We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting and nice food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #75 of 844 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We picked the Tangram Garden because of the good Tripadvisor reviews and were completely satisfied. The setting of the restaurant is lovely, you sit in you private pavilion in their garden. The area is quite, away from the noisy pub and bar street. Prices a very reasonable in comparison to what you get and our food was delicious. They offer a free pickup service from any hotel in Siem Reap.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mbloechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great family friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

went with the family, the garden had a small playground which kept the children amused till the food arrived. The food was fine, service was good. It was a bit off the beaten track but it's really a short tuk tuk ride and the restaurant can pick you up. The only surprise with the menu we had was when we ordered an assorted Khmer sweet - which we imgained to be a selection of cakes or biscuits, turned out to be stewed bananas in some coconut souop with sago.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The beautiful outdoor huts gave this restaurant a very special ambiance. The food was fresh, well presented and tasty. having been to most of the top five restaurants in Siem Reap (from trip advisor) we all voted this the best.
Could not fault the food, service or ambiance.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, food hit and miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beautiful individual pavilions and atmospheric lighting, this place really impresses as you enter. The food however was mixed. We had fresh spring rolls, a generous portion of 5 pieces, and the smoked fish salad. The fish salad was a bit of a let down, with very little fish, a small portion and not overly flavourful. For main we had the prawns with chili sauce which were excellent and the ribs braised in palm sugar. These were tasty but fatty, served only with rice, so looked rather unappetizing. Needs some greens or something.
Good cocktails, nice service and a beautiful environment mean this place is full of potential - but not quite there yet.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewarty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangram Garden R, Manager at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Stewarty,

Thank you first of all coming to Tangram and writing a review that helps us improving our quality of food and services. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and have taken note of your comments, which will be trained to our staff. Normally each dish from the BBQ menu comes with either french fries, mashed potatoes or plain rice and a side salad. If you didn't receive the salad, it means that our staff may have overlooked it.

As we are only 4 months open now, comments like yours will definitely help us to train our staff towards the expectations of our guests. thank you again for your comments. Once again we apologize for this and would like to invite you back for a drink on us if you happen to be in the neighborhood again.

From the Tangram Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great evironment and tasty food with reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have went there with my girlfriends a few times but I have not time to write any comment in previous time. I went there last time beginning of April and I have spent a wonderful time during my dinner. The environment of restaurant is wonderful and the food was delicious with reasonable price too. The staff was very friendly but they need to learn a little more in order to be professional in the hospitality.

And I definitely will go there again and I love the environments and the food there.
Keep a great job!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing