We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Angkor Wat

Ranked #2 of 142 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We went for sunrise. We left our hotel at 4:45am and arrived at the gates about a minute before it opened. I had read a travel blog about where to stand so we headed straight for the very left corner of the left reflection pool. We had a great eat spot as watched the skies change as the sun came up. We visited in July, unfortunately there was quite a bit of cloud cover so although the changing light was amazing there was no glow or change in the colours of the temple.
We took breakfast boxes from our hotel but there are many local options and annoying spruikers as you attempt to enjoy the serenity.
After sunrise we took a guide. We had planned on doing alone ( family of 4) so had a private car booked by our hotel for the day.
Used a guide once there after sunrise. There are many guides there and all uniformed. No idea if they are official though. We paid $15US FOR 1 1/2 hour tour. So glad we visited.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank O4235DRsimoneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bucket list"
in 1,236 reviews
"day pass"
in 1,314 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 2,230 reviews
"the sun rise"
in 421 reviews
"main temple"
in 454 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 443 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 324 reviews
"take your time"
in 441 reviews
"amazing temple"
in 552 reviews
"tour guide"
in 1,201 reviews
"sunrise tour"
in 330 reviews
"avoid the crowds"
in 332 reviews
"two days"
in 323 reviews
"angkor"
in 3,579 reviews
"tourists"
in 2,436 reviews
"cambodia"
in 3,754 reviews
"wat"
in 1,865 reviews
Filter

1,872 - 1,876 of 43,435 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2018

His name is Song, 28,Married, with 3 children and a 2nd year tourism student. My tuktuk driver at same time tour guide. His parents survived the genocide period in year 1975-79 killing 3M Cambodian and were slaves eating only one plate of rice everyday. His very good in english. If you happen to come around siem reap look for this guy at the western bus station. Help him to achieve his dream to buy his own tuktuk, he just renting it at 7 dollars a day.
Travel tip: Make friends with the locals they'll bring you to the best spot

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Cyril Keen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

So much history and story in one place. A must to visit if you come to Siem Reap, you will not be disappointed. There are tour guides that can talk to you about the history for a small fee. We bought a one day pass for $37, but could easily spend 2-3 days exploring the whole ‘temple city’ so many places to visit. Amazing

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 771ellyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We met Jerry on the pub street. He is an 26 year old tuktuk driver and super positive and loyal. We booked him for the next day to the Angkor Temples with an early sunrise in the morning. Many tuktuk driver offer a small of big tour, but these tours are all the same! So it will be very busy at Ta prohm, Bayon or Ta Keo.

We agreed with Jerry to make our own trip.
First Angkor Wat for the sunrise, next Ta Prohm, Ta keo, Bayon and at last Angkor Wat (to see the inside of Angkor).
It was really quiet everywere!!! Sometimes we were all alone.
The price we paid? 15 dollar
He picked us up at the hotel and brought us back.
We had a 3 day ticket to Angkor so we decided to do another dat with Jerry.
Today we went to Banteay Srei (1 hour drive) and to Preah Neak Poan, Preah Khan and Sra Sang. 20 dollar (in the hotel they asked 37 dollar).

If you want an honest good driver try Jerry.
He is super nice!
Cambodian phone number: ‭096 959 5297‬

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank sharmaines92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Every single angle of the buildings comes with special designs. Mostly made of stones and rocks. Must see and experience it!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Fyee0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Wat also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Wat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing