration, and very good service as well.
I defintely recommand !

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StanParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, great service, great food!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The restaurant is set in a large garden in a number of private huts. The restaurant is only 4 months old, so in daylight the plants looked like they needed a little time to grow in and create a bit more privacy, but as soon as the sun went down the lights and candles created a very unique atmosphere.

We called ahead and were given a free tuk tuk pick up from our hotel. This is great because the restaurant is off the main street and you might not see it just walking past.

Although one of the pricier options by Siem Reap standards (still only $5 or $6 for a main though), our flavoursome fried lemongrass fish and pork ribs were generously portioned and came with rice (unlike for example Sugar Palm were you are stingily charged $1 for 1/4 of a cup of rice).

The salads we had for starter were also tasy and fresh (apple and pomelo, and mango and dried fish).

Cocktails were great too. All the drinks were reasonably priced.

The service was attentive despite the large amounts of ground the floor staff have to cover. The young Dutch owner(?) made us feel very welcome and stopped for a chat twice to make sure everything was perfect.

This was one of the best meals we had in Siem Reap and we strongly recommend giving this young restaurant a try and spreading the word!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 42phnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

As close as you'll get to a private dinning experience, the individual pavilions and tiki torches create a really gorgeous setting. Food is well priced for what you get - try the pumpkin soup and the pork. The staff here are just fantastic. Really close to the town centre, but definitely work stepping off the beaten track for.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, delicious food!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We visited the restaurant with my friends and loved it. They offer a free pick up from the hotel, although the location would not have been hard to get to anyway. The restaurant was beautifully set up, with individual little terraces for tables. Service was excellent and staff was very friendly. The chef also came to greet us twice to our table to ask if everything was ok with the food. Food was delicious and well prepared, but still not expensive. All in all it was a most enjoyable dinner experience, and I would love to eat there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyQ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to dine with family.”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

It's a fantastic place to go with children because there is space for them to run around and a small playground for them to entertain themselves just what every parent wants so they can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine! Food and service were lovely!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pippeliboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing