We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get what you pay for....”
Review of Mom's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mom's Guesthouse
Ranked #171 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Make sure you get what you pay for....”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked 3 nights at Mom's online. When we arrived we were taken through the back, past the pool to a detached bungalow type room which we presumed was just an annexe. We later found out, once we had to deal with several problems, that this was in fact another guest house - owned by different people in the same family but even though there was a family connection nobody in the main part of Mom's would ever assist us.

When we took laundry through they were going to do it but then realised we were in the other place (although we'd paid Mom's) and told us to do it ourselves across the road. We also got locked out the front gates for 1.5 hours at night as the porter wouldn't let us in as our room was at the back. He told us how to get to the back but once there that gate was locked too. Eventually, after interception from another guest, the porter let us in.

They wouldn't serve us breakfast in the main house (again, where we'd paid for...) and when we had no hot water we were told there was nothing they could do about it, it was broken in that room, and didn't offer any alternative or compensation.

If Mom's had told us we weren't actually staying with them and explained the procedures for the other place some of this bother would have been placated however we were treated with in a very rude and unfriendly manner. All of this meant that we did not have a very enjoyable stay in Siem Reap. The main part of the guest house looked nice so if you are staying there make sure you get what you are paying for!

Room Tip: Make sure you know if you are actually staying in Mom's or the guest house behind it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skipz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    80
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
84
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great guesthouse at a reasonable price. Rooms are large, clean, have tv, fridge, with complimentary water, air con and ensuite bathroom, which included a bath- not just a shower. From the hotel it is roughly a 10 minute walk, or $1 tuk tuk ride, into town where the market and night market are. Breakfast was included and comprised of omelette, toast, coffee/tea and fruit. Chhay, the manager was incredibly helpful. Also there is a pool at the back, making it even more of a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I gave Mom's a glowing review after we stayed there a year ago. Nothing has changed. It's in a good location, the place is still spotless, with 3 lovely, smiley room staff constantly sweeping and polishing throughout. Everything is well-maintained and the hotel could not be more comfortable with its large bedrooms, great beds, ample closet and table space for all one's stuff. The bathroom is both clean, roomy and highly functional.The small balcony attached to our Deluxe Double was perfect for catching the afternoon breeze and relaxing over a G&T after a long, hard Siem Reap day. The pool is still beautiful, and like everything else in the hotel, clean and inviting. What makes Mom's extra special is the level of service and attention. Mr Chhay, his wife, her mother and her brother are all ready to help and advise at the drop of a hat. We were thrilled when Mr Chhay himself drove out to Siem Reap airport to pick us up after our long journey from Australia. But a tuk-tuk accident in which we were later involved really showed Mr Chhay's mettle. On the way out to Angkor one day, a drunken driver ploughed into the tuk-tuk in which we were travelling. My wife was thrown out onto the footpath and my daughter suffered a nasty knock on the head. To cut a very long story short, Mr Chhay miraculously appeared on the scene about 10 minutes later. He then spent the next 4 or 5 hours organising medical attention for us including driving us to the hospital, acting as interpreter and intermediary between us, the doctors, police, the drunken driver and the tuk-tuk driver. He waited with us until all issues had been resolved and thorough medical examinations had been completed, finally driving us back to the hotel and making us comfortable. What more can I say? The hotel is great (and very reasonably priced), Mr Chhay's a hero and his family and staff could not be more helpful or welcoming.

Room Tip: We had Room 103 for the 2nd time in a year.It suited us down to the ground. Any Deluxe Double on thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furlquists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our stay at MOM's was amazing. We wanted to travel rather inexpensively, and MOM's lets you do that. Because of the size of our "family" -- two families traveling together, 4 adults and 7 children total, we took up alot of space. The rooms at MOM's are very big and I think we could have fit my family of 5 in one of the rooms with three beds that you see photos of. We kept the other room primarily for the extra bathroom and for flexibility when worn out kiddos (and parents!) needed naps on a few afternoons.
The day after I booked via AsiaRooms.com, Mr. Chhay called me and asked what he could do to help with our travels. I talked to him -- he called me each time -- no less than four times and negotiated our itinerary, costs, etc. He set up temple guides, vans, tuk-tuks, hot air balloon ride, Apsara dance show, road trips, etc. He matched or came in less than prices I could find online -- and he arranged it all. Mr. Chhay was very flexible -- and our plans changed almost daily based on things we wanted to see more than once, a long trip to Phnom Penh that we cancelled, etc. He made multiple adjustments with our changes, and always with a smile. Later, he even offered to drive my family to Phnom Penh because he was going there -- for a funeral.
Breakfast was good and plentiful. We stuck with their Western breakfast, which was eggs every morning. The coffee was rich and black and the different fruits each day provided some variety. He said that other breakfast options were available, but we weren't sure if the kids would eat it.
You won't find a better deal in Siem Reap. And if you do, you won't be treated as well as Mr. Chhay and his family and staff treat you.

*Please note -- I only put 4 of 5 for sleep quality because the beds are harder than my body is accustomed to...but we've experienced harder beds all over Asia, and come to expect it. Even so, my sleep was not a 5. ;) *

Room Tip: Rooms are big -- and our friends had a roll away put in a room, for a total of 4 beds. A family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMALVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This guesthouse was clean and quiet with friendly staff in a good location within easy reach of the market area.

We stayed here as a family of 4. As we were soon to discover in SE Asia, family rooms as we know them in Europe are hard to come by. We had one night in Rm002 (a double and a single) and a further five in room 106 on the first floor with 3 single beds. As our children are 10 and 6 and have a tendency to sprawl sideways this was not ideal but manageable. If this puts you off, it might be worth exploring whether a camp bed could be provided as there would have been plenty of room for it in 106.

Room 106 was large with TV, fridge and complimentary water. The beds were too hard for my liking but again we discovered that this is not uncommon for the region.

The breakfast hours were flexible which suited us very well as we tended not to surface early while recovering from jet-lag. The food was simple though adequate.

The children particularly loved the pool and it had a pleasant garden setting behind the hotel. The bar area beside it which serves simple meals, was also a welcome addition.

With all of the above on offer, Mom’s is definitely great value for money. However the best thing about the guesthouse was meeting Hong the tuk-tuk driver. He looked after us with charm and patience and was especially good with our 6 year-old son. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Siem Reap sampling some of the temples, the silk farm and the markets but having Hong take us around has given us lifelong happy memories of our time in Cambodia.

We would love to have the opportunity to go there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights and have nothing bad to say about the place - the rooms were comfortable with A/C, TV, fridge and ensuite. Breakfast was of a good standard and the staff were friendly. The pool is absolutely great and refreshing after the heat of the temples. The hotel includes free pickup from the airport by tuk tuk, which was really handy and saved a few dollars too. There are heaps of restaurants within minutes' walk and a mini mart virtually next door. If you want to book a tour of the temples or an onward bus, I would suggest that the travel agent virtually across the road is a bit cheaper, but alll in all we would certainly return here - lovely and quiet for a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1985Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilly-Mazarin, France
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in Mom's guesthouse in last december. A tuk-tuk sent by GH were waiting for us at the airport and we kept Mr. Bun for all our visits in Angkor's temples. He was very pleasent, smiling and waiting for us as long as we wanted behind the temple because we took many pictures. We had a large and quiet deluxe bed room cleaned every day.
Everybody is welcoming with us and helping us to organize our visit on Tonle Sap.
It's a very good place to stay in Siem Reap

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 km away
SiZen Retreat & Spa
SiZen Retreat & Spa
#110 of 354 in Siem Reap
290 reviews
1.0 km away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 354 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.2 km away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#149 of 354 in Siem Reap
492 reviews
0.3 km away
Retreat Villa Boutique & Spa
Retreat Villa Boutique & Spa
#94 of 279 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#26 of 493 in Siem Reap
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom's Guesthouse

Property: Mom's Guesthouse
Address: #0099 Wat Bo Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mom's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the region of the secret history of the temples of Angkor, Mom's Guesthouse is one of the few best family-run guesthouses currently operational in Siem Reap, Kingdom of Cambodia. Mom’s Guesthouse opened in 1992. It initially started with 15 Khmer traditional wooden rooms. Thanks to our hospitality and excellent service, Mom’s Guest House has become very popular for both local and international tourists. Our business is progressively growing. By early 2004, we were able to replace our wooden guesthouse with a brick building of 30 luxury rooms and March 2010 we built swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Mom's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom`s Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing