We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Siem Reap”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #99 of 898 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The beautiful outdoor huts gave this restaurant a very special ambiance. The food was fresh, well presented and tasty. having been to most of the top five restaurants in Siem Reap (from trip advisor) we all voted this the best.
Could not fault the food, service or ambiance.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, food hit and miss”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beautiful individual pavilions and atmospheric lighting, this place really impresses as you enter. The food however was mixed. We had fresh spring rolls, a generous portion of 5 pieces, and the smoked fish salad. The fish salad was a bit of a let down, with very little fish, a small portion and not overly flavourful. For main we had the prawns with chili sauce which were excellent and the ribs braised in palm sugar. These were tasty but fatty, served only with rice, so looked rather unappetizing. Needs some greens or something.
Good cocktails, nice service and a beautiful environment mean this place is full of potential - but not quite there yet.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewarty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangram Garden R, Manager at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Stewarty,

Thank you first of all coming to Tangram and writing a review that helps us improving our quality of food and services. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and have taken note of your comments, which will be trained to our staff. Normally each dish from the BBQ menu comes with either french fries, mashed potatoes or plain rice and a side salad. If you didn't receive the salad, it means that our staff may have overlooked it.

As we are only 4 months open now, comments like yours will definitely help us to train our staff towards the expectations of our guests. thank you again for your comments. Once again we apologize for this and would like to invite you back for a drink on us if you happen to be in the neighborhood again.

From the Tangram Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great evironment and tasty food with reasonable price”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have went there with my girlfriends a few times but I have not time to write any comment in previous time. I went there last time beginning of April and I have spent a wonderful time during my dinner. The environment of restaurant is wonderful and the food was delicious with reasonable price too. The staff was very friendly but they need to learn a little more in order to be professional in the hospitality.

And I definitely will go there again and I love the environments and the food there.
Keep a great job!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The food there was delicious and quite affordable. Nice decoration, and very good service as well.
I defintely recommand !

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StanParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, great service, great food!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The restaurant is set in a large garden in a number of private huts. The restaurant is only 4 months old, so in daylight the plants looked like they needed a little time to grow in and create a bit more privacy, but as soon as the sun went down the lights and candles created a very unique atmosphere.

We called ahead and were given a free tuk tuk pick up from our hotel. This is great because the restaurant is off the main street and you might not see it just walking past.

Although one of the pricier options by Siem Reap standards (still only $5 or $6 for a main though), our flavoursome fried lemongrass fish and pork ribs were generously portioned and came with rice (unlike for example Sugar Palm were you are stingily charged $1 for 1/4 of a cup of rice).

The salads we had for starter were also tasy and fresh (apple and pomelo, and mango and dried fish).

Cocktails were great too. All the drinks were reasonably priced.

The service was attentive despite the large amounts of ground the floor staff have to cover. The young Dutch owner(?) made us feel very welcome and stopped for a chat twice to make sure everything was perfect.

This was one of the best meals we had in Siem Reap and we strongly recommend giving this young restaurant a try and spreading the word!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 42phnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing